Talking to the Malays

— Zaid Ibrahim
April 06, 2013

APRIL 6 — So at last we are going to have a general election after all. The months of waiting have taken its toll on most people, but it’s important that they continue to have energy and spirit and to work hard to make this GE a meaningful one.

This week I want to talk to the Malays. They form the biggest block of voters and to them I say, this is your chance to have a new government. A new government will enable you to make a comparison with the one we have now. You have been told time and again that no one besides Umno/BN can govern and protect you, but wouldn’t it be better for you to try to find out for yourself? How can we know if Pakatan would be worse than Umno if we do not give them a chance?

You have to be brave and not let others bully you with fear and intimidation. The opposition parties have more Malays than BN so they will not harm you. They have worked hard and deserve a chance. For all you know, you may get better schools, better teachers for your children (as they may devote more time to teaching than politicking) and better security from the police and the army. Even your household income may improve as there will be more for the government to share with less corrupt leaders at the helm.

You will not lose if you vote for the opposition. If the opposition gets stronger because of your support but BN still wins, then you will get more cash handouts than they had promised. Money and projects have only been given to you because the opposition was strong — if the opposition had been weak, you wouldn’t have gotten the BR1M 1.0 and BR1M 2.0. It makes sense to vote for the opposition if you want more from the BN. Learn to value your votes to improve your livelihood.

Umno will use all the scare tactics in its arsenal, like telling you that Islam will no longer become the official religion and that the Malay Rulers will disappear if the opposition wins. You should ask your children and grandchildren if any of these can come true. Even they will tell you that this is all nonsense, just fear mongering by those desperate to cling to power when everything else has failed.

The Malays need to change their loyalty and support PAS as their protector. PAS is a Malay party just like Umno. The difference is that PAS has never been entrusted to rule the country. If the Malays can give Umno 50 years to govern, surely it’s not too much to give PAS at least five years. The opportunity for PAS to rule (in coalition, of course, with PKR and the DAP) is an historic moment for the Malays to seize. If PAS is not able to govern well then the people can always go back to Umno. Choice is what the Malays need for their own wellbeing — they have not had it in the last 50 years.

I know it’s easy to persuade the Malays to support their leaders and not go against them. They will be reminded of the cash and all the help that’s been given to them. They will be told to be grateful. They will be told that BN and the government are one and the same so if you want more from the government, then only BN leaders can help you.

Again, I urge you to talk to your children and grandchildren. The monies/salaries that BN leaders give in exchange for votes do not belong to them, but to the people of this country. It’s wrong for leaders to bribe you for votes. They have not been sincere to you. It’s not wrong for you to vote for the leader/party of your choice and still keep the money. In fact, if you vote for the opposition then BN will have to give you more next year. Either way, you win by supporting the opposition. — zaiduntukrakyat.com

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 9:49 am

UMNO/BN MANIFESTO:

BIAR SELURUH MALAYSIA MAKAN RASUAH, BIAR SEMUA TIPU & MENCACI SESAMA LAIN..

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 9:53 am

I am confident vast majority Muslims do not support a racist regime anymore.
    All along…they are proud to be known as Malaysians…and it needs Mahathir to drum up race and religion politics..to divide and rule…bringing Malaysia backwards…nor forward.
    The 3 million young voters will be the deciding factors in the 13th GE.
    It is nice to see Zaid Ibrahim in fighting for change.
    He should have joined the Bersih walks and walk his talks.

3. #3 by worldpress on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:07 am

Current UMNO is not the Malaysia 1st Prime Minister UMNO

Current UMNO is Mama UMNO…UMNO Baru pretend to be UMNO to deceive Malaysian

This Mama is an enemy of Malaysia 1st Prime Minister

4. #4 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:11 am

Mamak is the biggest con man that Malaysia is unfortunate to have.

5. #5 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:17 am

I hope all Muslims going to vote…think of Bapak Malaysia..Tunku Abdul Rahman…and what Mahathir did to him and the original UMNO party.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:20 am

I just want to say one thing about Anwar backtracking to Permatang Pauh to contest.

I first met Anwar in the first few days he was made Finance Minister. I thought he literally knew NEXT TO NOTHING about Finance and Economy..and throughout his PMship he still showed he lacked depth of his portfolio..BUT HE LEARNED and IMPROVED OVER TIME AND CLEARLY GOT THE BIG ISSUES RIGHT – they say its because he listened to his advisers.

And its generally true – Anwar is populist and listen to his advisers – ANWAR is adventurous POLITICALLY, NOT ADMINISTRATIVELY – he sticks to sound fundamental in subject he knows he lacks depth, he listen to his advisors – BUT HE HAS A KNACK FOR GETTING GOOD ADVISORS. AND he instinctively to listen to the most honest advisors more – guessing correctly that the more honest and smart they are, the more likely he can’t go wrong..

Its why ANWAR in reality is so fundamentally sound and Permatang Pauh decision is classic – why the distraction when he is needed in the entire country.. He was worried about regaining Perak given so much local internal politics in ALL the PR parties in Perak – but Anwar have had a track record of getting these things right especially given that he is listening to Lim Kit Siang and Hadi (Nizar’s mentor) and my bet is that he got this right too..

