Where is my government?

— Malaysians for Malaysia
The Malay Mail Online
September 17, 2013

SEPT 17 — As a taxpayer of more than 3 decades I am increasingly disillusioned by the present government. I am not able to call them “my” government as they do not support me or my needs. I can very clearly see the Government of the Malays and the Muslims but I am not able to see the government of the Chinese, Ibans, Indians, Kadazans, Orang Asli and the rest of us.

My hard earned tax ringgit are being used to pay the wages of the Malay majority civil servant (in excess of 90 per cent), build numerous suraus in every government building, finance government projects that benefit their rich families and friends, etc. But why are my needs, and those of my sisters and brothers of other ethnic origins and religious persuasions, not supported? It would be good to see a breakdown of tax contribution by ethnicity. It would be no surprise to see that the majority of our taxes are contributed by Malaysians who are ignored by this government.

I see the government speaking up and fighting for Malay and Muslim rights. But why do they not defend my basic human rights? Why are my needs ignored? Why are my rights trampled on by the government? Recently the minister of the Women, Family and Community Development Ministry was very quick to act against employers who discriminate against women wearing the ‘tudung’ (Muslim headgear) as employees. But why is there no similar response to all the ethnic and religious injustice meted out to those of us from different ethnic and religious persuasions?

Are we not also Malaysians? Do we also not have equal rights under our constitution and as human beings? Article 8 of the Federal Constitution was cited by the Minister, which states: “there shall be no discrimination against citizens on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law relating to the acquisition, holding or disposition of property or the establishing or carrying on of any trade, business, profession, vocation or employment”.

Why then does minister Rohani not warn the senior managers of our civil service (JPA) that stern action would be taken against them for discrimination against the Indians, Chinese, and other ethnic groups? Our civil service managers practise a policy of apartheid. In promotion, in appointment of leadership post, in recruitment, etc the mangers of our civil service practise a blatant racist policy.

In recent decades we have seen increasing injustice and bias by this government towards citizens of religious persuasions other than Islam.

For example, why is there not even one prayer room for these citizens in any government department, hospital, etc. Why does the government not actively support, fund and encourage the development and building of Churches, Hindu and Buddhist Temples, etc in the country?

Muslim civil servants actually go for religious training and talks during office hours. Why are religious individuals from other faiths not allowed to organise such talks as well in government departments?

Of course a civil servant should be working when at work, not attending religious talks. That this even happens in government hospitals where over burdened staff are struggling to improve care is unbelievable.

I voted for a government that will support and look after all Malaysians, not just one segment of the population.

Who we actually voted for is our democratic right. What matters is that we as a people have accepted the elected government. The government’s responsibility is to meet the needs of all the people, those who voted for it and those who did not. This is the sign of a mature government, not a childish one.

An elected government that only serves a segment of the population does not deserve to be in power and is neither democratic nor of God.

Where is my government has become my lament and prayer. Why are so many of us treated as second class citizens. Why is there no respect and basic dignity extended by our elected leaders to the entire population? Why are we constantly asked to leave our land by our elected minsters?

Why am I pouring out my energy and lifeblood (tanah tumpahnya darah ku) for this nation I love but am not appreciated? When will I be included and accepted?

I no longer believe the present government is one which represents all of the people of Malaysia. They are a government of their rich families and friends. A government that focuses on racial and religious issues and uses them to create disunity so that they can rule and deflect attention from their corruption and failure to support the poor. A government that even fails to get the support of the ethnic group they claim to represent.

Our beloved nation is at a crossroads. Either we descend further into the darkness of racial and corrupt politics and policies that have defined us for the past three decades. Or we move collectively into the light of a nation made up of one people – Malaysians.

A nation where all are respected and treated as equals.

Where the needs of every segment of our people are looked after.

Where the narrow walls of religious and racial bigotry are broken down permanently.

Where all have an equal future.

Where the ethnic/religious persuasions of our prime minister are not as important as the quality of his actions and intentions.

1. #1 by bryanbb on Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - 11:53 pm

Loved this image in the slipstream video..Lim Kit Siang and Tengku Razaleigh sitting next to each other in stadium merdeka awaiting the declaration of merdeka by the Tunku. Both have brimming smiles that seems to suggest that they are enjoying every minute of the historic moment.. Suggesting perhaps that despite idealogical or political differences and inclinations is no reason for not getting along if are they united in the common cause of being Malaysian first. Plus the other famous faces in our 50 year history ,from Nizar Razak to NameWee, Michelle yeoh to Santokh Singh, all who have contributed in shaping the Malaysian identity.
    in their own way,even famous landmarks KLCC , KL tower incongrously inserted in backdrop of KL skyline from the stadium as Tunku declares merdeka.. really reminds us what it is to have a Malaysian psyche and identity.Happy Malaysia day
    http://blogoptimizing.wordpress.com/2013/09/16/slipstream/

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 12:07 am

‘Where is my government?’

