Dyana has no inner beauty, Mah is more beautiful, says ex-UiTM vice chancellor

By Zurairi AR
The Malay Mail Online
May 27, 2014

TELUK INTAN, May 27 — Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud might have the looks, but she lacks “inner beauty” that would make her a good leader, said the former vice-chancellor of Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) Tan Sri Dr Ibrahim Abu Shah last night.

Warning the crowd of a Barisan Nasional (BN) rally against voting for Dyana solely for her popularity, Ibrahim and other Umno leaders reminded them that Datuk Mah Siew Keong’s experience counts much more than looks.

“Do we just want to choose a pretty face? Is that a criteria to choose a leader?” Ibrahim told a crowd of thousands in Taman Melor here.

“Gentlemen, beauty is not just physical. It counts for outer and inner. If I were to compare DAP’s candidate and BN’s, I would say BN’s candidate is prettier than DAP’s.”

Ibrahim’s remark on the appearance of the DAP’s Teluk Intan hopeful however was just one of many made in the BN rally, even as the coalition seeks to divert the attention away from Dyana to its own candidate.

“What do you get from voting DAP’s candidate? Of course Dyana looks pretty,” said Umno’s Pasir Salak MP Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman, who is also the deputy minister of agriculture and agro-based industry.

“Of course we like to gawk at her beauty, that is not wrong. We can’t blame her for being beautiful. But the one we want to choose, is to be a representative for Teluk Intan folks.”

Umno information chief Datuk Ahmad Maslan also trumpeted Mah’s four bachelor degrees to Dyana’s diploma, and insisted again that the by-election is not a beauty pageant.

“If this is a beauty pageant, even my wife could win it. Even Tajuddin’s wife could win it too.”

“This is not a contest for beauty pageant, we want to find a representative who is fit for us,” said the deputy finance minister.

Dyana’s youthful good looks have put her in the spotlight, but Pakatan Rakyat leaders insisted that the initial preoccupation with her looks is just “temporary delirium” born of her novelty.

Despite having played up the young DAP hopeful’s looks during the opposition’s first rally in Teluk Intan, several of the pact’s leaders now insist that Dyana’s other qualities will soon come to the fore.

Dyana also played down the attention on her looks, telling The Malay Mail Online that she was confident her supporters would be “smart enough” to know that she is not just another pretty face.

The former political aide to DAP veteran Lim Kit Siang will be going up against two-term former Teluk Intan member of parliament, Gerakan president Datuk Mah Siew Keong in the May 31 by-election.

1. #1 by bruno on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 10:03 am

Look at who’s talking.A big bodeker.

2. #2 by bruno on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 10:11 am

Dyana is intelligent,well educated.politically savvy and has the smarts to be successful as a politician.Most importantly she need not have to say yes to big bro Umno.Mah has no other choice but to toe the party line or be labelled a traitor and be banished from BN.

3. #3 by omeqiu on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 10:22 am

Dyana is not as beautiful as you! Stand for election and we will vote for you.

4. #4 by Justice Ipsofacto on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 10:49 am

Inner beauty.
    Outer beauty.
    Whatever beauty.
    Mah will still lose.
    And that is the real beauty!

• #5 by loo on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 10:57 am

Hahahaha! But then hope that’s the case on saturday

• #6 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 10:58 am

Exactly, they are arguing points that are even superficially NOT TRUE – an its a Uitm VC, god, you wonder how Dyana could have come out from Uitm the way its led..Goes to show you, if you are good enough structurally, who leads don’t matter.

5. #7 by Noble House on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 3:34 pm

What? A former vice-chancellor belittling an ex-student from the same establishment he once headed in public? I thought he should be proud of her.

Bligh me! Just when I thought idiocy couldn’t get more ridiculous….. I had to walk through an inflatable cancerous asshole to get into the meaning today.

6. #8 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 3:38 pm

Voters, listen, LISTEN, listen – HOW 2 vote 4 d horse lah when it BETRAYED its own party’s vision n mission 2 build a multiracial, multicultural, n multireligious nation?

On d other hand, we now hv a candidate, though a graduate of UiTM, telling d president of Gelakan n d nation dat “I am against d ultra-racist policies n practices of Perkosa-UmnoB/BN, VOTE 4 me n DAP/PR 4 a fair equitable system n nation”

Actually, she EPITOMISES d original values n principles of Gelakan, far better than d LOST-principle or NO-principle of d horse president of Gelakan

So, TI VOTERS, just SAY YES 2 DAP/PR n NO 2 Gelakan/Perkosa-UmnoB/BN

Especially Gelakan members who believe in their party’s vision n mission 2 build a multiracial, multicultural, n multireligious nation: B brave n stick 2 your principle, VOTE 4 DAP/PR, REJECT your boh hood n NO-principle horsey president, suppressed by Perkosa-UmnoB

7. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 3:44 pm

Ex-UiTM VC must a a GAY 2 think dat d horse is more beautiful

Voters look 4 characters, sense of justice & fair play, n moral principles

Sorry, d horse fails miserably, END of story

8. #10 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 3:45 pm

Ex-UiTM VC must b a GAY 2 think dat d horse is more beautiful

9. #11 by PRmaju on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 5:50 pm

From now on, DAP will field all candidates with pretty look, so all of you ugly BN umno faces have no chance !

Intellegigence wise you lose,
    Honesty wise , you lose,
    look wise you lose.

only rasuah and stupidity wise, umno has no competition !

10. #12 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 6:28 pm

Visit http://pjerejak.com.my/vision.htm
    Vision & Mission of Parti Gerakan

WHAT lah, many of d stuff mentioned there d current horsey president 4 sure CANNOT achieve 1 lah

For example:
    eliminating any exploitation and giving full opportunity to everyone for legitimate economic advancement

promote and ensure the economic and cultural advancement of all communities in the development of national identity

encourage and promote respect and tolerance for the religious life of all communities

eliminate corruption in all forms

ALL nicely stated (talk cock only) BUT CANNOT b achieved 1 under d control of ultra-racist, corrupt Perkosa-UmnoB/BN

Raykat feel so SAD 4 d current horsey president n his members leh

On d other hand, Dyana n DAP/PR CAN achieve them 4 him n his members

So, he n his Gerakan members, if they truly believe in their vision n mission, MUST VOTE 4 Dyana, PERIOD

11. #13 by good coolie on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 - 6:49 pm

BN fellows playing psychology! Let face it, there are more “average” and “ugly”people than “beautiful” people. Maths for you!
    BN hopes that women who consider themselves average or ugly will hate Dyana enough to vote against her!
    My friend, is it that poor woman’s fault that she is pretty?
    As for me,I have been warned time and again not to smile. It seems I look like Dracula.