7. #7 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:22 am

And remember….Najib broke his promise to support Tunku Razaleigh as UMNO leader..at the last moment..and henceforth..Najib has a string of promises broke….which he is now using money to divert attentions…. of his true character.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:50 am

Here is the way to talk to the Malays:

Tahniah, awak semua sekarang jadi macam UMNOputra/BNputra juga – dapat rasuah BR1M dan dapat tipu orang lain .Lain kali jumpa, menteri dan ketua cawagnan awak pergi duduk sama dia and cakap awak ingat awak sudah jadi UMNOputra dan sama taraf dengan menteri dan ketua cawangan…

9. #9 by chengho on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 11:42 am

Can you trust this Zahid guy , another frog demand for attention
    you have to speak malay language when you want to speak to the malay , silly guy
    Vote for BN , within 6 months Pakatan will crumble , dust to dust

10. #10 by kg on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 12:21 pm

chengho trusts his corrupted bosses

11. #11 by boh-liao on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 4:56 pm

Rakyat n voters MUST know dat it’s WONDERFUL 2 VOTE 4 PR
    Oredi we hv seen a strong PR or d MERE possibility of PR toppling UmnoB/BN in GE13 has triggered UmnoB 2 pretend 2 b humble n begging 4 support by bribing rakyat n copying some of d proposed actions of PR

So, rakyat n voters, hv NO FEAR, VOTE 4 PR, KICK out UmnoB/BN

Let UmnoB/BN b d OPPOSITION in parliament – as some1 said, UmnoB/BN kakis VERY EXPERIENCED in all sorts of corruption, malpractices, murders, sex videos, black $$$$ leaving d country, etc, they will SERVE COMPETENTLY as effective opposition watch dogs checking PR kakis (as federal n state civil servants), INexperienced in corruption, fr abusing their newly gained power n positions

UmnoB/BN hv d evil, corrupt, know-all-tricks MMK 2 advise them
    Also pornoSnake knows how 2 catch ministers 4nicating during office hours, cheating on their spouses, in seedy hotel rooms
    Also cowgal 2 ensure dat no PR ministers or their spouses n cronies abuse $$$ 2 hv cows or other animals in expensive condos in M’sia or overseas
    N many more truly know-all corrupt UmnoB/BN kakis

Look, it’s a WIN-WIN situation 4 rakyat
    So, WHY NOT Just Do it!? ABU, ABD (Anything But Dacing)

12. #12 by Sallang on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 6:38 pm

To my Muslim brothers and sisters, now do you understand why the non Malays like to gamble?
    Strategy!
    Vote for a strong opposition, and BN will give you more money, when BN lose.

13. #13 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:53 pm

I propose a satu cuci longkang NY fund for chengho.
    All in favour pls say aye.

14. #14 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 10:55 pm

Yes I trust said. I even trust a monkey. Anyone man. Anyone but umno.

15. #15 by john on Sunday, 7 April 2013 - 11:42 pm

Well written in plain simple words, to the point.
    In fact, what Bumno-C4,MaMak Kutty are the ONES that have eroded and doing irreversival serious harm to the Malays own survival, fundamentally. For enriching themselves immensely (foremost ie. MaMak,Tiab, C4+Rosmama and Special Putras) have to do a Cover-Up by spreading the ‘dough’ utilising public funds to do it.
    Bumno’s Hierachy Quickie Get-Rich Club :
    1) MAMAK KUTTY ( Super Top ) AND TAIP , Musa, C4+ Rosmak – are in the top-top exclusive Club,
    2) Very special selected ONES eg. by Cowgate, Scorpene, APs, Mega Projects, Above Politics Group,,,Head of States,,Common Wealth Games, eg.the Azalinas etc.,,,
    3) Through GLCs, Syabas guy, Petronas Contracts, “MAS” , PLUS, IPPs, Tolls Collector,,,
    4) Bumno/bn’s members to feed- contracts created from eg. NS, District-kampung—levels,,
    5) Negotiated contracts , Land grabs, Forest /Timber,,,
    6) Civil servants (special ones here) , the small frys,,,Ministry,,,
    etc,,, the list goes wide and down ( keep one/two eyes close senario eg. )
    The above STARTED BY MaMak Kutty is unsubstainable and spawn “weak” Malays. Eg. the hard working (now skillfull,confirmed and proven) Indonesians in construction (a tough industry to be in) have NO “respect” for local Malays (generalise) in term of tenacity to succeed on own two feet – Spoon Feed, the easy end.
    MaMak (and the spawn celups MaMak, eg.C4) to continue provide Cover-Up for the Billions stolen and stashed away will advocate this end steadfastly – all mainly for own preservation now.
    Is a fallacy to Expect one to strive equally hard on one’s own two feet as against with given hand-out eg. RM 10 Million (now more eg. cowgate) / favoured eg.negotiated contract. Hence, we have the case where MaMak able to insult the Malays as to say they are lazy – is a case created by MaMak in the first place and by his ” ah nei-nei tnea ” actually poke them rear ended. REALLY ONE Big ” Ah Nei-Nei Tnea ” this MAMAK !
    (as irrespective of race is NOT the same once given handouts / favoured. The chinese has this – the fortune / business will be “depleted” comes third / fourth generation, in relation to this matter, in general.)
    This MaMak created “ill- effect syndrome” extended in with and depth at all levels, sectors, thinking of the Malays. (eg. Education – universities quotas, business sectors,,,,,,)
    MaMak if really care for the Malays would not give out all those Mykads to those “illegals” M’sian by the ridiculous numbers (over 800,000 !) simply like that AND now claimed this and later chicken-out not this, A PAR*AH most suitable apt word can think of.
    Is NOT sustainable in the first place, also !

16. #16 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 8 April 2013 - 10:11 am

Quite sensibly put.

This man may have hopped from one platform to another, one thing he is rather consistent up to now is that he has always maintained the need to change the present corrupt government.