The hidden hand of underhanded tricks in GE13

By Jimmy Wong | APRIL 09, 2013

APRIL 9 — When did politics get so sneaky that Malaysian political parties start putting up fake banners of their foes or sending emails using fake identities?

Who are these hidden hands? The ones who put up banners and buntings using DAP and PAS leaders’ faces. The ones who keep flooding my inbox with lousy arguments against Pakatan Rakyat (PR)?

Why do political parties resort to such play instead of confronting each other on issues of the day? Instead, they resort to sneaky dirty tricks to make the other side look bad. Does it work? No.

What do they hope to achieve with such tricks? That we will believe how bad these parties are? Isn’t that stupid?

In the United States, both the Democrats and the Republicans regularly take out advertisements picking on and criticising each other’s policy points. Why don’t Malaysian political parties do this instead of anonymous attacks?

Have we reached a stage where we descend into such attacks because we don’t know how to debate or are bereft of points? If all you can do is resort to such tricks, how can you even hope or dream of becoming an assemblyman or MP?

The emails with fake identities and the fake buntings and banners have the opposite effect on me. They make me question the people behind them and those who will benefit from such anonymous attacks.

Can you grow up and be mature, like politicians elsewhere? Is that too much to ask for in Malaysia?

If not, you don’t deserve to be voted into public office, you just deserve to be someone’s personal clown.

1. #1 by lauksnatlks on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 10:51 am

Desperate times call for desperate actions. Scraping the bottom of the barrel already ??. ABU ABU…

2. #2 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 11:07 am

With desperate, evil n corrupt MMK taking over as d “brain” & “strategist” of UmnoB/BN, apa-apa pun boleh mah

3. #3 by Winston on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 11:25 am

If all you can do is resort to such tricks, how can you even hope or dream of becoming an assemblyman or MP? – End of quote

That’s why these animals isn’t fit to be in
    the opposition.
    They will just sully the august House of
    Parliament!!!
    They belong to the zoo!!!
    Just don’t give them even a single vote!!!

4. #4 by PR123 on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 11:27 am

Law abiding citizens strongly denounce the underhanded tactics used by any party. Its sad that thuggery, slandering, vicious assaults & attacks and threatening behaviour is in fact being encouraged by certain quarters.

Desperados bankrupt of ideas & of the lowest mentality turning the country upside down.

Vote them out & send them packing. ABU

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 11:32 am

What is crazier than Mahathir championing Ibrahim Ali and his type for candidates? Mahathir championing Rosmah as MP and next PM?

Face it, there is no low that Mahathir and Najib will not sink to win..They have already committed treason in substance. You cross that, no low is too low..

The real scare is in fact how mistake-prone the lows are. Using unfluent-Chinese for the banners? Allowing the racist and bigots to speak in ceramah openly? Free dinners in Penang? Forcing teachers to vote and support UMNO/BN? They are using people that are prone to mistakes and ugly behaviour – those easily manipulated..

Anything can happen..

6. #6 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 11:50 am

Not only racist n corrupt UmnoB n Perkosa kakis r plotting d downfall of PR
    Also some super-rich big fat non-Malays r splashing big fat $$$$ 2 engineer d downfall of PR, esp in Pg n Selangor
    They know eventually $$$$ can push devils 2 grind stones 4 them

When 1 has lots of easy corrupt $$$$, 1 can get voters 2 vote 4 Umno/BN by enticing voters with easi big $$$$ return through gambling
    Predict GE13’s results: RM1 bet on DAP/PR 2 lose, payout = RM1,000 or 2,000 or 5,000
    Guess which party a voter will vote for? DAP/PR or UmnoB/BN?

7. #7 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 12:27 pm

How can dead wood can growth up? Don’t you heard a comment from one of the longest dead wood say it is ok to use public assets in their campaign? BN wood not only dead, it is dead and toxin even insert eat on them will die instantly.

The only way out is skinned out the dead wood, only then the tree can have a change to survive and growth again healthy.

Being FOCUS go out and cast your vote of change.
    Being FOCUS don’t let the dead wood tox you away.

50+ years is a long way. Lesson must be learnt by now.

8. #8 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 1:55 pm

The dead wood comments has the support of the EC chairman. Thus the care taker government guilds line are not legally binding it is only for syiok syiok sahaja. For your eye and ears only. They still can do what they fancies no thier money mah ah kong punya use as they wish no problem. The car belong to a kong they want to use what say you jangan kay poh lah.

9. #9 by Shadowss on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 3:04 pm

This is purely Desperation times counter measure . They have ran out of ideas and resorts on how to retain a V in GE 13 . Instead of debate or face each others head on , they choose be sneaky . Where are the guts of the BN leaders ? or they just vanishes into thin air after all these years ?

10. #10 by 1elderly voter on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 3:33 pm

I wish to comment on the remark “E-mails with fake identities” – In Malaysia you can be lock-up or sue for millions of RM with postings such as this one!

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 6:50 pm

Threats, lies, falsehoods, violence, frame-ups, character assassinations using fake sex videos ……… This sick culture started by UNMO Barua / BN is too deep-rooted into the ground. The only guarantee to stop all their nonsenses is to vote PR to a thumping victory in the PRU 13. Bangkitlah! Rakyat.

12. #12 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 10 April 2013 - 7:19 pm

3rd world nation with 3rd world mentality…orang bagi ceramah pun depa kacau mengaku bangsa mulia konon…Barisan Najis

13. #13 by chengho on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 12:09 am

vote for BN , mutlti racial party

14. #14 by Noble House on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 3:11 am

Politics of a bygone era. Totally out of sync with the change of space and time. UMNO/BN is stuck in a time-warp, not knowing the past from the future.

15. #15 by yhsiew on Thursday, 11 April 2013 - 4:03 am

It is all gutter politics practiced by the rogue BN coalition.