Mission almost impossible for Kit Siang

Free Malaysia Today
April 15, 2013

JOHOR BARU: For DAP supremo Lim Kit Siang to win the Gelang Patah parliamentary seat in Barisan Nasional’s fortress in Johor, he not only needs to win the “hearts and minds” of the Chinese electorate, who are the majority voters in the suburban seat, he must also work hard to woo votes from the Malay electorate.

A substantial 54% of the eligible voters in Gelang Patah are Chinese while the Malays account for 33% and Indians make up 12%.

Judging from the electoral composition, it is clear that to win the rapidly-developing Gelang Patah seat, the candidate, either from BN or DAP, must romp home with the support of the Chinese and Malays, the bulk of the electorate in the constituency, adjacent to Pulai and Johor Baru parliamentary seats.

But with the irremovable stigma that Kit Siang and DAP are “anti-Malays” and “anti-Islam, it is a big question mark whether the Malay voters in the constituency will accept or welcome the veteran DAP politician.

No doubt Kit Siang and the DAP election machinery in the area are already facing an uphill task. In fact, some party campaigners were heard lamenting that it was indeed an arduous mission to win over the Malay voters in the once Malay-heartland area.

The difficult task to woo Malay voters was readily acknowledged by DAP election workers with the “anti-Malay” and “anti-Islam” stigma deeply etched in Kit Siang and DAP, a predominantly Chinese-based urban party.

“Surely, the stigma will be a big hurdle for my party campaigners when talking to Malay voters in the area.

“The stigma is purportedly created and highlighted that the DAP and I are ‘anti-Malay’ and ‘anti-Islam’,” laments Kit Siang.

The DAP adviser says the “anti-Malay” and anti-Islam” stigma was a mere slander and a big lie, adding that the DAP’s and his political struggle was for all Malaysians regardless of race and religion.

‘I want to win’

Although the acceptance of Kit Siang by the Malay voters was difficult to gauge since the March 18 announcement that he was the Pakatan Rakyat’s candidate for Gelang Patah, Kit Siang and DAP firmly believe that they will be well-accepted by the electorate to break BN’s stronghold in Johor.

Johor has been BN’s bastion for many years.

“I don’t know about the Malays’ acceptance of me but I want to win in Gelang Patah with the support of all races,” said Kit Siang, who has moved from Ipoh Timur in Perak to try his luck in Gelang Patah.

Although Kit Siang and his well-oiled election machinery are working round-the-clock to win over Malay voters, the machinery by far and large is focusing attention on densely-populated Chinese areas like in Taman Ungku Tun Aminah in Skudai, where the DAP’s Gelang Patah parliamentary election operations headquarters is based.

A local political observer said the DAP’s strategy was to secure at least 80% Chinese votes, 5% Malay and 5% Indian votes in Gelang Patah.

To Gelang Patah Umno division chief Abdul Aziz Sapian, Kit Siang and DAP are sure to fail miserably in garnering Malay votes in their untiring efforts to win over Malays’ support in the constituency.

In fact, Kit Siang’s surprise move to contest in Gelang Patah would only work in favour of the BN with more Malays rallying behind the ruling coalition to retain the stronghold seat, he said.

“We expect Malays’ support for BN in Gelang Patah to swell by more than 90%. We’re confident that Malay voters will reject Kit Siang and DAP, widely regarded as a Chinese chauvinist party,” he added.

Political ally

Kit Siang and DAP vehemently questioning “everything about the Malays”, including Malays’ special rights and privileges bears testimony to the “true colours” of Kit Siang and DAP’s real perception of the Malays.

“It only reinforces the stigma that the DAP is ‘anti-Malay’ and ‘anti-Islam’,” Abdul Aziz said.

With 90% Malay votes, 60% Indian votes and at least 30% Chinese votes in hand, the BN confident of retaining Gelang Patah, the BN’s bastion for many years, he said.

He said Kit Siang was fully relying on his political ally, PAS, to help him approach Malay voters in Gelang Patah.

“The DAP has entirely left it to PAS to woo Malay voters in Gelang Patah. We believe only hardcore PAS supporters will support Kit Siang,” he added.

In the last general election in 2008, BN’s Tan Ah Heng from MCA retained the seat, defeating PKR’s Zaliha Mustafa by a comfortable 8,000-vote majority.

-Bernama

1. #1 by cintanegara on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 6:27 pm

Surely, Malays will punish DAP by voting for Umno and go back to the old days when Umno has two-thirds majority in Parliament …DAP is not a multiracial party…it represents a particular ethnic…Look at their so called structure…All top positions are held by a particular ethnic..Johoreans are very intelligent indeed…they will reject LKS and DAP…landslide victory for Datuk Ghani Othman.

