I did not post the raya greeting, says DAP man

Leven Woon | August 10, 2013
Free Malaysia Today

Johor Bahru DAP division secretary Alan Tang today claimed that someone forged his identity on a new Facebook account and uploaded a Hari Raya greeting with an image of a roasted pork head.

PETALING JAYA: Johor Bahru DAP division secretary Alan Tang today vehemently denied posting a Hari Raya greeting that featured a roast pork dish on social network site Facebook, claiming that his identity had been forged.

The image showing a roasted pork head sandwiched between the Malay traditional snack lemang (glutinous rice) and ketupat (dumpling) surfaced on the first day of Hari Raya and quickly earned the ire of the Muslim community.

Tang, when contacted, told FMT that he could not “have been so dumb to produce such a greeting”.

“I’m the one always advising my friends and comrades against touching on issues pertaining to race, religion and royalty, and it is even more impossible for me to do it myself,” said the 28-year-old Tang.

A print screen of Tang’s facebook account with the greeting was circulated on several pro-BN websites, but a search on Tang’s account found no such posting.

Tang, who is also the assistant to Stulang assemblyman Andrew Chen, said his 5,000 friends on his Facebook account can prove that he has never posted such image.

“If you notice on my Facebook, I have never posted an image, I only use words. I suspect that someone forged my name and taken my profile photo to create a phantom account.

“They would use the account to upload the image, print screen it, and spread it,” he said.

Tang said as soon as he received the first call from a stranger chiding him on Thursday morning, he immediately did a search and tracked down the alleged phantom account.

He said he has attached the information in a police report he lodged that afternoon, and would leave it to the authorities to conduct their investigations.

“This is a malicious political attacks, I am not sure whether they are targeting me or the DAP,” he said

1. #1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 7:35 pm

Anything can happen when party elections draw near!

2. #2 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 7:44 pm

So this is what the creation of cyberjaya is all about….but then facebook can easily tell you which account was used to hack into another person’s account. Internet protocols are easy to detect.

• #3 by cemerlang on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 9:14 pm

It is only those with the accessibility that your account is corrupted and who are those with accessibility if not for those with direct links to the service.

3. #4 by yhsiew on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 9:04 pm

In Bolehland, political power means “inciting racial hatred”. Be on your guard guys!

4. #5 by Winston on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 9:06 pm

Well, well, well.
    The lunnies are still hard at work!!
    Obviously, they are still very, very sore that LKS wiped them out in Gelang Patah!!
    And overall, the GE has resoundingly turned against them!!
    Time to have the rightful, lawful, tenant in Putrajaya!!!!

5. #6 by tuahpekkong on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 11:04 pm

Alan Tang could not have been that stupid as to post such kind of seditious greeting. Only someone who liked to see the country degenerate into serious racial strife and then fish in murky water was capable of such a despicable act. The police should immediately track down the culprit and harsh action must be taken.

6. #7 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 11:12 pm

Stop the nonsense umno.

7. #8 by Di Shi Jiu on Saturday, 10 August 2013 - 11:56 pm

Heheheheh!!

It goes to show how stupid pro-Goverment supporters are.

The idea itself is not original as we have already had the bak-kut-teh fiasco.

Another amateurish mistake was to create a new account.

Added to the litany of mistakes is the fact that Tang already has an established account, so why post to another new account and in his own name?

It is so obvious that Alan Tang could not have posted the pic.

This farce only shows BN for what it is – a bunch of amateurs :)

8. #9 by Noble House on Sunday, 11 August 2013 - 4:20 am

If Alan Tang intends to rob a bank, he must be stupid enough to announce to the whole world of his intention. Ever heard of a THIEF calling another one “THIEF”?!

This is a mind boggling bazaar of competing fools and overlapping ingenuity.

9. #10 by Godfather on Sunday, 11 August 2013 - 5:20 am

I don’t think we can expect any action from the MCMC or from the police, who are more interested in harassing Pakatan office bearers. The more pressing question is this: why hasn’t Tang lodged a report with Facebook if, as he claims, someone is masquerading as him ? He has the right to demand to know which IP number was used to create the false account.

10. #11 by yhsiew on Sunday, 11 August 2013 - 6:57 am

Then someone will come out to champion for the victimized race and reap away all the votes!

11. #12 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 11 August 2013 - 8:08 am

ALL THIS has its roots in May 13, 1969 where UMNO believed it got away with the lies of its causes. The troubles they had caused now form a core belief that these kinds of things can have fantastic success.

Its why Najib IS DANGEROUSLY WRONG about UMNO taking generations to reform. ITS NOT A CHOICE AT ALL..The longer it takes UMNO to reform the bigger some of these problem like these things become and become a burden to the future generation.

12. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 11 August 2013 - 2:26 pm

I believe you, Alan.

Tragic that Facebook and other social media cannot put in the kind of security we all wish to have.

Someone can create fictitious names like Alan Taing, Alan Taang, Alan Tangg, Allan Tang – now how do you protect against all these and more?!

So readers have to be more circumspect when they read and not be as idiotic as the proverbial donkey. Look at the DNA of the writers – UMNO’s sucks, smells foul and stinks to high heavens.

But Alan, I don’t know much about you …. but, generally, DAP’s leaders have got good breeding. (You should glad and relieved to read this). The bad ones like you-know-who etc., they failed the DNA test, no mutation could help … so they turned coats and they crossed over to become UMNO-friendly. Most of them finally mutated and suffer from cancer of the soul. Sad but true-lah.

• #14 by cemerlang on Sunday, 11 August 2013 - 2:32 pm

Chargeable service. Like if you pay RM 1, you will only have a email service. If you pay RM 2, you will have a photo service. Since you are paying the giants to have a service, you have to collect from those using your service. And keeping in mind those who are poor but who need the service as well.

13. #15 by tuahpekkong on Sunday, 11 August 2013 - 5:03 pm

In Malaysia, the minority races generally know how to respect the majority race. It is the majority race which regularly insults and belittles the minority and yet gets away scotfree. The minority races know where they stand. They know that the authorities would immediately pounce on them should they be found to be insulting the majority race, like the case of Alvin Tan and Vivian Lee but turn a blind eye when the minority are being insulted. So do you think if Alan Tang’s Facebook postings were really his work and not a sabotage the police would still sit idly?