It is not Teresa Kok who should apologise for her “Onederful Malaysia” as nobody could prove the video is anti-Malay, anti-Islam and anti-Royalty but Abdul Rahman Dahlan who must apologise for his racist tweets which showed he is not Minister for all Malaysians

In the Chinese folklore, there is a magic mirror which reveals goblins 照妖镜 [zhào yāo jìng] which now also applies to exposing conspiracies and other nefarious designs.

DAP National Vice Chairman and MP for Seputeh Teresa Kok’s “Onederful Malaysia CNYT 2014” has the effect of a 照妖镜 or a magic mirror exposing the goblins in the Malaysian political landscape.

One of the “goblins” exposed by Teresa Kok’s “magic mirror’ of the “Onederful Malaysia CNYT 2014” is none other than the UMNO Housing and Urban Wellbeing Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan who gave full backing to the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi when the latter embraced the law of the jungle instead of upholding the rule of law when he said there was no need for the police to investigate a group of Muslim NGOs who offered a reward of RM500 later increased to RM1,200 for anyone who slapped Teresa Kok, as well as indulged in a “chicken slaughtering and blood-smearing” demonstration against DAP and Pakatan Rakyat leaders.

In his series of tweets, Abdul Rahman said Teresa Kok should not play victim when threatened by Muslim groups.

He made the wild and baseless allegation that the DAP had “relentlessly attacked the position of Malays and Muslims”, tweeting:

“Maybe the DAP don’t understand. To Malays, insulting the Agong and Islam is more painful and degrading than a slap.

“Since 2008, the DAP has relentlessly attacked the position of Malays and Islam. When there is a reaction from Malays, the DAP acts as if they are victims. Crazy!”

In a tweet exchange with DAP’s Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng, Abdul Rahman gave his blessing to the “slap offer” by the Muslim groups (which the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Tan Sri Joseph Kurup said could only be the work of people of “unsound mind”) adding:

“Don’t act stupid, YB. You reap what you sow!”

I had challenged Abdul Rahman to substantiate his wild and baseless allegation that the DAP “had relentless attacked the position of Malays and Islam since 2008” and had insulted the Yang di Pertuan Agong.

Five days have passed and Abdul Rahman has not been able substantiate his wild allegations against the DAP. As a gentleman Abdul Rahman would have apologised for making wild and baseless allegations against the DAP, which he could not substantiate.

Would he apologise or he is one the political “goblins” exposed by Teresa Kok’s “Onederful Malaysia” which is playing the role of the magic mirror exposing “goblins”?

It is not Teresa Kok who should apologise for her “Onederful Malaysia” video as nobody could prove the video is anti-Malay, anti-Islam and anti-Royalty but Abdul Rahman Dahlan who must apologise for his racist tweets which showed he is not Minister for all Malaysians.

Ahmad Rahman told Sin Chew and China Press yesterday he could not understand me as I had taken conflicting position asking the PKR Penang Assemblyman for Machang Bubok Lee Khai Loon to apologise for stuffing kangkung into the mouth of effigy of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak in a kangkung flash-mob demo against price hikes, while I had not asked Teresa Kok to apologise.

I am puzzled by Abdul Rahman’s lack of understanding as he does not seem to have as high an IQ as I thought he had.

I advise him to read up my explanations which are available on my blog and facebook on the Internet, and if he is still puzzled, I am prepared to take time to explain to him why there is no inconsistency in my stand in the cases of Lee Khai Loon and Teresa Kok.

Even now, I reiterate t I will ask Teresa Kok to retract and apologise for the “Onederful Malaysia” video if Abdul Rahman or anyone else can show me where the video is anti-Malay, anti-Islam or anti-Malay Rulers as alleged by him and the political desperadoes in the Malaysian political landscape who are incessantly inciting racial and religious hatred, conflict and tensions based on lies and falsehoods.

I await an answer from Abdul Rahman.

