Najib, Muhyiddin and Mahathir must each apologise for their irresponsible and unMalaysian remarks completely at variance with policies of 1Malaysia and Bangsa Malaysia if there is going to be genuine “national reconciliation” after 13GE

The most sensible, level-headed and statesmanlike statement completely in conformity with the policies of 1Malaysia and Bangsa Malaysia in the past three days since 13GE Polling Day came from former Prime Minister, Tun Abdullah, who demanded a stop to all attempts at racialising Sunday’s polls by blaming a particular community for Barisan Nasional’s poor showing at the ballot boxes.

Abdullah said: “This is unfair and unhelpful”.

Guilty of such “unfair and unhelpful” statements were none other than the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and former Prime Minister, Tun Mahathir, who indulged in irresponsible race-baiting and inflammatory incitements totally careless and reckless about the harm they are doing to race relations in the country.

For instance, immediately after the 13GE results were known on Sunday night, Najib talked about a “Chinese tsunami” when it was in fact a “Malaysian tsunami” caused by the political uprising and awakening not only of the Chinese, but all other communities as well, whether Malays, Chinese, Kadazan-Dusun-Murut or Iban communities.

Najib’s “Chinese tsunami” statement was immediately supported by Muhyiddin who said it was “unhealthy in a multi-racial society like Malaysia” to allow one community supporting one side and another race supporting another as it would lead to “tension in inter-racial relations and political instability”.

This is a conclusion based on a total fallacy, for the 13GE has not led to a situation of “one community supporting one side and another race supporting another” as the 13GE was not a battle between the Chinese versus the Malays, but one multi-racial coalition against another i.e. Pakatan Rakyat versus Barisan Nasional.

Yes, the Barisan Nasional has lost significant Chinese voter support, but the Pakatan Rakyat comprising PKR, PAS and DAP is now more representative of all Malaysians as it has not only significant Chinese, Malay and Indian support, as well as of the KDM and Iban communities in Sabah and Sarawak.

It is sheer untruth and a cruel slander to say that the 13GE is a “Chinese tsunami” when it is a “Malaysian tsunami” – which is why there is the blog “This Little Malay Ripple That Joined the Tsunami” by a Malay, Karina Bahrin who wrote to “Prime Minister and all in UMNO”:

“…I did not vote for you. And neither did a whole lot of other Malays, despite what you would like to think. Do the math. If 80% of the population voted, then surely, you cannot blame the erosion of your power on the Chinese minority. Or did you fail that subject too?

“I voted for the Opposition because as a Malay, I myself have had enough. Not because I necessarily like all the Opposition leaders, but frankly, I just like you lot less. Because despite all your rhetoric about the Opposition being a lying, conniving bunch, I have personally born witness and been on the receiving end of YOUR lies and policies that stoke racial and religious polarity. Not the Opposition’s.

“Because your government is the only one I have ever known since birth. And what I see and experience every day in my life is your creation.

“Yes, I am a recipient of your Bumiputera scholarship. I went to one of the world’s best schools. In my graduating class, there were less Malaysians than you could count on one hand. The truth is, I could have obtained my own scholarship from someone else in the world if I wanted to. And believe me, there are many times I wish I had taken that route, so that I can be relieved of the only burden of debt I feel towards you and your policies.

“After graduating from university, I chose to return home. Yes, I was apparently bonded to work for you for ten years, in repayment for the education you provided me. But instead, you chose to let me go. And I still remained here. Because this is my home.

“I could have chosen to work in one of the richest and most developed countries in the world, but I decided to remain in Malaysia.

“Over the last twenty years, I have never relied on favours or connections to get a job. It is against my principles. And I have done well. Believe me. I can get a job in corporate Asia if I want to. I used to have a job with one of the world’s largest companies, overseeing seven countries in the region. Bosses tried to entice me to leave – decamp to Singapore, Hong Kong and even Japan. But I still chose to stay here.

“In the last four years, I decided to leave corporate Malaysia, because the extent of the rot I saw within its walls were so bad that if I knew any more , I would have to migrate. You may find this hard to believe, but when us ordinary Malaysians are exposed to the incompetence of our policy-makers and leaders, appalled is an understatement. More than that, the arrogance (and worse, lack of sheer, basic intelligence) of many of those in power whom I have met, whether in the government,quasi-government or private sector crony companies, made me begin to believe that Malaysia was not capable of producing good leaders.”

She continued:

“So no, it is not just the Chinese who voted for the Opposition this time. Because you can count on at least THIS Melayu who did as well. Please stop insulting me and negating my role in your erosion of power. If you had any sense, you would realise this, and realise it quickly. And figure out how to win Malays like myself back.

“But my faith in the good of your kind unfortunately does not stretch that far. And today you reaffirmed my lack of confidence in you a thousand-fold.

“Keep insulting my fellow Malaysian Chinese. It will not bring me closer to you, because I do NOT count you as my people.

“The Malays I am part of are a people who have for generations lived shoulder-to-shoulder with other races, because we ourselves know our own history, and accept the fact that we are a race that is borne of a meld of many others. We are a race that has itself experimented with different brands of theology, are unafraid of adapting aspects of other cultures into our own and has NEVER thrived in isolation. Unlike Japan, we do not have a history of cultural, social or economic growth that does not coincide with an era of openness, cross-border trade or cultural assimilation, be it with or without force.

