Why I shall vote in GE13

— Philip Yeoh
April 15, 2013

APRIL 15 — I shall vote to give Malaysia a better chance of stemming the bleeding of our public finances and downward spiral in our standard of living.

I shall vote to protect our land and people from policies, practices and businesses that threaten our ecological safety and integrity.

I shall vote to open the door for reforms in our institutions of governance particularly the judiciary, MACC, police and the central bank.

I shall vote to introduce mechanisms to ensure proper behaviour and professionalism in civil servants and institutions of public order. These will include the long-awaited IPCMC that should be under the direct oversight of the Parliament, not a Cabinet minister.

I shall vote to empower leaders who champion issue- and rules-based governance as well as needs-driven resource allocation in place of race-driven expediency.

I shall vote to signal my thirst for justice long denied to our Beng Hocks, Kugans, Ahmad Sabrianis, Orang Asal, the marginalised Indian community, exploited guest workers as well as my disgust at the culture of impunity underlying today’s political gangsterism, abuse of authority and sheer disregard for citizens’ rights.

I shall vote for governments at state and federal levels that are truly interested to upgrade the delivery of public services without fear, favour nor hidden agenda for filthy lucre.

I shall vote to punish and eradicate politics of race-baiting, muck-raking, salacious libel, hate incitement and religious chauvinism.

I shall vote to give Malaysia a viable Second Force (which I define to be an alternative administration that has served at least a term in government), whose first 300 days in government will then become the baseline for the growth of a credible Third Force as a deterrent against misbehaviour by the incumbent or opposition.

I shall vote for change.

1. #1 by Winston on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 1:28 pm

Malaysians must not only vote but must
    vote for a party that is competent,
    accountable and practices transparency
    in all its dealings.
    And the party that fulfills all these
    requirements?
    Party Rakyat is the one!
    Failure to vote and to vote for PR is not
    an option.
    We must change the corrupted and
    scandalous government!!!
    Our future depends on it!!!!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 1:42 pm

Nah, I just want to shut up Mahathir and his kind. Jerks the lot of them..

3. #3 by yhsiew on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 1:44 pm

I shall vote to not let Mamak enrich his son and cronies.

4. #4 by sotong on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 1:49 pm

Corruption, abuse of power, gross incompetent, racism, threat, intimidation and etc..are very serious matters destroying the country but some mentally sick people do not care.

It is natural for normal people wanting good leadership and government.

5. #5 by drngsc on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 2:03 pm

YOU SHOULD VOTE, AND ALL OF US SHOULD VOTE, so that our government and the future of our country be decided by Malaysians and not by illegals, brought in by a shameless government who is prepared to sell our country to illegals. They are prepared to commit treason. You and I must vote, to stop that.

YOUR VOTE COUNTS.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is 20 days away. Let us work very very hard. Get all to vote. make all our votes count. First to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we shall.

6. #6 by PR123 on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 2:37 pm

Vote for : competent, capable & credible leaders
    : accountability & sustainable growth
    : peace, stability, harmony & prosperity
    : freedom of religion & speech

All voters must come out in full force to vote.
    Vote PR for a formidable coalition that share a common consensus of improving the LIVELIHOOD OF ALL MALAYSIANS.

7. #7 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 2:56 pm

Calling all malaysians the world over to come home on 5th May to ABU!

8. #8 by cseng on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 9:40 pm

You should vote this GE13, simply because, you must be involved in this historical moment of government change, you don’t get to change the goverment every 5yrs. You grandchildren will ask what have you choose?

9. #9 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 10:37 pm

vote in PR vote out Barisan Najis