Side Views A vote for stability or a vote for growth and change?

by Jackson Clu
April 28, 2013

APRIL 28 — The Reality

A vote for stability or a vote for growth and change? Personally, this general election has made me think very deeply as to what I actually want for myself and for our country. No doubt, everyone wants a stable and easy life but think deeper and ask yourself is that enough? I am no judge but I believe our votes this time round reflect our livelihood. Either we have been poisoned to the core to believe that stability is all we can have OR we are awakened by the truth making us hungry for growth and change, which in turn, brings true stability.

You know I have heard many people say it will be the same whoever we vote for. I beg to differ. Twenty years ago, it might have been the same but today, looking at how other countries, who were once on par with us but are now a hundred steps ahead of us, does make a difference. It ignites the fire within us that leaves us wondering why we are left so far behind. What did we do wrong for the past 50-odd years? And is there no cure?

My dear Malaysians,

Times have changed. In this era of technology advancement, we are no longer katak di bawah tempurung (like a frog beneath a coconut shell). Every move a person makes, we can see and know very clearly. It is a little scary but it also allows us to see the ongoings and correct the wrongs we have done. And if we are clean, we won’t be afraid to be seen naked. Now, with all the articles in the tabloids, read carefully to see what is the difference between the ruling government and the opposition. Which of the two cares for the rakyat and which only cares for themselves? Those in power—are they qualified to hold important positions in government or are there better candidates out there? I am not here to put down either side but I am making use of this technology advancement to show you the truth. Sometimes, the care shown might just be a chess move to trick us. As they say, anything to stay in power.

By now, you should know that I am for growth and change and I believe the opposition can provide them to us. The opposition is made up of people who are not satisfied with the ruling government. These people, like each and everyone of us, yearn for a better Malaysia. A better Malaysia in the sense that we are on par, if not better, than the other nations who were once on par or even worse than our country. Take Singapore, for example. The little red dot is a hundred times better than our country in basically everything. How on earth did that happen and why? Simple, look at the qualifications of those in power in our country and compare that with their Singapore counterparts or whichever country you prefer. After you have done so, compare the qualifications of those in power in our country with the opposition candidates. Now you know why I am rooting for the opposition. Simply because they are more qualified to hold the important positions to spearhead growth in our country.

As mentioned earlier, the opposition is made up of people from all walks of life who yearn for growth and change. These are people with an intellectual capability who have figured out that our country can actually be a powerhouse if we want it to. This is why they chose to join the opposition’s cause to fight for change which will provide us with growth and true stability. Unlike those who only care for their own livelihood, those in the opposition care for our future generation and beyond. A better Malaysia can be achieved if we truly want it. This time, simply by a vote for growth and change. This is the least we can do for a better nation. The choice is in your hands and so is that of your children and their children.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 29 April 2013 - 11:55 am

There is no stablity with UMNO/BN.. Najib is probably going to spend/commit to spend close to RM100billion before this GE is over..He is not going to have a stable govt which means that for the NEXT GE after this, he has to even raise the statke – RM200-300billion – the entire development budget for a single govt term..

ITS ALREADY AN UNTENABLE GOVT. BN govt is a runaway train heading for a crash..

PR is populist but it will more than pay for its program from savings. Moreover, PR don’t have to keep upping the ante once it holds Putrajaya. Not only debt don’t have to rise, they likely have enough left over to pare down the debt..

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 29 April 2013 - 12:38 pm

The author marked the battleline thus:

“Stability vs growth”

Wrong. Wrong. Wrong.

It should be

“Claimed Stability vs Real Stability plus Growth”

Now the choice becomes clearer!

3. #3 by drngsc on Monday, 29 April 2013 - 2:05 pm

If that guy cannot bring stability ( perceived or real ) after 56 years, he does NOT deserve another term. It is time to change and let the other guy bring stability, and growth. 56 years is a long time. Almost 2 generations. More than enough time to bring real stability.

Inikali lah.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is in 6 days. Not much time left. Let us walk the streets, and neighbourhood, speak to all, get all eligible to vote. make every vote count. First to GE 13, then to Putrajaya. Let us finish the work we started in 308.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we shall.

Inikali lah.

4. #4 by hiro on Monday, 29 April 2013 - 3:15 pm

I don’t think there is any confusion whatsoever.

No doubt Pakatan has its weaknesses – there is still open disagreements over Hudud, over the extent of policing morality etc.

But if you match that up against the gross abuse of power and endemic corruption under 55 years of BN governance and the lost opportunities of Malaysia, and the hundreds of billions lost to crony pockets, the match up becomes a case of comparing, say, a fart, to a truck load of manure – i.e. there is just no basis of comparing at all.

I’d rather have a trip-fall-get-back-up government for the first one or two years, as a whole bunch of disparate people who’ve never tasted federal governance before, come together to try to make things better, put in place policies they have fought hard for decades in opposition – for me, this is better than the insidious stability that comes with an extremely high price of losing our collective souls – and not to mention increasingly held against us like a gun pointed to our heads asking us to vote them back to power again and again or else May 13.

That relic of fearmongering belongs to yesteryears. Time for change is now, and even if not this time, the next round. Time will eventually run out for BN/UMNO because it is incapable of change, being trapped by its own selfish vested interests.

5. #5 by pwcheng on Monday, 29 April 2013 - 11:58 pm

We all know how BN smells. Thats why they dare not come out to debate and offering stupid excuses like, this is not our culture, there are other ways to deliver to the rakyat and all the bullshit. We all know you dare not debate because you are full of shit, and you will be laughed at and mocked at when you spurt lies.
    In reality UMNO (not to mention any of those mosquito BN parties as they are dying breed) do not have anything left to fight except using money and fear mongering. That is the only capability left. MCA has done that before and they almost lost their pants but this time they still try to use the same tactics and we want to make sure they will loose their pants. CSL will be happy doing that. Najib is waiting for that and Rosmah will be waiting to see that.
    BN is grossly deprived of people with talent. Anyway they are not interested in people with talent. They only want people who can be pulled by the noose and can blend with their corrupted ways. The more corrupted you are the better you can blend with them. Thats why good people like OTK was kicked out with the concerted effort of the BN and all the corrupted cronies.

6. #6 by on cheng on Tuesday, 30 April 2013 - 9:28 pm

who can guarantee BN = stability? Nonsense !
    BN= more, AND more national debt, that is SURE ! One day all Malaysian will surely suffer !

7. #7 by Charsiupao on Wednesday, 1 May 2013 - 9:56 am

Why I refuse to vote for BN even if change might take me out of my comfort zone..

http://dimsumlife.blogspot.com/2013/04/surely-bn-can-change-for-better.html

8. #8 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 1 May 2013 - 5:05 pm

BN=BarisanNajis. Apa lagi, ubah ini kalilah…

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 2 May 2013 - 9:41 am

the only stable BN component is CORRUPTION!
    If you are still undecided on which side to choose or if you are still a BN supporter, I invite you to watch this 10-minute video.
    I am not a member of any political party –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3uQWOJRTVE&feature=youtu.be