The “magic mirror” effect of Teresa Kok’s video has already exposed many “goblins” in the Malaysian political landscape, like UMNO Ministers and MCA/Gerakan leaders, like

· UMNO National Vice Chairman and Urban and Regional Development Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal, who accused the video of ridiculing the Malaysian security forces and the Lahat Datu incursion tragedy, when there was no reference whatsoever to both items in the video;

· Umno National Vice Chairman and Home Minister, Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi who disgraced the high office of Home Minister when he failed to uphold the rule of law and instead embraced the law of the jungle;

· The 小人 xiăorén in the MCA the Gerakan national leaderships who misled UMNO Ministers and leaders into believing that Teresa Kok’s video was anti-Malay, anti-Islam and anti-Malay Rulers.

Many others are still to be exposed by the “magic mirror” of Teresa Kok’s video. I will like to see who are the other “goblins” in the Malaysian political landscape who will be exposed in the coming weeks and months.

(Media Statement in Kuala Lumpur on Thursday, Feb. 13, 2014)

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 12:17 pm

learn from sarawakians, who rejected um no, a party of violence?

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 12:18 pm

Do WE still have ANY MINISTER for ALL MALAYSIAN?? Honestly, I don’t think so..Even those who have lost it all – those from Gerakan, MCA or those with nothing like PPP and MIC etc – despite preaching a more inclusive Malaysian publicly, rapidly get into the cesspool to destroy anything opposition no matter how much it brings all Malaysian together.

Seriously a Malaysian minister from UMNO/BN is a fable – completely oxymoronic.

3. #3 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 12:38 pm

Kangkung punya umno.

4. #4 by Di Shi Jiu on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 1:43 pm

Mr Lim,

Abdul Rahman Dahlan and Zahid Hamidi belong to that exclusive group of BN politicians who are able to suspend reality and trade it in for rumour, hearsay and innuendo.

It’s a classical case of when the facts do not matter as long as they can score political points with their constituents, the ovine-like supporters of UMNO.

Their knee-jerk reactions would be quite funny if not for the gravity of the racial problems they can cause.

5. #5 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 1:55 pm

I fully agree that Teresa’s video is neither anti-Malay nor anti-Islam. But is anti-Malay or anti-Islam the only reason for apology you have in mind? Was that the reason you asked Lee Khai Loon to apologise for his flashmob? Can you explain why Lee should apologise while Kok should not? Both the flashmob and video are neither anti-Malay nor anti-Islam. Both are highlighting national issues. Both mock leaders or their family in the process of highlighting issues. Both have been interpreted unfairly. Both are forms of political satire.

6. #6 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 2:48 pm

Political satire.

That is something quite common the world over.

Its good only for a laugh. That is what is was meant to be.

Nothing wrong with that except that umno has a gigantic and badly misplaced sensitivity.

And together with its perverted perception – no, more like paranoic perception – of everything not in their favour or to their liking as being anti-melayu (read umno), anti-agung, anti-islam jenis-umno, anti-government, unpatriotic and ungrateful then we get silly reactions from them.

Heck on the other hand, maybe umno meant to be satirical too. And we didnt even realise that.

Perhaps, umno too has a sense of humour.

Next time, we should just laugh alright. You know, just in case umno really meant to be naughty in a funny and comical way.

Yeah. Just to play safe let me laugh at zahidi now.

Ha Ha Ha Ha.

7. #7 by good coolie on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 3:04 pm

The older generation would be driven to tears if they get the opportunity to kiss a Minister’s hand. So humble the people were; so honourable the political leaders of yore were. All that is past!
    We know that politicians are not, now, very honourable. And the masses are now more self-respecting: they know their power. If a politician, whoever he is. puts his foot (or kangkong) into his mouth, he will not be let off easily! When the time comes to rally behind our leaders, we will do so; we will do so even if we find his mouth fully stuffed with kangkong.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 4:27 pm

“I am puzzled by Abdul Rahman’s lack of understanding as he does not seem to have as high an IQ as I thought he had.”
    OK
    Then Y, Oh Y, LKS wrote: “I advise him to read up my explanations which are available on my blog and facebook on the Internet”

HOW does LKS expect a LOW IQ kaki 2 read n understand his explanations?

