Final tally: BN 134, Pakatan 88

FMT Staff| May 5,2013 FMT
Free Malaysia Today

Pakatan Rakyat says that it would not accept the results, blaming the EC for manipulating the polls to ensure a BN victory.

FULL REPORT

PETALING JAYA: Barisan Nasional has formed the federal government by winning 134 out of 222 seats. In 2008, it won 140 seats.

Pakatan Rakyat meanwhile won 88 seats – six more than their total in 2008.

DAP emerged as the biggest winner among Pakatan parties, romping home to win 38 seats. PKR won 29 seats while PAS brought home 21 seats.

In 2008, PKR was the biggest winner with its 31 seats, followed by DAP (28) and PAS (23).

Their slim defeat in the hands of BN left Pakatan’s bid to capture Putrajaya in tatters although their leaders remain steadfast in not accepting defeat which they came from a manipulated elections aimed at giving victory to the BN.

Earlier, BN managed to form a government with a simple majority by winning 112 seats at 12.50am. At that stage, Pakatan had won 58 seats, with DAP winning 28, PKR 18 and PAS 12.

BN also managed to win back Kedah with a slim majority and Perak by a single seat. It also retained its two thirds in Perlis and Sabah.

The coalition also retained power in Negeri Sembilan, Malacca, Johor, Pahang and Terengganu with Pakatan giving a good show in all these states.

Pakatan meanwhile had a massive win in Penang and made bigger grounds to retain Selangor. It also managed to offset the onslought from BN to keep Kelantan.

Documentary evidence

Speaking at a press conference early this morning, Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak hailed Barisan Nasional’s victory and called for a ‘time of national reconciliation’.

The prime minister praised the conduct of the election, which he described as ‘true, fair and transparent’. He asked Malaysians to accept the will of the people, respect the result and ‘show the world we are a mature democracy’.

Rejecting racial politics during the campaign as ‘unhealthy’, the prime minister called for the adoption of ‘policies that are moderate’, and decried extremism.

Pakatan Rakyat leader Anwar Ibrahim meanwhile said Pakatan would not accept the results unless Election Commission can explain the electoral fraud that happened during polling today.

Speaking at a press conference today, Anwar said that the opposition had documentary evidence of the dubious electoral process which happened throughout they day at various locations.

“My decision stands. It’s not fair to expect me to make a decision in an election which is fraudulent,” he said.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 6 May 2013 - 7:49 am

My own personal assessment is that Pakatan goofed. IT FORGOT ITS FLANK – it was focus on key new states and seats, it was not looking at problems at the flank and left PAS to deal with it on their own. Nik Aziz was ailing and Anwar did not make it through Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu and only bits of Pahang..

Even in Selangor, how do you explain not winning Titiwangsa YET Setiawangsa has a BIG reduced majority?

This was never possible without a strong PAS and PAS had its problems that was simply ignored by Pakatan

2. #2 by boh-liao on Monday, 6 May 2013 - 9:14 am

Dis is despite PR winning d NUMBER of POPULAR VOTES
    UmnoB/BN excellent at manipulating d electoral system in order 2 hang on 2 power through smaller number of poorly informed voters in small-number constituencies

3. #3 by Billy on Monday, 6 May 2013 - 11:30 am

We all know that the general election was fraudulently organised and thus the results. The question I would like to ask is, what are the Pakatan leaders planning to do about this? You must remember that our hopes of a better tomorrow lie with you, so must know, what actions do you intend to take to right the wrongs without our hopes being flushed away down the toilet bowl. If that happens, Pakatan can forget about sending their people to stand for elections as it would mean a waste of time. Can we get an assurance that Pakatan will fight to the very end e.g. instituting legal proceedings against the government and its stooge, the Election Commission. You must keep us informed.

4. #4 by Winston on Monday, 6 May 2013 - 12:23 pm

Rejecting racial politics during the campaign as ‘unhealthy’, the prime minister called for the adoption of ‘policies that are moderate’, and decried extremism. – End of quote

Weren’t two of the most virulent racists nominated to stand as candidates of this ultra hypocrite’s party??
    So, what went wrong with Malaysians putting such a government in power again???
    Warped mentality??

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Monday, 6 May 2013 - 1:04 pm

Najib, you did worse than Pak Lah both in terms of seats and popular vote. You are the worst PM we have had and to think we got you for another 5 years to suffer from your nonsensical alphabet soups.

You are a failure as the results show. You performed very badly in Selangor where you are the Head. You got trashed there kow-kow. You are not winnable as far as the more knowledgeable and discerning voters are concerned.

6. #6 by ekompute on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 5:37 am

QUOTE: “Rejecting racial politics during the campaign as ‘unhealthy’, the prime minister called for the adoption of ‘policies that are moderate’, and decried extremism.”

Mind-blogging, to say the least. A race-based political party that is opened to only one race rejecting racial politics. It’s sounds like Mao Zedong saying communism is unhealthy. My, am I really confused, listening to this government.