If you are afraid to vote Pakatan, what can you do?

by P Ramakrishnan
ALIRAN

P Ramakrishnan advises pensioners what they should do if they are worried that their votes won’t be secret.

There are civil servants and pensioners who are fearful of voting for Pakatan. They would very much like to do so but they are afraid.

The civil servants are scared that if they are found out for supporting the opposition their promotion prospects may be affected. They think they may even be dismissed from service.

The pensioners are apprehensive that their pension may be stopped if they do not support the BN. They believe that it is the BN that is giving them their pension.

To begin with, it is not possible to trace your voting ballot paper. It does not have any serial number on the ballot paper. So, it is impossible to trace you.

With regard to promotion, there is nothing to worry. When Pakatan takes over Putrajaya, nobody will be victimised for partisan politics. Your promotion will depend on your merit and nothing else. You will not be dismissed from service for exercising your right to vote.

As for the pension, it will continue even after Pakatan takes over the federal government. The pension is part and parcel of your service. You will continue to receive it and your spouse, if alive after your death, will receive your pension as long as she lives.

So, there is nothing to fear at all.

But if for whatever reason you are still not convinced, this is what you can do. Don’t go and vote. If you are fearful of voting for the opposition, don’t vote. If you go and vote, you will force yourself to vote for the BN just to feel safe. Don’t do that. Stay at home.

Voting is not compulsory. Don’t waste your vote by forcing yourself to vote for the BN. If you don’t vote, you will be helping the opposition. In this way, believe me, you will be helping Pakatan to go to Putrajaya.

Some of you may find yourself in a difficult situation on polling day. If a BN friend comes along and offers you a lift to the polling centre, go with him. Play along with him or her that you are keen to vote. But once inside the polling booth, don’t mark your ballot paper. Cast a blank ballot paper into the ballot box. Your blank ballot paper will be rejected as a spoilt vote.

This is what it means: you have not supported the BN but you have, in fact, supported Pakatan.

On polling day, either stay at home or cast a blank ballot paper. In this way, you would have freed yourself from fear. What more, you have refused to be exploited any more.

1. #1 by highhand on Monday, 29 April 2013 - 4:02 pm

all these people when get sick and comes to hospital wants first class ward treatment,
    have they ever set foot in 2nd and 3rd class ward and see how the other ordinary fellow malaysian been treated?
    they think they are elite,
    they think they are deserving lot,
    but what they do is just pushing pens and papers around
    but when comes to make a X mark, sub serve like a slave

2. #2 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 29 April 2013 - 11:25 pm

I am not surprised by such mind-set; only the other day I met an ex-Customs officer who thought in the same vein: that Gomen workers owed it to UMNO! Some time you just can’t blame them as many of the lesser type actually depended on the UMNO-inclined bosses for their promotion. Just look at the Navy Chief trying to bullshit about the Mamak’s visit to the Naval Base! He should just shut-up instead of making a fool of himself! By now the better educated younger set of Malays is ready for UBAH! Pensioners should realize that it is not BN which is paying their pensions!

3. #3 by on cheng on Tuesday, 30 April 2013 - 9:43 pm

If afraid to vote PR, then DON’T vote !
    Don’t be silly lah, even if they can trace one vote for who, then Can they victimize millions who do not vote BN ?
    Answer is surely NO !

4. #4 by on cheng on Tuesday, 30 April 2013 - 9:44 pm

Lagi apa nak takut, mungkin gomen dah tukar lepas 6 hb !