B careful, LKS, there may b a REWARD 2 slap U

• #9 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 8:36 am

Know what?

The attempt to explain things – yeah, the very act of undertaking the explanation – would no doubt be seen as, yes you got it, anti-melayu (read umno), anti-islam jenis umno, anti-agung, anti-gobermen, unpatriotic and ungrateful.

That is how umno function.

9. #10 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 9:13 pm

LKS,no need to explain already.I suspect those kangkung leaders during CNY while visiting MCA and Gelakan leaders houses had too much variety serving of kangkung fatt choy,ham ka fu kuai choy,slap offer choy,gossip choy and fat lie choy that caused their already half damaged brain to damage permanently.No matter how you explain,they will twist,turn,dance,sing and moo to the tune of Malay,religion and A Gong issues to gain Malay sympathy and support.

As for the one still confused with the political satire,Teresa Kok got super intellectual magic mirror,Lee Khai Loon don’t have.Lee Khai Loon only got one water gun,cannot fight the race and religion fire.Ada paham ?

10. #11 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 9:29 pm

Two questions:
    1. In what sense is Kok’s video creative but Lee’s flashmob not?
    2. Even if Lee’s flashmob is not creative and Kok’s video is, is this a good reason that Lee should apologise but Kok should not?

Without a principled stance DAP is in danger of being perceived to be steep in partisanship. This will not go down well with those who look up to the party as a champion of justice.

11. #12 by good coolie on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 9:49 pm

Maybe the Kangkong show was crude and personal, whereas the Onderful show was humorous and tongue-in-cheek.

12. #13 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:06 pm

Paham la,ayoh.Lu pun banyak makan kangkung ke ? Next better question,not stupid one pleez…

13. #14 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:11 pm

Both have personal insinuations. In fact, the video has more. One has water spinach stuffed into a caricature (a cut-out in this case) of a national leader. The other has things thrown at caricatures of leaders and their family (actors and actresses impersonating leaders and their family). If the former is crude, why isn’t the latter?

Some people say that the video is not funny. I myself find that it is very funny. Likewise, some people find the flash mob funny, whilst others do not.

Some people think that poking fun at people by caricaturing their weaknesses or faults or stupidity is humorous and tongue-in-cheek, or even a good way of highlighting issues of national interests. Some people think that this is rude, insensitive, and offensive. Some people think that it is both. What matters is that both the flash mob and the video do exactly that – poking fun at people by caricaturing their weaknesses or faults or stupidity.

14. #15 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:27 pm

If you take a look at pictures of the flash mob, you’ll find creative and humorous elements – the caricatured cartoon of a national leader, the picture of the leader dressed like the KFC founder with the caption KFB – Kangkung Fried Belacan. You can say that these caricatures are humorous. You can say that they are insensitive. But both the video and the flash mob are about caricatures. So there is a need to be consistent.

15. #16 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:27 pm

Civilised people should engage in a healthy dialogue which is why LKS or DAP approved of Teresa Kok satire video instead of Lee Khai loon’s provoking satirical action.A good intellectual debate even in the most humorous way(read:no other choice available) about national issues in multi-races country should be foremost encouraged when 2020 or the best touted democracy is the vision to achieve.Samseng culture is not the way in this present 21 century..masih tak paham !!?? Go ride rocket to the sky above and jump…..

16. #17 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:31 pm

Some people think that a healthy and constructive dialogue can include poking fun at people by caricaturing their weaknesses or faults or stupidity. Some people think that it cannot. But what matters is that BOTH the video and the flash mob poke fun at people by caricaturing their weaknesses or faults or stupidity. So if you think that a healthy and constructive dialogue is still possible given the video, why think that it is not possible given the flash mob?

17. #18 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:39 pm

Both the satirical video and the satirical flash mob (which have neither racial nor religious insinuations) have humorous, creative, and provocative (making sb annoyed) elements (caricature and satire are provocative). Both have provoked some anger.