“If you are going to blame the Chinese for your losses, please,blame me too. And the rest of the Malaysians who did the same. We ALL did it. And yes, the entire classroom is standing up this time.”

This blog has given me new encouragement and hope that our common Malaysian Dream where Malaysians regardless of race are united in a common vision to build a great Malaysian nation where there is integrity, justice, freedom and dignity for all, is not a pipedream.

It has also exposed Mahathir’s allegations that I have gone to Gelang Patah to contest in order to bring about a “racial confrontation” and to get the Chinese to hate the Malays as rantings of an irresponsible Political leader who is not reflective of the ordinary Malays, as represented by Karina Bahrin and by the voters in the 13GE, as DAP and PR, whether in Gelang Patah or elsewhere, have received increased support from Malay voters in our quest for UBAH in Malaysian politics.

Najib, Muhyiddin and Mahathir must each apologise for their irresponsible and unMalaysian remarks completely at variance with policies of 1Malaysia and Bangsa Malaysia if there is going be genuine “national reconciliation” after 13GE.

Mahathir alleged that the Chinese have rejected the hand of friendship offered by the Malays. This is utter garbage. The Chinese, as well as other Malaysians including Malays, Indians, Kadazans and Ibans, have rejected the hand of friendship offered by Mahathir, Najib and Muhyiddin because they represent the politics of the past, the politics of race, corruption, cronyism, abuses of power, injustices and lack of good governance. The Chinese, as well as all other Malaysians, whether Malays, Indians, Kadazans and Ibans, accepted the hand of friendship of Anwar Ibrahim and Hadi Awang because they represent the politics of the future, of integrity, justice and freedom where there is an end of corruption, cronyism, abuses of power and all forms of exploitation and oppression.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:00 pm

YB LKS, DAP and PR MPs,

Please take note: Malaysians did not VOTE for PR to join BN but to take over Putrajaya and form a new CLEAN, JUST AND ACCOUNTABLE government to replace an evil, corrupt and self-serving BN government.

Period.

So near, fight to the finish. Not cave in to every little carrot dangled in front of PR’s face.

Of course, YES – if Anwar is PM, Hadi and LKS DPMs + another DPM from East Malaysia.

Najib – Minister of Toilet Affairs.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:00 pm

Muhyiddin – Minister of garbage collection.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:02 pm

They will continue to make silly proposal without any honesty to deal with the issue..They can’t do a ‘reconciliation’, its ‘subjugation’ they seek..That is what happened to Gerakan, MCA, MIC, PBS, Sabah parties and this year Hindraf. In all subjugation plans, you keep the lines of communication open, to learn as much as you can, so as to use it to undermine the target..

In the meantime, they will say things like “we are always open to talk but…”, “we hope we can do something, but…” etc.. The list of excuse and pretense of reasonableness is limitless..

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:06 pm

Ok, Ghani Othman – Minister of Education. I agree this Ghani appears trustworthy, honest and sensible; only fault aligned to wrong horse, BN.

Oh, don’t leave Mahathir out.

Mahathir – Head of department overseeing Banglas, Pakistanis, Indians, Filipinos, Indonesians and Mamaks i.e. if they don’t find him anathema themselves….but with no powers to issue ICs.

5. #5 by worldpress on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:08 pm

DAP no need to think of any suggestion to join a bunch of crooks and criminals.

Justice would be delivered to injustice

6. #6 by lauksnatlks on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:26 pm

MCA and MIC have become irrelevant in representing their respective races. UMNO is heading in the same direction, I believe, by the next election. Malaysians are voting for a new dawn, a nation based on the principles and promises of multi racial PR. Lets build on this momentum, which is irreversible.

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:31 pm

How do you appease the spirits of Altantuya, Teoh Beng Hock, Kugan, Shahrani and all those other murdered who participated in this Malaysian tsunami???……??????……?????

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 4:39 pm

///…Yes, the Barisan Nasional has lost significant Chinese voter support, but the Pakatan Rakyat comprising PKR, PAS and DAP is now more representative of all Malaysians as it has not only significant Chinese, Malay and Indian support, as well as of the KDM and Iban communities in Sabah and Sarawak…///

That is precisely why any suggestion by former information minister Zainuddin Maidin for DAP to join the BN to represent the Chinese community’s interests in the coalition should not be dignified with consideration for even a second!

Through the years and trials and tribulations. the success of DAP today is grounded on principles that it represents or fights not just for one community but all communities to make this country a better place for all Malaysians. Never lose sight of this – and trade these principles that have proven a good moral compass for the long haul and stood your party in good stead before all right thinking Malaysians for a share or taste of power.

9. #9 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 5:19 pm

Najib – Jaguh Kampung

10. #10 by sotong on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 5:50 pm

Country leader and former leader making racist statements in the media to promote policies or whatever…….no wonder the country is sick with many, in politic, mentally ill.

Extreme hatred and anger will destroy their souls, if they one!