A ‘C.I.D’ Cabinet

— The Malaysian Insider
Jun 09, 2013

JUNE 9 — Compromised. Insulting. Dangerous.

These three words describe aptly members of the Malaysian Cabinet formed following GE13.

* Compromised

Tengku Adnan Mansor is the least qualified to speak about the rule of law and following the law. This politician was found guilty by the Royal Commission of Inquiry of subverting the course of justice by trying to fix the appointment of judges.

The RCI recommended action against Tengku Adnan and five others for offences under the Sedition Act, Official Secrets Acts, Penal Code and the Legal Profession Act. The government disregarded the findings of the RCI, allowing Tengku Adnan to continue his political career. So today, he is a minister, giving him the platform to preach and lecture Malaysians, as he did when he chastised the Opposition for continuing its mass rallies.

“I would like to advise that we live in a place with law and order…we do not follow the laws of the jungle, “ he said, explaining why the police refused to grant a permit for the Opposition rally in Padang Merbok.

Can someone found guilty of subverting the rule of law talk about law and order? Can a compromised individual take the moral high ground?

* Insulting

Paul Low is a fast learner. He has adopted the preferred method of speaking to Malaysians by those in power: insult them.

He says that there is no need to place the MACC under the Special Parliamentary Committee as the anti-corruption agency is already independent.

“We agree that the MACC is performing its duties well and professionally but we also accept that many have an unclear perception towards the role of the MACC, “ said Low.

Let us get this fact clear: the only person who has an unclear perception on the role of the MACC is Low and his friends in Cabinet. The MACC should throw the book on those who enrich themselves in a corrupt manner. The growing consensus among many Malaysians is that the rich and connected get a free pass from the MACC. We repeat the consensus, not the perception. Low probably believes that the more times you repeat a mantra, the less ridiculous the statement sounds. Never mind if millions of Malaysians are insulted in the process.

* Dangerous

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said that the government will focus on rewarding the communities which supported the BN in GE13, naming the Malays, Indians, Siamese, etc.

Basically, he is intent of driving a wedge between different races in the country; a kind of them versus us and thereby, all but consigning reconciliation to the rubbish heap.

And this man has pretensions of becoming the Umno president and Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Muhyiddin should study what happened down south in Singapore. For years, the PAP, which bears close resemblance to Umno in how it dismisses dissenting opinion, threatened the voters of Singapore: vote for the Opposition and upgrading of your HDB estates will be on a slower track.

Guess what happened? Singaporeans were not cowed and in the last elections in the island republic, PAP were give a major jolt.

So, does Muhyiddin believe that 51 per cent of Malaysians who voted for Pakatan Rakyat will be cowed by his threats to marginalise them? If anything, the prevailing mood will be bring it on.

The unfortunate and dangerous fact is this: Muhyiddin’s statement shows that 1 Malaysia is dead, so is Bangsa Malaysia and all other inclusive initiatives.

Yes, we are being led by Compromised, Insulting and Dangerous individuals.

1. #1 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 9 June 2013 - 9:23 pm

Cendol Icekacang Durian semuanya kesukaan rakyat jelata. Jangan cuba tunjuk keangkuhan dengan mengatakan cendol hanya untuk melayu,icekacang untuk india dan hanya tinggalkan kulit durian untuk 51% yang lain. Jangan berlagak berkuasa dengan hanya jilatan 47%…

2. #2 by Noble House on Monday, 10 June 2013 - 1:38 am

Compromised: The government is the great fictitious entity by which everyone seeks to live at the expense of everyone else. The illegal can be done with immediately; the unconstitutional takes a bit longer.

Insulting: Pragmatism is the convenient conclusion reached by those who lack the patience or intelligence to formulate a consistent ideology.

Dangerous: There are too many handouts; but let’s call them what they really are: a form of legalized theft. Essentially, a politician tells his constituency, ‘Vote for me. I’ll use my office to take another taxpayer’s money and give it to you.’

Yes, we are being led by individuals that are Contradictory, Incompetent, and Dysfunctional!

3. #3 by undertaker888 on Monday, 10 June 2013 - 7:47 am

To us plain people, nothing has changed. Muyidin is still talking kok. Paul Low is behaving very much like MCA or machai. And the adnan guy, …Emmmm .. Who is adnan mansor?

4. #4 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 10 June 2013 - 8:54 am

Remember the good wrong and bad wrong dichotomy which kerismuddin “the hugger” lembuddin was trying to drive into our heads and hearts several years ago?

There! Adnan had committed a good wrong – not a bad wrong. So he could continue to serve as minister.

Quite easily explained, really.