The Zacharevic lesson all those in authority must learn – the greater the unreasonable pressure by those in power, the greater the righteous reaction by the public

The cut-out figures of the graffiti by Lithuanian-born street artist Ernest Zacharevic on “high crime” are not just a feature in Johor Baru but are being plastered in other parts of the country.

It is reported that such cut-outs are appearing in Kuala Lumpur and Rawang and very soon, undoubtedly, will be sighted all over the country.

This is a Zacharevic lesson that all those in authority must learn – that the greater the unreasonable pressure by those in power, the greater the righteous reaction by the public.

Zacharevic has the various authorities, in particular the Johor Baru City Council (MBJB) and the Johore State Government to thank for the fame he has acquired for his “high crime in JB” mural, not only in JB, Johore and in Malaysia and even world-wide in this information age of instant communication in a borderless world.

Yes, the MBJB has “white-washed” Zacharevic’s “high crime” mural on a wall of a dilapidated shoplot in Taman Molek but the MBJB has achieved what Zacharevic would not be able to attain on his own – lasting fame for Zacharevic’s “high crime” mural not only among the residents of Johor Baru but beyond boundaries and borders outside JB and Malaysia in the information world, highlighting the concerns of the people of Johor Baru to end JB’s notoriety as the capital of crime in Malaysia and to become a safe and secure city for its residents, visitors and investors.

The twin issues of the fundamental right to safety and security as well as free expression are intertwined in the Zacharevic controversy.

But what the people of JB, Johor and Malaysia hope as the immediate consequence of the Zacharevic controversy is yet to be seen, i.e. a new resolve and commitment by all the authorities in JB, involving the municipality, the State Government and the police, rallying the people of JB in an effective initiative to make JB a low-crime city!

When can the campaign to “white-wash” JB’s notoriety as the capital of crime in Malaysia begin?

This is the only real meaningful response to Zacharevic’s “high crime” mural in JB!

1. #1 by tak tahan on Thursday, 21 November 2013 - 5:42 pm

When will the authority ever learn and feel the pulse of the general population ? By all means prove to the people by combating the increasing crimes and bring back the peace we once enjoyed without being feared of confronting rampant snatch thieves,robbery and vast killing in the not far recent incidents.Instead by going after Zacharevic ‘s mural will only prove the arrogance of the authority to admit one’s incompetence and failure to tackle crimes.Go after the real criminal,Mr authority !

2. #2 by tak tahan on Thursday, 21 November 2013 - 5:54 pm

MBJB, are you going to take down all the cut-out graffiti all over Malaysia.How stupid can you be with our salary wasted on you in return for your stupidity.Endless possibility of the half-past six minded idiots are who you guys are infamous for.

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 21 November 2013 - 6:25 pm

Yes folks, I have resolved not to pay the unreasonable hike in assessment rates by Bandaraya. I am willing to fight them in court. Now who wants to join me ? I am hoping for a 25 pct population support which will bring Bandaraya to sanity.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 21 November 2013 - 10:31 pm

Its not that they don’t know the lesson. Its a matter they don’t want to. Its not their brain that is dead. Its their soul.

You can’t teach addicts of abuse of power lessons without consequences and there is only one consequence that will teach – losing power..