BTW, Lim Guan Eng tak mahu bertanding di Johor? Pagoh ada. Parit SUlong ada, Pontian pun ada…mari la bertanding di Johor….

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 6:34 pm

Anwar last night mentioned a phrase, an Arabic version of ‘the end does not justify the means’, Matlamat tidak boleh mengHalalkan cara. This phrase should proof handy to spread around in Gelang Patah..

3. #3 by cseng on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 6:51 pm

Prior 308 election, DAP forming penang state government, Khir Toyol lamented ‘pembankang sifar’ in Selangor. These were mission impossible before 308.

Who would think a president of MCA, Gelakan, were not in ‘winnable’ candidate list.

Nothing is impossible, I think LKS will win, PR forming next federal government.

4. #4 by cseng on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 6:54 pm

After these few days of free dinners, free lotteries, lucky draws, etc… organised for Penangites by 1-malaysia-club.

Many Johorians regretted for not voting PR into state government and being treated like a king in penang by BN. This alone, proven vote PR, you never lose.

5. #5 by lauksnatlks on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 7:05 pm

Good strategy, Spread the message, the more u vote PR, the more BN will treat the voter well. ABU ABU…

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 7:21 pm

The PAP can cross the Causeway and 2nd Link to help him ?

Harry Lee and Son can still draw a crowd or two ?

7. #7 by bruno on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 8:57 pm

Around midnight on May 5th 2013 or early May 6th 2013,Umnoputras will get the shock of their lives.Like a cruise missile has hit them where it hurts most,in the butt.

When the results of Gelang Patah are announced that Ghani has fallen flat on his face and Kit Siang the victor.Then comes the good news.Umno winnable candidates all across the peninsular and East Malaysia are dropping like ten pins.

8. #8 by Loh on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 9:00 pm

#1 by Loh on Monday, 15 April 2013 – 8:39 pm
    http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/semakpru13.aspx

The above web site allows one to check the location of where one votes.

I have just checked and found that my name has been transposed with my surname appearing between my two names. It would mean that when the clerk at the polling station checks my IC against its list, he will declare that I am not on the electoral roll, and I could be refused the ballot paper to vote. This is an important matter and I hope that DAP will see to it that so long as our IC number checks with what appears in the list, one should be allowed to vote.

I have been worried that should I update my data on the electoral roll, my record might just disappear, and I have thus not approached the election commission so that my record would not be touched. I am wrong. The record has indeed been touched. The name on the list is different from what it appeared in the computer list when I voted in the past. It means that the election Commission has tempered with the list. I give you another proof.

My wife has her name changed with the addition of a Christian name in front minus her surname. I wonder what will happen on election day.

I would urge readers to check what their name has become, and get the details ready to tell the clerk to locate their name in the list.

I hope Kit will be informed of this.

9. #9 by kg on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 9:02 pm

I see it the other way round, Kit is very popular and well received in Johor, and he has DAP, PKR & PAS behind him, and people who want better future for Malaysia are all behind KIT. Go for ceramah by PR and BeEnd, and feel the different. On the other hand, supports for BumNo BeEnd is declining from year to year, time to time. Remember what happened when Madey campaigned against Sharir in JB back then, Madey lost, Madey lost to Sharir! The way I see, Kit is much stronger than Sharir.

It is good not to underestimate the opponent, but for BumNo to overestimate its strength and ability will be good for PR. PR will win GPatah and GE13.

10. #10 by cseng on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 9:56 pm

With MCA confirmed close shop, don’t you think chinese community will be all out backing PR? I think at least 90% of them are now with LKS.

How umno’s racist mathematic work? Chinese votes will be with BN given no choice, with practical choice, no chinese votes BN, only ridzuan tee. That also, he will be not happy to be called chinese.

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Monday, 15 April 2013 - 10:16 pm

Malay support for Ghani has dwindled substantially over the last four years, more so in the area where he is pitted against LKS. Believe me, kit, the modern Malays of Johor Bahru will prove to you they do not vote along racial lines. Already I have heard from many Malays as well as Chinese saying the odds are against Ghani. Have confidence, bro. Johor Bahru voters want change. They are very much aware it’s now or never to replace corrupt UMNO/BN. INI KALILAH!!!

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 12:20 am

It is a high-risk move but the saying is true “Nothing ventured, nothing gained”.
    Hopefully LKY’s bold move will be the tipping point to swing Johor state. The Malays here should ask why the Malays in Singapore are so much further developed and independent than them.

“Leaders establish the vision for the future and set the strategy for getting there; they cause change. They motivate and inspire others to go in the right direction and they, along with everyone else, sacrifice to get there.”
    John Kotter, author

13. #13 by chengho on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 12:42 am

Ghani to win

14. #14 by Noble House on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 3:53 am

Poor Kit! For UMNO/BN to bring out all its firepower just to bring you down proves that you are standing on firmer ground, and no pushover. The battle is won before it’s ever fought! Sometimes, great results can be achieved with small forces.

