Education ministry’s tacit approval of racism in schools

— Ravinder Singh
The Malay Mail Online
November 9, 2013

The stand taken by Hashim Adnan, president of the National Union of the Teaching Profession (NUTP) and Datuk Mohd Ali Hassan, President of the National Parent-Teacher Association Collaborative Council that the Ministry of Education must issue circulars on racial issues to schools is correct and should be supported by all anti-racism persons.

They were responding to Education Minister II Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh’s defence of the racist things going on in schools by saying that school authorities should rely on their “conscience and moral realisation to know the sensitivities of other races”.

So has he let the cat out of the bag? Does he mean to say that the Education Ministry has all along been in full and tacit support of head-teachers who have been telling non-Malay students to “balik India, balik Cina”; hiding non-Malay children in toilet cafeterias during Ramadan; slaughtering cattle in school compounds in the name of Korban, etc. for these actions (and maybe more) were carried out with full “conscience and moral realisation knowing the sensitivities of other races”.

The two NGO leaders, who happen to be Malay Muslims, are rational enough to see the harm and damage that racism in schools is doing not just to the children, but to the nation itself. Instead of building good, ethnic relationships across the races, the schools that are practicing racism are building walls between the races. Is this what the government wants? Is this the much touted 1Malaysia?

That the education ministry is condoning racism in schools and giving the school heads a license to do what they want, is unacceptable.

Our law, the Penal Code, has a whole chapter on “Offences relating to religion”. According to the Minister’s warped logic, we might as well throw this chapter away and leave matters to the “conscience and moral realisation” of the people at large who should “know the sensitivities of other races”.

I have a question for the Minister: Will you maintain your stand if Chinese schools which have Malay Muslim students started celebrating their festivals with the slaughtering and roasting of pigs in schools? Will you keep your peace if Chinese school headmasters started telling their Malay pupils to “balik Indonesia”? Please give honest answers.

1. #1 by Godfather on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 9:36 am

Know what Idris’ reply will be. “We are the majority in this country. We are the sons of the soil. We will not be pushed.”

2. #2 by Winston on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 9:43 am

Let’s put things straight!
    Very, very straight!!
    And that is: It’s way, way past time for the opposition to portray UMNO/BN for what is really is!!
    The devil’s reincarnation!!
    And all Malaysians, no matter where they are, must be made thoroughly aware of this fact.
    And they must be convinced that the only salvation is to put PR in Putrajaya.
    There is absolutely no other alternative.

3. #3 by Di Shi Jiu on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 9:48 am

It’s very simple.

There is no racism in schools runned by UMNO/BN-aligned principals.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 9:58 am

Other than the legacy of language mess that Mahathir left us with, the truth is the bigger two mess he left us were the unmeritocratic system and racist & religo-bigotry. Of these things, its not clear that the worst thing is not the racist-religo bigotry despite our current and potential future economic suffering from the other things.

We may be able to fix the messes of language and unmeritocratic system but the systematic racism and religo-bigotry, if gone too far may be unfixable..

5. #5 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 9:58 am

Hey hey hey.
    Hold a sec ravinder.
    Know who your talking about?
    Superior grand master of the universe and the GOD of all gods.
    Yeah. Your complaining bout your superior grand master and the GOD of your god.
    How dare you!!

ALL HAIL UMNO.
    ALL HAIL UMNO!

6. #6 by tak tahan on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 10:52 am

Stop racism starting from school.Then all will grow up as patriotic Malaysian.Tu pun tak tau kalau,balik mana lu punya latuk mari.Ini Malaysia negara Cina Melayu India dan lain lain bukan negara datuk nenek bapa mak kau,Boooooooooodoh !

7. #7 by tak tahan on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 10:53 am

Hail Bumno..Phaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaark la.lol

8. #8 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 11:50 am

Brown nazis which nobody respect are showing off their horns. horns of stupidity that is. they think that by being arrogant, all powerful, people will give them respect. NAHHH!!! my foot.

9. #9 by sotong on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 3:47 pm

With power to abuse, they don’t care.

Unsuitable and unqualified people should not be employed in schools to educate and take care of our innocent childrens.

These politicians have no basic sense of responsibility to protect our young from racism and religious intolerance which have a permanent, damaging and long term effect on the future of our childrens.

No wonder public education is a failure.

10. #10 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 8:20 pm

Sekolah made by umno baru_a

11. #11 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 11:59 pm

Hey, Mr Singh, b careful what you wrote – your wish of ‘balik India’ may come true 1, U know, mooooooo

12. #12 by tak tahan on Sunday, 10 November 2013 - 9:57 am

No worry one,just kiss his hand and toady baked face he will moooooooo to the whole world how his ketuanan works.Ketuanan lembu bodoh.hahahahaha

13. #13 by rjbeee on Sunday, 10 November 2013 - 10:00 pm

How to expect honest answers from cari makan rats….They are so much into it, corrupted to the core they will never ..The education minister is one good example racist to the core.
    We say I Malaysia, he malay first the malaysian how……
    Now promoting the BS in France……

14. #14 by tuahpekkong on Monday, 11 November 2013 - 12:50 pm

I think be the end has a lot to do with racism in national schools. Chinese school headmasters would be as good as committing suicide if they start pig roasting in schools and telling Malay students to go back to Indonesia.