Did you look in the well ?

3. #3 by worldpress on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 12:20 am

You must be CRAZY.

What government?

It is a gang of PIRATES, don’t you get it

4. #4 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 12:27 am

I finally see thru it at the end of the “tandas putera” bowl.Yes,it’s right at the bottom there,shiiit n disgusting !!!

5. #5 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 2:41 am

Don’t just talk. If you are a taxpayer, take the government to court. Let the court tell us if what Najib has proposed – what this government has proposed – is in violation of the Constitution.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 5:26 am

What else do rakyat expect d minority-elected “gomen” do?

D writing is on d wall – UmnoB know they n BN r oredi a GONE case
    So, in d remaining years in power, they r going 2 sapu AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE n jiak ka liau under d pretence of looking after Malays/Bumis
    U n I know d REAL intention of what d top dogs of UmnoB did n barked in d last few days – NOT 4 ALL Malays/BUMI but 4 UmnoB Malays/BUMIs (just like what they did in d last 50 years – enriching a selected grp of individuals)

Finally, AhCheatKor has revealed his true color n joined Mooo as I Malay first n last, n am NO M’sian, just like Perkosa

D concept of BN is now a joke n DEAD – UmnoB now openly fark off MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc (non-UmnoB so-called partners in BN, but really kowtowing serfs n opportunists vacuuming up any crumbs left by UmnoB masters), FO them 4 failing 2 bring in large numbers of votes fr non-Malays/Bumis

Y MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc members still cling 2 UmnoB/Perkosa, heaven knows

Rakyat should find ways 2 avoid paying taxes 2 dis corrupt, racist, minority-elected UmnoB gomen, PERIOD

7. #7 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 7:42 am

Here comes the olive branch:

Don’t ignore other races, PAS president tells Putrajaya
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/dont-ignore-other-races-pas-president-tells-putrajaya

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 8:29 am

Here is the thing. You can bet that almost all non-Malay taxpapers are in the 53% real voters who voted against UMNO/BN..The non-Malays and non-Muslim who voted for UMNO/BN are overwhelmingly non-taxpayers.

Govt for all Malaysian? With their looming party election, other than UMNO members, no one else really matters as far as the govt is concern. But the sad thing is that its not even the issue.

The real issue is that Najib and UMNO is already committed to waste away money through to the next election that they will have to pay for by raising taxes and removing subsidies. After this election, Najib is not going to have a good mandate like he did not from the GE. This means he is a lame duck – making the warlords powerful. They will raise taxes, remove subsidies in a declining growth environment resulting in only spent it all again for the next election and we are back at square one or even worst.

Govt for all Malaysian? We don’t have a real govt at all for the next few years..

9. #9 by Abba Mama on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 8:33 am

I agreed to many of your comment but you must not forget that also how most of Chinese owned companies has treated their Malay ethnic employees as second class employees – many also has opted able to communicate in Mandrin as one of the job requirement, you are simply being to emotional, prejudice and bias in your comment !

10. #10 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 8:42 am

Malaysia belongs to umno.
    End of story.
    So shada-phaark-up!

11. #11 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 10:35 am

Abba Mama, do you feel that it is your entitlement to be gainfully employed ? Do you understand what is a global competitive environment ? If China and East Asia is going to be the engine of the world economy for the coming 20 years, would you not hire someone who can speak Mandarin ? Even the Koreans and Japanese are sending their children to Mandarin classes, so why can’t you ? You feel entitled to a job even though you don’t have the language skills for the future ?

12. #12 by tuahpekkong on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 11:35 am

Abba Mama, I think you have failed to distinguish the difference between public and private sectors. Government service is called public sector service because it belongs to all Malaysians. Many Chinese owned companies are small and most just employ relatives and friends. Do you think Syed Mokhtar’s companies employ a lot of none-Malays? I think private sector companies are stupid if they don’t employ and promote people who can contribute positively to the growth of the company.

13. #13 by good coolie on Wednesday, 18 September 2013 - 9:31 pm

It is a misconception that there is no discrimination against other races in Chinese-run private companies. Discrimination is the rule rather than the exception, but private companies should be free to operate according to their wishes with minimum government interference.

Government, and the Civil Service, on the other hand, are owned and supported by all the communities and should serve all the communities in line with the constitution, subject to certain constitutional safeguards in favour of Malays and indigenuos ocmmunities. Tuahpekkong is right.