“One mark of a great soldier is that he fight on his own terms or fights not at all.” ~ Sun Tzu.

15. #15 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 5:14 am

MISSION IMPOSSIBLE V or VI now?
    Has Tom Cruise been contacted 2 launch cruise missiles against UmnoB/BN’s GE13 erection campaign in Gelang Patah?

Spread d mesej 2 UmnoB/BN supporters there: Love UmnoB/BN more by VOTING 4 LKS/DAP/PR cos a vote 4 LKS will help 2 keep UmnoB/BN on THEIR TOES n force UmnoB/BN 2 splash out MORE CASH 2 rakyat

16. #16 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 6:12 am

Both MCA n Gerakan r crying out loud: GE13, DO or DIE
    Let rakyat n voters fulfil their DEATH WISH: Die, die, die
    They r no longer relevant cos their members r really UmnoB members – MCA n Gerakan might as well DISSOLVE n thier members bcome UmnoB members or @ssociates

How come, tow truck gal not an MCA candidate in Selayang, so sad 1 what

17. #17 by chengho on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 8:41 am

no more old man above 70+ for MP

18. #18 by dnk on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 8:46 am

@cintanegara

and UMNO is a MULTIRACIAL party?
    Even if DAP only had one Malay, that is enough to beat UMNO. UMNO is INFINITELY more racist. Just do the math.

>1 malays in dap / 0 chinese in umno = undefined

DAP is trying their best to gain more Malay candidates.

Enough of this racial BS. Where on earth is there another political party that institutionalized race as a condition for membership? Even if there were, it would be in some 3rd world country. We should be looking forwards not backwards.

19. #19 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 8:47 am

Good job chengho.

Write some more things to praise umno. Anything at all. Remember to exaggerate them. Spin them. Twist them. Flip them. Anyhow. Anywhich way. It will surely rile followers of this blogsite. The more people are angered the more they would support and vote pakatan.

Luv u chengho.

Muah muah muah.

20. #20 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 8:47 am

Yucks.

Longkang smell!

21. #21 by mickeytiger2006 on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 9:20 am

If you want a very very corrupted, abusive and evil govt with a murderous pm, vote for BN/Unmo which is akin to voting for nazism and third world govt! Vote wisely!

22. #22 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 9:26 am

Come what may, Kit will not shy away from his opponent.

23. #23 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 10:45 am

HJ Angus :
    It is a high-risk move but the saying is true “Nothing ventured, nothing gained”.
    Hopefully LKY’s bold move will be the tipping point to swing Johor state. The Malays here should ask why the Malays in Singapore are so much further developed and independent than them.
    “Leaders establish the vision for the future and set the strategy for getting there; they cause change. They motivate and inspire others to go in the right direction and they, along with everyone else, sacrifice to get there.”
    John Kotter, author

LKY?

24. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 10:46 am

chengho :
    Ghani to win

the Boston Marathon…….

25. #25 by bush on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 11:10 am

There is still 50:50.

I wonder why LKS want to reveal the strategy to highlight the constituency area and let their opponent get ready.

He should highlight the state where he is going to fight and let the BN do the guessing game where he intend to go and caught the MCA without wearing pants like CSL.

You should not reveal your location or war strategy for opponent to kill you.

26. #26 by bush on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 11:23 am

There are many voters has been transfered to other area with EC help. Some of my ipoh& selangor/Kl friends got a shock with the area transfer and no way they are able to request for relocation.

Based on the 50:50 change. The BN can kill you by transferring their supporter to this area. Lembah pantai (KL) will be another uphill task to defence by NURUL.

War strategy only can reveal at the last minutes.

• #27 by kg on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 12:35 pm

I think the best is yet to come, take a look at TG Nik Aziz being carried in the arm by his supporter while campaigning in Johor yesterday, he was literally too tired to walk. I was touched, and I think Johoreans will feel the same.

27. #28 by on cheng on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 - 10:06 pm

Johorean, u support Bn all this while, do you know your water tariff among the highest in Malaysia?, while selangor got 20 mtr3 free ! Penang among cheapest ! (even Penang is so small).
    Though Johor state water rsources is better than Selangor or Penang

28. #29 by on cheng on Wednesday, 17 April 2013 - 3:22 pm

Johorean, Have you ever wonder why, 100 ringgit become less than SGD41, when you cross to S’pore? or
    why some Johorean need to send their primary n secondary children to study in S’pore? so inconvenient !
    Anything to do with support BN for far too long.
    also talk to ordinary Penang Malay, n see whether DAP is anti Islam, dont listen to those penipu !!