18. #19 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:51 pm

Is stuffing things into a caricature in the form of someone’s cut-out a civilised act? Is throwing things at caricatures of people in the form of impersonating actors/actresses a civilised act? There video contains verbal messages. So does the flash mob.

19. #20 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 10:53 pm

Me think you are the ‘Zhang San(张三'(MCA supporter)which would be the next goblin mirrored by Teresa Kok’s magic mirror.You find humour in Lee Khai Loon’s flashmob satire but not in Teresa Kok’s humourous and non-provocative video.Why so ? Why do you have so much grudge with Teresa Kok ? Izzit like HM abused as a child returning your revenge against innocent lady ? Then go suck NFC cow milk,poor sod

20. #21 by fairobserver on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 11:05 pm

‘You find humour in Lee Khai Loon’s flashmob satire but not in Teresa Kok’s humourous and non-provocative video.’

Did you even read before responding? If you did you would have noted that I wrote the following: ‘Some people say that the video is not funny. I myself find that it is very funny. Likewise, some people find the flash mob funny, whilst others do not. ‘

‘Why do you have so much grudge with Teresa Kok ?’
    Again, you either did not read or did not understand. I don’t think Teresa has done anything wrong. She is the MP of my constituency and I was overjoyed when she won with greater majority.

I just hope that we can be fair to Lee Khai Loon. DAP needs a consistent policy on this.

21. #22 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 11:22 pm

Do you really know how to differenciate between humourous and tongue-in-cheek satire ‘merely harmless critic or video’ about national issues against provocative video ? Are you supporting slap offer over a lady,threats and brute force against intellectual discourse ?

22. #23 by tak tahan on Thursday, 13 February 2014 - 11:31 pm

Ok la..fairobserver,next verbal satirical video and flashmob videos should be discouraged and looked down upon and instead praise kankung leaders till kingdom come,izzit ? I will vote you as my MP,for sure.Thanks

23. #24 by fairobserver on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 12:00 am

Where did you get the idea that I support the slap offer when I have explicitly said that I don’t think that Kok and Lee did anything wrong in their respective satires?

24. #25 by tak tahan on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 12:27 am

Then why argue for the sake of argument with your incessant demand from LKS to demand apology from Teresa when she was and is only expressing what the common people are complaining about the price hikes through her creative yet non-provocative way via satirical video.Can’t you as a supposed DAP supporter and those kangkung leaders take critics and dissents as a democratic nation to engage and discuss national issues in a way more like advanced and civilized nation ?

25. #26 by sheriff singh on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 12:56 am

In UMNO folklore, when its members look at the mirror, they only see “Anwar, Anwar, Anwar’. Scary !!

26. #27 by sheriff singh on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 1:34 am

” .. I am puzzled by Abdul Rahman’s lack of understanding as he does not seem to have as high an IQ as I thought he had. … ”

These days he only read out the scripts that are handed out to him daily. Without them, he’s plain loco, lost for words.

‘ … I am prepared to take time to explain to him why there is no inconsistency … ”

Make it very, very slow as he appears very easily confused. Draw pictures and cartoons if necessary. If these still doesn’t work, he’s a confirmed mental case.

27. #28 by Jeffrey on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 1:50 am

YB Kit said “There was nothing wrong with what Lee Khai Loon did, but I was concerned that certain people out to create trouble would distort the situation and label it anti-Malay or such” – that’s why Khai loon was asked to consider apologizing. The problem with this position is that it accommodates trouble makers. If the same trouble makers threaten violence unless Theresa stands down, should she apologise? Abdul Rahman tweeted about Malays being sensitive about the Agong and Islam but what trouble makers are saying (in the best tradition of Ketuanan) is that one should not by satire or parody mock even Malay political leaders – of which Khai Loon (with explicit caricature of PM) was perceived to have done. However why should trouble makers be accommodated – Isn’t PM by his own words a PM for all Malaysians than just Malay leader? If trouble makers were right then it is OK to parody MCA MIC or any politician other than UMNO’s Malay leaders! This is absurd!

