Malaysia Airlines criticised over London incident

The New Zealand Herald
Friday Apr 11, 2014

Britain’s air accidents investigator has criticised Malaysia Airlines for its lack of proper oversight in preserving flight recordings during an incident at London’s Heathrow Airport in 2012.

A Boeing 747 bound for Kuala Lumpur, carrying 340 passengers, had to return to Heathrow soon after takeoff because of engine and electrical failures on Aug. 17, 2012.

The pilots flew the plane manually and returned to the airport safely.

In a report issued overnight, Britain’s Air Accidents Investigation Branch said all the audio information relating to the incident was lost because the cockpit voice recorder ran on long after the landing. The body said the airline’s “procedures for the preservation of flight recordings were not sufficiently robust.”

The Heathrow incident was not related to Flight MH370, which went missing last month.

-AP

1. #1 by boh-liao on Friday, 11 April 2014 - 8:32 am

FORGIVE Britain’s Air Accidents Investigation Branch lah, 4 it does not know MAS = Mana Ada System (Where got system 1) mah

2. #2 by Justice Ipsofacto on Friday, 11 April 2014 - 9:06 am

How dare UK condemn the supreme grand master of the universe and the GOD of all gods?

HOW DARE, THEY!!

Umno, unleash the wrath of perkasa unto UK.

Do it NOW!

3. #3 by undertaker888 on Friday, 11 April 2014 - 9:53 am

Preserving records? Look what happened to Ah Tan Too Ya immigration record. Vanish just like the plane.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Friday, 11 April 2014 - 10:54 am

Ya lor, Britain’s Air Accidents Investigation Branch, Bware, Bware, Bware: U better watch out, U better not cry, Better not pout, I’m telling U Y: D BUTT Dancing gang is coming 2 town
    Also expect red paint, chicken head, cow head, live quack quack duck, compliments of ……………

5. #5 by Justice Ipsofacto on Friday, 11 April 2014 - 12:01 pm

Kerismuddin bin lembuddin could do two things for the nation:

(1) wave the keris in UK; or

(2) get a cowhead in UK and stomp on it in front of UK pressmen.

But of course he must remember to ask for urgent fund to pay something like wot? 2000 ringgit to each of may be 200 umno supporters and to pay for their airfare and stay in UK to make up a crowd to cheer him on in UK when he waves the keris or stomp on the cowhead.

OMG i feel sooooooo clever. I deserve rambutans. Hoi mana si celeka apanama oh ya cintanegara tu?

6. #6 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 11 April 2014 - 12:53 pm

Could this be the REASON why we rejected sharing data with the Interpol? We want OPTIONS????

7. #7 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 11 April 2014 - 2:06 pm

Many years ago, in order to save on costs, MAS did not load up enough fuel to cater for possible holding pattern or diversion to nearby airport. As a result, the plane landed at Heathrow without less than the reserve requirement.