In faith, human will and intellect cooperate with grace

– May Chee Chook Ying
January 06, 2014

Yesterday was an epiphany of sorts. It was our (my husband, daughter and I) first time at the Church of Our Lady of Lourdes. Beautiful church, meaningful service that kept us rooted to the pew (I’m truly guilty of wanting to run out in the midst of some homilies, so help me, God!) and much, much, more than that – that picture of grace that greeted us outside the church.

Cameras were clicking away. As usual, the “roses” held court, but I did notice some “thorns” mingling around.

Kudos to Azrul Mohd Khalib and other coordinators of the “solidarity gathering” who managed to band together Malaysians of different religions and ethnicities to turn up at the church as early as 8am to be one with their Christian brothers and sisters.

This “In the Name of Allah” initiative is truly reminiscent of the one in Egypt where we saw Muslims protecting Christians during mass, and Christians forming a circle around their Muslim brethren while they prayed during protests.

All of you who turned up yesterday at The Church of Our Lady of Lourdes, including Marina Mahathir, members of the Sisters of Islam and fellow Malaysians who are non-Christians, you have our utmost respect and thanks.

Like what my daughter tweeted, “@netraKL thank you! My dad teared listening to you”, we all teared and thanked God for your loving presence.

I, for one, never ever thought one could hurt another in the name of God. That should be anathema! A case of using God’s name in vain? I wonder, those of you who are trying to selectively persecute some of us Malaysians, do you think you are dealing with us mere humans alone? I suggest you had better think twice!

Just how many Malaysians believe in the lies being spun by some recalcitrant politicians and bigots? I’m guessing hardly 10%. (The figure being arrived at the less than 10% of Malaysians who belong to a particular organization.) The majority of Malaysians are moderate, as correctly assessed by Saifuddin Abdullah in recent days – almost 90%!

So, my fellow Malaysians, take heed from those who support the “In the Name of Allah” initiative. Show the rest of the world what we Malaysians are truly made of. That we live, side by side, respecting and embracing our differences, even loving them. That if we truly believe that God is one, like Marina said, then Allah is for all. (When I look at my children, I know for sure that God loves me. Your father should be sure, too, Marina. Any parent would be proud of you.)

Those 50 who rallied against the brave and courageous Rev Fr Lawrence Andrew, all of you just proved to the rest of the world why faithlessness is akin to lovelessness. You 50 are as sterile as sterile is. Unlike your Muslim brethren at The Church of Our Lady of Lourdes who made yesterday a truly blessed Sunday for us, you and those who you represent, are a bane to all Malaysians.

While your Muslim brethren proved once again that love is, by virtue of its inner essence, creative, naturally hope-filled and full of faith, you and your masters have replaced your “faith” with fear or is this just another “sandiwara”?

While your Muslim brethren showed us all how we cannot help but imagine a better tomorrow, it’s you alone who have painted a bleak future for the “faith” you claim to profess.

There is no road without a star above. So, just like how the Star of David guided the Magi to the crib, let us fellow Malaysians allow love to guide us to a better tomorrow.

Let us all, at least that 90% of us, prove to the rest of the world that not just Marina Mahathir rocks, but we rock, too!

Once again, let us all be united and show, that “In faith, the human will and intellect cooperate with grace.” – January 6, 2014.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 8 January 2014 - 8:00 am

Its absolutely clear that most rational Malaysian blame the issue on UMNO’s politicking including Malays. The ones that don’t simply are not aware that the whole thing could have been avoided at the start with some leadership on the part of just some people at the top, even just Najib who has little credential with the religious right.

Every single argument for ban I have heard HOLDS NO REAL LOGIC – just sentiment. The arguments are ALWAYS confused logic not aware that existing laws already in place. Its condemns UMNO it can’t deal with irrationality even willing and eager participants just because sentiments are high. Many decades ago, the argument for “special privilleges” was suppose to eventually get rid of these things. What was the point of our tolerance for corruption, abuse of power, perversions of the “compromise” all these years?

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 8 January 2014 - 10:57 am

” .. Let us all, at least that 90% of us, prove to the rest of the world that not just Marina Mahathir rocks, but we rock, too! …”

Yes. Those living in Putrajaya want to ‘rock’ as well to very, very loud Nasyid songs and music at their local Hard Rock Kopitiam while dining on their nachos and ulams, and sipping nira-colas. He is also going to have piped-in Nasyid to all the government ministries and departments there including the AGC and the Federal Court to boost productivity and prevent deviant teachings and apostasy. Thank you, Teuku Adnan, beribu-ribu thank yous.

3. #3 by good coolie on Friday, 10 January 2014 - 1:37 pm

Marina reflects the good upbringing that Dr. M and Dr. Siti Hasmah had given her. Nobody would say that Mukhriz is not a gentleman either.

Let us give credit where credit is due.