28. #29 by Jeffrey on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 1:53 am

So Kit should not accommodate black mail of trouble makers threatening violence. Otherise threat of violence is an effectve way to stifle democratic voices. One can’t distinguish Theresa’s video from Khai Loon’s flash mob caper without saying at same time that none of the characters in Theresa’s has anything to do with satire/parody of the PM or any other leader from UMNO or their spouse! Yes its may not be as explicit as Khai Loon’s but Theresa’s video is not a parody/satire of any UMNO’s leaders, then who was it referenced to? Nobody? In saying this I am not of course saying parody/satire is wrong or has no place. In fact it brings leaders (servants of People) down from their high pedestal, and one must learn to laugh at one self and be humble as befitting leader. But are we democratic lot here? A lot of people here whom trouble makers want to incite are feudal in mindset. So if one takes position that Khai Loon should desist – to give in to this blackmail from trouble makers- so consistently, so should Theresa whom trouble makers equally find offensive the alleged parody/satire, never mind it is more subtle and less explicit than Khai Loon’s that can be used to reply trouble makers.

29. #30 by fairobserver on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 2:10 am

Tak tahan either failed to read or understand my postings. I’ve nowhere suggested that Kok should apologise. I’ve repeatedly said that I don’t think that Kok and Lee have done anything wrong in producing their satires. I’m merely asking the following question. If LKS thinks that Lee Khai Loon should apologise, why does he think that Teresa need not? If Teresa need not apologise, why should Lee Khai Loon? What is the relevant difference between them? Both have been deemed as creative, funny, insensitive, and provocative. Both are political satires that seek to poke fun at someone’s weaknesses, faults, or stupidity. DAP needs a consistent stance on political satires. I personally prefer polite and serious discussion of issues. But I don’t think satires are wrong. Different people with different dispositions favour different ways of expressing their ideas. That is perfectly ok within certain limits – the NGOs which put a bounty of Teresa’s cheeks have overstepped the boundaries while Teresa and Lee Khai Loon have not. It is ok to poke fun at someone. It’s not acceptable to incite violence against someone who pokes fun at you. Producers of satires should not be threatened. Zahid should be sacked. But DAP should be consistent. What LKS said about Lee Khai Loon’s flash mob and what he said about Teresa’s video smack of double standards.

30. #31 by fairobserver on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 2:25 am

Lee’s may be slightly more explicit than Kok’s, but Kok’s video has many more mocking and stinging insinuations. So whilst one is slightly more offensive in one respect, the other offsets that by being more offensive in another respect. At any rate, what matters is that both poke fun at people’s weaknesses, faults, or stupidity.

Also, failing to name individuals doesn’t mean failing to insinuate someone in a rather obvious way. One can rather explicitly refer to someone without actually saying his/her name. Didn’t Teresa sue UTUSAN for insinuating her by creating a so-called fiction with a so-called fictional character (‘YB J’ if I remember correctly)? My point is not that UTUSAN is right in doing this – there is an element of inciting violence, which oversteps the boundaries of freedom of expression in the UTUSAN story. My point is merely that in suing UTUSAN Teresa relied on the (reasonable) assumption that the author was insinuating her even if he did not mention her name.

31. #32 by fairobserver on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 3:48 am

Explicit references are clear. Insinuations are indirect. But indirect references can be clear.

32. #33 by Noble House on Friday, 14 February 2014 - 5:44 am

It seems that fewer and fewer men are wearing ties in today’s world and the little boys are simply not learning how to tie a tie. But society does require or demand a tie to be worn by gentlemen at least on some occasions.

There are no right or wrong ways in both the issue raised in question here, only the basic common-sense practices. No black or white, only different. And for those who still persist in getting an answer, you won’t find it because there’s none.

As Churchill puts it – “Perhaps it is better to be irresponsible and right, than to be responsible and wrong.”