With ‘enemies’ like this…

by Goh Keat Peng

There is a saying which is often at the tip of our tongue: “With friends like these, who needs enemies?” Which is to say there are times when friends do seem to behave like our worst enemies.

But at times, the reverse could be equally true: with enemies like these who needs friends!

Let me hasten to say that I don’t consider those with whom I may disagree politically as my enemies. If there are no two teams, you won’t have a football match. If there are not at least two sides, we won’t have an elections.

But the current situation in our country seems to border on the ludicrous or the ridiculous. Or at least to us plain citizens, politicians do seem to say the darndest things. This is not to say it happens only in our country (please consult http://officialssay.tumblr.com).

This would border on the comical IF IT WERE NOT FOR THE FACT THAT THE SUBJECT BEING ADDRESSED ARE OF THE HIGHEST ESSENCE OF WHAT AND WHO WE ARE AS A NATION!

But what are we plain citizens to think when one of the first things the prime minister said after our recent general elections was something about … tsunami. And no sooner than he was appointed, the new home minister actually said that those who are not not satisfied with the country’s electoral system should migrate elsewhere. Mr Minister, my father was born here. Yes I admit that I did not vote for your team and yes I was not and still am not happy with the electoral system nor indeed the way the recent general elections was conducted nor, for that matter, the electoral roll. Should I book a ticket on the slow boat to …?

And here’s the point, the haste in which some people have urged the country to move on is simply not a fabulous option. I would really want to move on quite frankly. That would really suit me just fine. But how may I move on when the highest officials are saying such things? Is anybody in charge there? Shouldn’t there be an urgent meeting whereby the powers that be get a grip on themselves and get their act together?

Certain things did happen during the country’s recent elections. Some serious questions need to be faced up to. Some properly considered answers are due to loyal citizens. For the sake of the powers that be – for their own sake – start treating the citizens with respect and dignity.

1. #1 by Winston on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 9:41 am

Haven’t we seen the spectre of UMNO/BN begging Malaysians for their votes during the recent GE?
    Haven’t we seen the likes of oldies like Mamak and his henchmen doing the same?
    So, now that they have “won” the election, they are showing their true colours?
    That’s why it’s a truism that these corrupted scums will never, ever change their spots!
    And what is very surprising is that there are Malaysians who still think that when they see the words “reconciliation”, “reform” etc. used by them they get very impressed!!!!
    With such naive and vacuous Malaysians, how not to be conned and swindled by the conmen who rule the country for so many decades?
    Malaysians must bear in mind that these “leaders” are there for their own self-interests only!!!!
    And having known them for fifty-six years, isn’t it way, way past time that we know better?

2. #2 by seetee64 on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 9:54 am

Winston, you are right because leaders, like Lim Kit Siang, are there for their own self interests only.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 12:03 pm

Why no one has discussed the implication of Zahid Hamidi as Home Minister? This is a man who miscalculated and career nearly ended by Mahathir, resurrected by Najib with Badawi’s blessings, leapfrogging many into Defense portfolio, the most opaque of portfolio, where a big bulk of UMNO’s dirty business has been shoved into in the last four years.

Hamidi’s threat means nothing. His scheming does. His irresponsibility does and he goes a very much extra mile in those direction.. Like it or not, we will see new levels of hypocrisy with police, corruption, etc with Hamidi at the helm – we can look forward to more frustration..

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 2:08 pm

Is anybody in charge here?

Ahoi, is anybody in charge here…….?

Ahoi… ahoi, is anybody in charge here…..?

Is Pak Lah in charge here? Snoozing on the job again!

Ahoi, ahoi, ahoi…. the boat is sinking.
    There is C4 on the boat!