Muslim MPs, education groups say animal slaughter in school compound is wrong

by Elizabeth Zachariah and Yiswaree Palansamy
October 22, 2013

Muslim MPs from PAS and PKR as well as educational organisations have spoken out against the practice of carrying out ritual slaughter in schools during the recent Hari Raya Aidiladha celebrations.

PAS Kuala Krai MP Dr Mohd Hatta Ramli said any school should be off limits for the slaughter of animals.

“Be it religious schools, ethnic-based schools or national schools,” said Dr Hatta.

“In the truest nature of observing the holy Qurban, there is no need to openly slaughter animals in the presence of others, especially in an area where people of other faith reside, work or carry out activities,” he added, referring to the Arabic word for sacrificial slaughter.

“The deed is to be noted between the Almighty and oneself and not with the public.”

Dr Hatta pointed out that nowadays, some have resorted to carrying out animal slaughter in abbatoirs as they are more hygienic and systematic.

PKR Indera Mahkota MP Datuk Fauzi Abdul Rahman said the Quran stresses the need to respect other religions.

PAS Shah Alam MP Khalid Samad, however, expressed shock that such events are being held in school compounds.

“In my time this was quite unheard of. It is not right,” he said.

Khalid suggested that the slaughter of animals be carried out in mosque compounds or other proper designated places.

The comments come after several Hindu parents complained about the use of school grounds to slaughter cows in conjunction with Hari Raya Aidiladha celebrations. The cow is considered sacred by Hindus.

It was reported that parent S. Dineswary was told by her daughter that a cow and a calf were slaughtered last Thursday for a Hari Raya feast at a Kuala Lumpur school. Similar events were held at schools in Bandar Baru Bangi and Puchong.

National Parent-Teacher Association Collaborative Council president Datuk Mohd Ali Hassan said Muslim authorities in schools should understand the religious practices of non-Muslim students.

“They cannot openly do things that can hurt the feelings of others but instead, they should find ways to do things discreetly, if what they want to do is deemed sensitive by other faiths,” he said.

“The school is a place to teach and learn. Not for anything else,” Mohd Ali added.

President of the National Union of the Teaching Profession (NUTP), Hashim Adnan said “it was not a nice thing to happen in schools”.

“If the school only has Muslim students, then there is no problem. But if there are Indians and Chinese, their feelings must be taken into consideration too.

“We should respect those who study in the same compound and we just cannot do things as we wish,” he said.

Non-Muslims, he said, would only respect Islam if the Muslims also respect their beliefs and are sensitive to them.

“The cow is sacred to the Hindus. Why was it so important to slaughter it in the schools for all to see?

“Why would non-Muslims come and study in national schools if these things keep happening?” Hashim lamented.

Meanwhile, Malaysia Hindu Sangam president Datuk R. S. Mohan Shan stressed that they were not against the ritual of slaughtering cows, but added that it sould have been carried out elsewhere.

“We are not questioning the slaughter itself as we respect Islam. We don’t mind they want to slaughter cows in mosques and suraus but not in schools, in front of non-Muslims students,” he said.

He revealed that he had received many complaints from Hindu parents over the years and has written to the Education Ministry many times on the matter.

“But till today there has been no reply or action from them. We are very disappointed with this and the statements made by some parties are equally disturbing,” he added.

He was referring to Ikatan Muslimin Malaysia’s deputy president Aminuddin Yahaya, who defended the practice of slaughtering animals on school compound.

“Why should we bow to pressure from them (Hindus)? It is as if we do not have our own identity. This is our country and it is an Islamic country,” he was quoted as saying by a news portal.

“We want to slaughter cows, who cares? What is the percentage of the Indian community in Malaysia? Only 1% or 2%,” said Aminuddin. – October 22, 2013.

1. #1 by Di Shi Jiu on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 5:12 pm

Absolutely shameless attempt by the staff in those schools to force their religious beliefs down the throats of others.

