No point in my attending any future PR Presidential Council meetings if PAS pushes for implementation of hudud in December 29 Kelantan State Assembly special meeting

I fully endorse what the Selangor Mentri Besar and PKR Deputy President Azmin Ali said yesterday, that hudud is not a common policy of Pakatan Rakyat, hence PAS should bring the issue to the Pakatan Rakyat presidential council for discussion.

Azmin referred to the September 28, 2011 meeting of Pakatan Rakyat Presidential Council at the PAS Headquarters attended by over 30 top leaders of DAP, PKR and PAS, which was also attended the then DAP National Chairman, Karpal Singh, and Kelantan exco members, and the consensus was that hudud was not part of PR joint common policy framework until all parties agreed to it.

As Azmin said: “If there is any new opinion or suggestion, it has to be brought back to the original consensus which was agreed among Pakatan, meaning that it has to go back to Pakatan’s presidential council.”

But PAS has never brought this matter to Pakatan’s presidential council.

In fact, the headline of The Malaysian Insider report on the Sept. 28, 2011 PR Presidential Council meeting was: “Pakatan: Hudud only if all parties agree.”

If the PR Presidential Council had not reached the consensus on Sept. 28, 2011 that hudud was not common PR policy and that PAS would not unilaterally push for the implementation of hudud without the consensus of all PR parties, three things would have happened:

1. PAS would have continued to push for the implementation of hudud regardless of the views of DAP and PKR.

2. Pakatan Rakyat would have disintegrated.

3. UMNO/Barisan Nasional would not have become a minority government with only 47% of the popular vote – in fact it would have regained the two-thirds parliamentary majority it lost in the 2008 General Elections.

It is shocking that there are PAS leaders who are claiming that there is nothing wrong in misleading Malaysian voters in the 13th General Elections in May last year to support Pakatan Rakyat and PAS candidates and yet renege after the general elections on the undertaking that PAS will comply with the PR common policy framework and would not unilaterally push for the implementation of hudud without the agreement of the three PR component parties.

Kelantan Deputy Mentri Besar Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah has said that winning Putrajaya will come second to the implementation of hudud, that it is only the means to an end!

I am not sanguine that the Kelantan State Assembly special sitting on Dec. 29 can guarantee that PAS will be returned to power in the next general election, as what could be sacrificed as a result of PAS reneging on its undertaking to PR and the Malaysian voters would be both Putrajaya and the Kelantan State Government. But we have to await the 14th General Elections to see the full impact of the consequences.

DAP leaders have agreed to disagree with PAS leaders on the issue of hudud because we believe we are on the same page to want to promote justice, freedom, democracy, good governance, incorruptibility and moderation in Malaysia.

We believe that we are honest politicians who will not use devious and dishonest means to mislead and cheat voters to vote for PR candidates under false pretences.

As I said yesterday, the December 29 Kelantan State Assembly special sitting to implement hudud will be a point of no return for both Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat.

If certain UMNO leaders, like certain PAS leaders, can act unilaterally and arbitrarily to act against the founding principles of Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat by devious and dishonest means, then it is doomsday not only for Pakatan Rakyat but also Barisan Nasional.

If the Kelantan State Assembly special meeting to push through the implementation of hudud, which even the PAS Central Committee is unaware of, is held, I see no purpose in my attending any future Pakatan Rakyat Presidential Council meetings, and I leave it to the party to decide on its next course of action.

1. #1 by worldpress on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 1:24 pm

Don’t wasting time with the LIAR.

• #2 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 10:08 pm

It is not time wasting because you want to get people to your side and you need time to do so. Can you convince anyone if you only have a short encounter ? Unless your first impression is so deceivingly great.

2. #3 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 2:23 pm

PAS oredi openly declared: Hudud 1st, winning votes in GE14 2 take over P’jaya NOT important lah
    Y PR NO understand PAS 1

3. #4 by winstony on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 4:23 pm

The weirdos in PAS must have been infected by the same disease that make UMNO so weird!!!
    I have said many times before and I will say it again.
    Dump PAS once and for all for the good of the people of this country.
    There is still time if this is done as soon as possible.
    The coalition cannot afford to be held to ransom by such weird and irresponsible “leaders”.
    There is also a good chance that the technocrats and saner members of PAS may even switch over to either PKR or DAP.

