She’s like Marina, mom turns tables on Dr M

May 20, 2014

Turning the tables on Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud’s mother puts the former premier’s Umno parenting skill under the microscope.

Peppered with liberal doses of sarcasm, Yammy Samat said her daughter turned out more like Mahathir’s daughter Marina, a social activist whose views often contradict that of her father’s.

“I tried teaching her to be like Mukhriz, but when she grew up she became like Marina,” she was quoted as saying by Astro Awani.

Mukriz, who is Mahathir’s son, is currently the Kedah menteri besar and state Umno liaison committee chairperson.

Furthermore, Yammy, a long-term Umno member, said that she has given her daughter the freedom to choose between right and wrong.

“She is a grown up and can think for herself,” she added when met on the campaign trail with Dyana, who is the DAP candidate for the Teluk Intan by-election.

‘She can even choose her husband’

Yesterday, Mahathir expressed disappointment that DAP was fielding someone who hails from an Umno family.

Describing the Chinese-dominated party’s decision to put a Malay candidate as window dressing, the ex-Umno president, however, advised party members on how to prevent their children from turning their backs on Umno.

“As parents, Umno members should tell their children about Umno, it’s history and what it has done (for the country and people).

“Otherwise, when they grow up, they will do as they please,” he had said.

Meanwhile, Yammy also said that she has given Dyana the freedom of choosing her husband, what more the party of her choice.

“If she wants to marry, it is up to her. If she wants to marry a Malay, Chinese or Indian…

“If I force her and if the marriage ends in failure, what then?” she added.

Yammy also said she was not concerned about Dyana joining DAP as the party does not only consist of Chinese and is certain that her daughter’s faith in Islam will not be shaken.

1. #1 by Noble House on Wednesday, 21 May 2014 - 1:31 am

Hello Uncle, which history are you talking about? Certainly not UMNO Baru’s, I hope!

Growing old is mandatory; but growing up is no longer optional in your case. Auntie Yammy can tell you that!

2. #2 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 21 May 2014 - 1:54 am

Ha, ha, well said Maha-liar MMK:
    When d Malay-dominated Perkosa-UmnoB/BN decided 2 put up a Chinese candidate 4 d Teluk Intan by-election, was dat window dressing?

3. #3 by albertloh on Wednesday, 21 May 2014 - 5:15 am

She should also tell the old Mamak that like many responsible parents, what she did not teach her children was how to steal the national coffer to enrich own self through a corrupted BUMNO.

4. #4 by narasimam on Wednesday, 21 May 2014 - 11:14 pm

“I tried teaching her to be like Mukhriz, but when she grew up she became like Marina,” – and marina agrees too. pls read the other article. Kit my man, this is sacrifice on your part too. hope it pays off.