2. #2 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 7:05 pm

Is it Ok to roast a pig in the school compound during CNY?

3. #4 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 8:02 pm

Macam sekolah tu bapak dia punya. Sembelihlah dalam rumah awak dalam rumah bapak awak…

4. #5 by worldpress on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 9:09 pm

Hallo there ORANG BODOH

You are learned to FEAR GOD

Do you know that the numbers of believers are only about 20 millions considered a very minority in the planet earth?

When the majority refer the word as GOD

How dare you the believers to FEAR GOD

Twisted the word as meaning as GOD in English is incorrect

How dare you twisted the meaning and took out the word as GOD in all majority refer

To something ELSE no more GOD

How dare you!

5. #6 by tuahpekkong on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 10:22 pm

Where did this Aminuddin get the figure that Indians only constituted 1 or 2 % of his “country’s” population? The next time he is going to claim that the Chinese community only constitutes 3 or 5% of his “country’s” population. Since the minority groups only constitute less than 10% of his “country’s” population, they don’t deserve to be respected. Only an out and out racial and religious bigot would make such kind of silly utterances.

6. #7 by rjbeee on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 10:52 pm

It is correct they have their brains between their knees

7. #8 by rjbeee on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 10:53 pm

Perkasa /mamka tongkang …how where are your brains…..

8. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 11:01 pm

B careful what U said abt killing in schools, lest a COCKY minister yells he will KILL U

9. #10 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 11:08 pm

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/244548
    There should b a probe on dis KILLING culture, most likely encouraged by d get-away with C4 murder precedent

10. #11 by good coolie on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 11:16 pm

A related objection to slaughter in school compounds is this: children should not be exposed to violence, whether to human beings or to animals. Where there is killing and the spilling of blood, wise parents keep children away.
    Many adults, too, whether Muslims or non-Muslms, do not like to witness slaughter – we leave it to butchers to do that. People should be sensitive, not inured to killing and blood.I have never slaughtered an animal!

In the case of the Feast of Sacrifice the ocassion is a sacred affair and the Muslim community, whether adults or children witness the sacrifice of the animal. This is entirely in the discretion of the Muslim Community.

I have seen sacrificial ceremonies where about 30 heads of cattle have been sacrificed in a small public park in a housing area behind a mosque. The blood and the unwanted parts of the cattle are buried in the compound of the park. It doesn’t seem right.

11. #12 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 11:22 pm

Dis Aminuddin Yahaya chap just said loud n clear 2 Indian M’sians: Farked Off, who cares abt U tiny minority Indians
    Ha, ha – what has MIC 2 say abt dis? Still clinging 2 UmnoB?

12. #13 by good coolie on Tuesday, 22 October 2013 - 11:31 pm

Elections are over brother!

13. #14 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 23 October 2013 - 7:30 am

This aminudin retard is saying if you are the minority then shut up. In this sense the Americans, British can discriminate against this umno muulayu in their respective country.

But I am sure this brain retard will cry discrimination.

14. #15 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 23 October 2013 - 7:54 am

Lately, we saw public display of blind arrogance of UmnoB, Perkosa, n now Ikatan Muslimin Malaysia kaki
    KILL here, kill there, SLAUGHTER here, slaughter there, WHO CARES? What sort of Muslims r they?

15. #16 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 23 October 2013 - 7:56 am

Why is nobody asking the question who organised the slaughter in the first place? Did the school administration itself organized it? If its some religious or public body, how is it it got the school administration just gave permission without parent and teacher’s knowledge?

The issue really is there appear to be no separation of religious power and school power. Other than the fact its unhealthy to have no separation, since when is state type power have no limit into Federal institutions?

16. #17 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 October 2013 - 8:49 am

Who says it is wrong ? JAKIM say it’s OK, Mamakthir say it’s OK, Minister of Education say it’s OK. Who are you minorities to argue ?