Tanda Putera imparts no value whatsoever

– Zikri Kamarulzaman
August 31, 2013

There’s been a lot of talk about Tanda Putera in the mainstream media lately.

I won’t be touching about the controversial bits, or the bad, sometimes emotionless acting (the Mahathir character was spot on, but unnecessary).

I will talk about its value as a movie.

Tanda Putera is a disaster in storytelling, two stories made into one, barely held together by Tun Abdul Razak’s character.

In fact, if you don’t know the subject matter or history, you will be completely utterly lost.

None of the characters were properly introduced in any way whatsoever. You’re just supposed to know who they are.

Same goes for the plot, with barely any background to explain what’s going on.

And there’s so much happening, and at such a fast pace, that you don’t connect with anyone or anything as the movie progresses.

The Universiti Malaya students who were friends caught in the middle of racial riots were weak.

There was no real sense of fear for them, no sense of how they really looked after each other.

You’re better off learning about unity and being friends with all races through a Petronas commercial.

Shuhaimi Baba’s defence about the movie being more about Tun Abdul Razak and Tun Dr Ismail Abdul Rahman, two men who gave up everything, including their lives for the country, also fell short.

Sacrifice in this movie means passing away while in office and hiding your illness.

Neither were shown as having a real impact on the nation, their deeds, a passing mention.

The best way to put it, is that this movie is “syok sendiri”.

It is hard to fathom how anyone will be inspired to be more patriotic by this movie, especially the youths who won’t have much to keep their attention.

This movie is a farce to our nation’s history, and its screening during Merdeka is nothing more but a ploy to make as much money as possible before people realise how bad it is. – August 31, 2013.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 2:01 pm

It is a RM 5 million fictional movie made for feeble minds and sensitive people, people who should and could know better but do not.

Save your money and go get a pizza.

2. #2 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 4:40 pm

3. #3 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 5:00 pm

I will not waste my time to go watch the movie, not even for free. The title of the movie tells all about the stupidity of the movie producer and the government that funded it. Tandas Putera is all shit!

4. #4 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 5:54 pm

Bagi free pun tak mau…tayang kat open area??? Baik tengok cd CSL

5. #5 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 5:56 pm

Hadiah hari merdeka 2013… takda air…syabas 1malaysia… kebarangkalian tak terbatad

6. #6 by Di Shi Jiu on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 5:56 pm

Zikri Kamarulzaman,

It is no surprise you find nothing of substance in that movie.

I have been scanning some pro-UMNO blogs and I can assure you that even they seem puzzled by the lack of content in the movie.

Having such empty feelings is quite normal when watching propaganda films.

I refer you to the propaganda works of the Nazis, the pre-1990s Chinese Communist, and, more recently, the North Koreans.

There are many more others who are still churning out propaganda films today, of course – Malaysia being one of them.

Yes, propaganda films do tend to have that “syok sendiri” quality about them and Shuhaimi Baba seems to have achieved that well.

7. #7 by donplaypuks on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 6:29 pm

Tandas Puteri is a RM4.3 million rip-off of the Taxpayer. It is plain lying and a deliberately crafted racist insult to the Malaysian Chinese.

I was 16 when May 13 1969 happened. Then, nor since, has there been a single report anywhere in the world about May 13 of anyone, especially a Chinese, urinating on a flagpole carrying the Malaysian flag outside then Selangor MB Idris Harun’s house!

Suhaimi Baba’s “creative licence” is unfairly calculated to stir up Malay hatred for the Chinese and the DAP, especially in the hearts of those who are too young to know what really caused May 13.

To think that our hard earned money should go towards making one racist woman rich at the expense of national unity and racial tolerance.

DAP should launch a nationwide signature campaign to have Tandas Puteri banned and its creators charged in court with propagating racism!

Dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

8. #8 by yhsiew on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 6:33 pm

I would not spend my time and money to go and watch such fictional nonsense.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Saturday, 31 August 2013 - 8:14 pm

Latest film review:”Don’t bother to see it. Just flush it down d TANDAS!

10. #10 by Noble House on Sunday, 1 September 2013 - 4:29 am

In short, this movie sucks! A total waste of the taxpayer’s money. It is not only distasteful but a downright insult to our intelligence.

You have to be downright insane to believe what you see.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Sunday, 1 September 2013 - 4:54 am

MPs must demand d director 2 refund d taxpayer’s $

12. #12 by worldpress on Sunday, 1 September 2013 - 1:12 pm

The maker can sell anything to devil for a price

13. #13 by silat88 on Sunday, 1 September 2013 - 3:54 pm

and the government bankrolled this, wat ajoke !
    lets have the Chinese do their version or will that be deeemed sensitive and seditious.
    talk about having a chip on their shoulder
    are they the only people who can say wat is correct and wrong.
    Lets have the UN come in and examine May 13, 1969 and see what they uncover