4. #5 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 7:13 pm

As always, a little success, PAS became cocky
    Time 2 chuck PAS – what kind of political party is dis when d state is flooded n in emergency, its main concern is hudud

• #6 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 10:06 pm

Most people cooperate out of compulsion and it does look like that religion is good.

5. #7 by worldpress on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 8:29 pm

Must know how their mind set work, if tell lie more benefits then lie it is better choice. Are anyone interest to attend hear talk c**k.

• #8 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 10:04 pm

You are right because it says somewhere….Establishes that there are circumstances that can “compel” a Muslim to tell a lie. You can google and read up that book yourself. It is not cock because it is written inside there and you should read it for your own knowledge.

6. #9 by worldpress on Wednesday, 24 December 2014 - 11:00 pm

Truth is their friends.
    Lie also their friends.
    What is their life of principle. sometime truth, sometime LIE. What kind of life is this?

• #10 by cemerlang on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 5:13 am

What principle ? You can tell all the principles in the world but the real principle is truth and lie work together. The good for nothing employee works together with the hardworking employee. How can you gomen dare to kick out the good for nothing employee since they keep you in power ? Therefore the sin and the holiness go together like oil and water as long as we live in this world. This is reality check.

7. #11 by Noble House on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 4:10 am

For fear of losing power to the Liberals, Hadi has made himself an all too easy meat for reaping by a bigger enemy that he is either too blind or even too dumb to see. I hate to think how a leader who can be so selfish and arrogant as to have acted so unilaterally and arbitrarily to humiliate his allies can be of choice to the majority and, no less, to his Party.

PAS would do well to remember if the UMNO government is big enough to grant you your wishes, it is also big enough to take them away when it suits them.

8. #12 by worldpress on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 7:07 am

Is god accept those people sometime truth sometime lie enter his paradise???

• #13 by cemerlang on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 10:25 am

I think it is good if you read all the holy books in the world. Because this is according to your own holy book that you think the way you think. And there are people who think there is no religion. So you have so many heads and who are you going to listen to ?

9. #14 by boh-liao on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 10:31 am

PAS just like d incompetent LRT construction company causing concrete 2 fall fr above 2 smash rakyat’s efforts 2 vote out UmnoB/BN

Never mind, KICK out PAS n bury it
    Sooner or later, PR (without PAS) will replace UmnoB/BN

10. #15 by worldpress on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 11:05 am

So are they sometime tell truth, sometime tell lie? Are they show us do that is ok so we should also follow? What kind condition consider a LIAR?

11. #16 by worldpress on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 11:22 am

So are they sometime talk about mercy, sometime talk about cruelty? Are they show us do that is ok so we should also follow? What kind condition consider a Mercy?

12. #17 by boh-liao on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 3:40 pm

Is there a link between hudud n flood?
    PAS should know

13. #18 by boh-liao on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 4:57 pm

2014 on d way out n 2015 on d way IN
    Bware, EVIL n challenging times ahead
    UmnoB/bN, Perkosa, Isma, Utus M, hudud, PAS, ……..
    MYR keeps sinking, corruption gets worse n worse
    By 2020, really kosong, kosong

Rakyat M’sia: New year’s resolution #1 – If got some savings in MYR, quickly convert 2 strong currencies
    God helps those who help themselves

14. #19 by john on Thursday, 25 December 2014 - 11:06 pm

PKR, DAP have to be held accountable as well, as they formed as part of PR coalition.
    ‘We” , the voters had believed what being told to us, then, during last GE ( by PKR, DAP) .
    Is time for DAP, PKR to settle this thorny issue ,once and for all.
    ” Enough is Enough ”
    Had been too many times “we” ( voters) being ‘hoodwink’ on this matter by PAS.

15. #20 by Bigjoe on Friday, 26 December 2014 - 8:13 am

Fact is PAS has already been defeated by UMNO. If they go ahead with it, they will lose Kelantan and Pakatan will have another demoralizing setback.

But the real scary thing or perhaps a little light on the matter is that the underlying reason is PAS is just like UMNO, Hudud and Islamic law just like corruption and abuse of power – excuses for lack of performance and accountability – and UMNO will follow the same path eventually even if they have a temporary success with the defeat of PAS..

Perhaps its completely pointless to argue with PAS anymore. Perhaps its time to look at the longer picture and let PAS self-defeat themselves in the hands of UMNO in the next GE. They are hell-bend on doing it. In the end, the price to fundamentally change the religo-politics in this country may be worth it although it will be heavy price not defeating UMNO/BN in the next GE…