Happy Deepavali? DAP MP and SA prevented by MIC from entering Deepavali bazaar

by K Siladass

On the eve of Deepavali (1st November 2013), Member of Parliament for Kluang, Liew Chin Tong; State Assemblyman for Mengkibol, Tan Hong Pin and I, along with several others decided to take a stroll along Jalan Station, Kluang to see the stalls set up to peddle Deepavali wares.

At the entrance of the row of stalls, a group of men holding out to be MIC officials stopped Chin Tong and Hong Pin from entering on the ground that they had organised the stalls and that they, as the purported organisers, were not given notice of Chin Tong and Hong Pin arriving there.

Chin Tong politely pointed out that it was a public road and he could walk. The men refused to yield and spoke aggressively whilst claiming that it was an MIC organised event.

I did inform them that Chin Tong and Hong Pin were coming with me to which they said I could enter but not Chin Tong, Hong Pin and friends. Shortly after this, one Raman who claimed to be the divisional chairman of MIC started talking aggressively.

While Raman was talking aggressively, another person amongst them shouted at the photographer in the National Language to stop taking photographs (jangan ambil gambar).

Their behavior in stopping Chin Tong and Hong Pin from Jalan Station was the most unIndian and unMalaysian attitude. You never chase even your worst enemy away from your home should they visit you on an auspicious day like Deepavali. Jalan Station is not the exclusive property or MIC and neither was there signage restricting entry to MIC members only.

In a festive season, more so in Malaysia, the behavior of those who barricaded the road to prevent a Member of Parliament and State Assemblyman from entering was despicable and not within the Malaysian spirit for Deepavali.

As an Malaysian of Indian origin, I am ashamed that some fellow Malaysians had behaved in such a despicable manner that Friday evening.

* K Siladass is a a Kluang resident and a lawyer. He was DAP’s Johor State Secretary in the 1960s.

1. #1 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 4 November 2013 - 2:51 pm

Oh come on. Monkeys will be monkeys. Dont expect them to behave. Unless you are prepared to wait for several hundred millions years – for them to evolve fully, that is.

So meanwhile, relax.

2. #2 by DAP man on Monday, 4 November 2013 - 4:25 pm

Barbarians cultured by MIC.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Monday, 4 November 2013 - 5:44 pm

Ayoh yoh..dei! Deepavali pun mau gaduh ke ? Chin Tong and Hong Pin should just walk about and tell them to poooooooooooordah.Don’t like ar balik India.Since when MIC owns Jalan Station.

4. #4 by tak tahan on Monday, 4 November 2013 - 5:51 pm

Next time in such incident talk aggresively back and scared their ball off and shrink.They are only loud in outlook but no balllllllls inside.Probaly just as big as cintanegara’s rambutan.JIbby the jib is the living proof.weak,tak da bola,cuma ada bulu je.wakakakakakkakaka

5. #5 by omeqiu on Monday, 4 November 2013 - 6:33 pm

Now do you still wonder why there are more Indian gansters? MIC, quickly deny this.

6. #6 by undertaker888 on Monday, 4 November 2013 - 6:33 pm

There’s only one word for this. P@RI@H. That’s how they behave and that’s how they are.

7. #7 by Winston on Monday, 4 November 2013 - 8:31 pm

They are only revealing their true feeling that deep down, their party is phobic of the DAP and PR as a whole.
    In fact, the same goes for UMNO/BN and its component parties.
    That is also the reason why they resort to all sorts of questionable acts, lies and deceits at whatever they do to try to assuage their fear.
    It all boils down to the fear factor.

8. #8 by Noble House on Tuesday, 5 November 2013 - 3:03 am

I thought Malaysian have seen the worst of those in Perkasa, but MIC has proven them wrong today.

Why not just change Jalan Station to “Jalan Untuk MIC Sahaja” then?

9. #9 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 5 November 2013 - 9:08 am

MIC tak relevan lagi boleh pordah pi India.

10. #10 by Sallang on Wednesday, 6 November 2013 - 11:55 am

Not all Indians are like them. We have good Indian teachers, doctors and other professionals.
    These MIC people wants to take things very personal. Why can’t DAP reps visit public places.
    People with small brains.

11. #11 by on cheng on Wednesday, 6 November 2013 - 4:16 pm

diwali belong to MIC only ???