I want to believe in my government

— Amar-Singh HSS, Lim Swee Im
Malay Mail Online
OCTOBER 20, 2014

OCTOBER 20 — I want to believe in my government, I really do.

I want to believe that they care for all the people.

I want to believe that they are altruistic and want to serve, rather than lord it over the people.

I want to believe that programmes and plans put in place are there to benefit the poor and average person.

I want to believe that they respect and love our country and all the people in it.

I want to believe …..

But the reality speaks the reverse/opposite.

I see corruption growing and flourishing and my government complicit in it.

I see the gap between the rich and poor growing wider and ever wider, and our leaders’ children become billionaires.

I see policies and programmes put in place that benefit the powerful and rich.

I see voices who dare to speak out stifled and silenced by the selective use of archaic legislation.

I see the politics of racial and religious hatred, fear and distraction.

I see us regressing as a nation.

I see …..

But I still dare and want to hope

I hope not in my government but in the people.

I hope in the average person in Malaysia who inspires me.

I hope in simple people who refuse to follow our negative trends and continue to keep our beloved Malaysia alive.

I hope in people caring for people, bonds created, lives shared.

I hope in every person who struggles for our nation.

I hope …..

Perhaps these hopes are best expressed by parts of the poem “Prophets of a Future Not Our Own” written by Bishop Ken Untener in 1979, but is commonly known as “Oscar Romero’s Prayer”. Archbishop Oscar Romero was killed because he dared to challenge the domination system of El Salvador.

“It helps, now and then, to step back and take the long view.

The kingdom is not only beyond our efforts, it is beyond our vision.

We accomplish in our lifetime only a tiny fraction of the magnificent enterprise that is God’s work.

Nothing we do is complete, which is another way of saying that the kingdom always lies beyond us.

This is what we are about:

We plant seeds that one day will grow.

We water seeds already planted, knowing that they hold future promise.

We lay foundations that will need further development.

We provide yeast that produces effects beyond our capabilities.

We cannot do everything and there is a sense of liberation in realizing that.

This enables us to do something, and to do it very well.

It may be incomplete, but it is a beginning, a step along the way, an opportunity for God’s grace to enter and do the rest.

We may never see the end results, but that is the difference between the master builder and the worker.

We are workers, not master builders, ministers, not messiahs.

We are prophets of a future not our own.”

Be still my aching heart and know that the time will come when Malaysia, the land and people I love, will one day be whole again.

– See more at: http://www.themalaymailonline.com/what-you-think/article/i-want-to-believe-in-my-government-amar-singh-hss-lim-swee-im#sthash.2YTgZLJR.dpuf

1. #1 by boh-liao on Monday, 20 October 2014 - 8:17 pm

Sure, me too want to believe PIGS might fly, high high
    N all humans love DOGs

We hv polis K9 units -Who trains/handles d K9? Non-Muslims?
    Do blind Muslims use guide dogs?

2. #2 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 21 October 2014 - 12:24 am

Make believe world here
    Bcos UmnoB veri powerful here n only Malays can join UmnoB n enjoy golden n silver spoons sticking out fr every hole in d body
    Ppl of different ethnic/DNA origins conveniently n happily recl@ssify themselves as Malays by following certain practices
    Instant re-creation n evolution

U no hear HOW an ex-minister bcame a Malay meh?
    “I, myself, am a pendatang, my father has Indian blood while my mother has Arab blood but I became Malay in terms of the constitution”
    Interesting, instant ethnic switching

Now, IF, a BIG IF, dis 1DERful land were ruled by a powerful INDIAN political party (& with an NEP favoring Indians), would a person born with Indian DNA bcome a Malay?
    Would a person born with Chinese DNA bcome a Muslim?

H’mmmm……. how 2 solve dis puzzle

Meanwhile, enjoy some creatif photoshoped fotos of two DAP members
    Whoever planned n executed d release of those fotos did NOT disappoint rakyat who expected such fotos sooner rather than later
    Now rakyat sit back n wait 4 d release of long-awaited intimate videos featuring d same two or even more (don’t forget, there r now NEW DAP members) [mayb not so fast, give d plotters a bit more time 2 recruit look-alikes 2 act out d seksi scenes]
    Don’t disappoint rakyat who always hv high expectation of good quality HD seksi videos 4 entertainment (a habit cultivated by MMK n UmnoB many moons ago)

3. #3 by Noble House on Tuesday, 21 October 2014 - 3:34 am

Society in every state is a blessing, but government even at its best is still evil; in its worst an intolerable one. If you accept that an evil is “necessary”, then you also provide the means for evil people to exploit you!

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 21 October 2014 - 8:18 am

The lastest UMCedel survey in Selangor gives hopes to the cause of reform. It shows not only the demand for reform remains and only grow stronger but that voters have truly gone ahead of ENTIRE political class in this country, not fooled at all by the sheenigans on both sides of the political class.

What it really means is that firstly, the change as lead by Selangor & Penang, urban voters, IS PERMANENT. There is not only no hope of UMNO winning back Selangor, PAS choices are also limited. PKR and DAP represent the future of this country and either the other two parties follow or they can delay it and damage us all with their self-importance and self-interest.

If Azmin plays his card right, PAS will be limited to only two choice – either to join PR or to join UMNO/BN. PAS cannot even hold on to Kelantan if it stands alone. UMNO has no hope of ever winning back Selangor and Penang – not without massive fraud that will destroy this country.

Without PAS, PR is not likely to win Putrajaya in GE14 but fundamental progress will still spread – to Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Johor, Melaka and even in Sabah & Sarawak whereas, UMNO/BN answer to its future is but denial, malice and political narcotics.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 21 October 2014 - 10:27 am

I want 2 believe in legalised por-no n seksi videos released regularly 2 discredit PR politicians

I want 2 believe in our local msm going 2 town with seks-sational news on PR politicians n introducing a host of seks terms (on all sorts of seksual acts) 2 educate our children n rural folks (healthy seks education, some might add)

6. #6 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 21 October 2014 - 10:47 am

Veri soon, I want 2 believe in REVISION on SODO-mee
    Rakyat kept reminded of SODO-mee again n again 4 d last Oh HOW many years?
    If I were a mee seller, I would hv created a special dish – SOD DO MEE (or SOD OFF MEE) to rival One Ton Mee n Jawa Mee

7. #7 by Sallang on Friday, 24 October 2014 - 8:55 am

This window is not opened for me to comment in some postings.

I want to comment on Dyana’s post.

Dyana, be strong and do what you think is right, for the country’s women folks,
    I worked in Kelantan in 1984, and my new neighbour was an engineer in an electronic firm.
    Not long after, he had to move out, because the firm is closing down.
    The reason was that, the factory cannot operate on 3 shifts, because females cannot work night shifts.

Only when the people have work to do, then they have money to spend, then the shops have more business, and the cycle is completed.

I was based in Malacca in 2003, and I was informed that all the flats were occupied by factory workers, male and female dormitories.
    Many are from Kelantan and Terengganu.
    Social problem?
    Aren’t we human, all the same?

Your comment is under moderation.