7-Day Countdown to 13GE: MCA President most red-faced with dissolution of Parliament yesterday after he had told the world some 12 hours earlier that he felt “syok” Najib had confided in him that there was “plenty more time before GE13”

The MCA President, Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek must be the most red-faced man in Malaysia yesterday with the dissolution of Parliament as some 12 hours earlier, he had told the world that the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak had confided in him that there was “plenty more time before GE13”

Trying to impress MCA leaders and members as well as outsiders of his “intimate relationship” with the Prime Minister, he told party members at the launch of the 1,000-day MCA report card that he met Najib for the third round of meetings to finalise the list of election candidates on Monday and asked him how long more he had to provide new names for the candidates list.

Chua said Najib told him “there was still a lot more time”.

Chua said: “I don’t understand what he meant but I feel syok (good) that there is a lot more time.” (Malaysiakini)

I do not know whether Chua still feel syok or “soiled” with the dissolution of Parliament yesterday, as the whole episode shows the MCA President is suffering from a serious dual ailment of gullibility and denial complex.

Without privilege of access to the Prime Minister, I had told reporters in Gelang Patah on Tuesday that dissolution of Parliament on the next day of Wednesday was eminently likely for four reasons: the cancellation of Najib’s Umrah trip, the fourth anniversary of Najib’s premiership, Wednesday being Cabinet meeting when the Prime Minister would have a weekly audience with the Yang di Pertuan Agong and the announcement that the Barisan Nasional election manifesto would be made public on Saturday on April 6, an event which is normally held after dissolution of Parliament.

It is clear that the MCA President does not bulk large in the radar of the UMNO President, who clearly regarded Chua as totally irrelevant and insignificant in the larger UMNO/BN scheme of things, especially with regard to the impending 13GE life-and-death battle and who is never regarded as an equal among top BN leader!

This is why Najib fobbed off Chua’s query as when is the 13GE with a big lie about “a lot more time” when he had already made up his mind to dissolve Parliament two days later.

I do not think the first premier Tunku Abdul Rahman would have treated his contemporary MCA President Tun Siew Sin in so contemptuous and humiliating a manner.

Last Thursday on 28th March 2013, Datuk Wong Chun Wai, the MCA-owned daily, the Star, was dragooned to write a front-page comment piece in the Star declaring “No dissolution yet – 4 reasons why”, viz:

• Caretaker government cannot enter into agreements at Lima;

• Finishing touches to some projects and programmes;

• Barisan Nasional candidates’ list not finalised; and

• Impossible at the moment for politicians to campaign freely in Lahad Datu.

Wong’s four-reason justification for Najib’s feet-dragging on the dissolution of Parliament earned a well-deserved riposte “Four ‘good’ reasons, my foot” from S. Ambiga, Bersih co-chairman.

Why did the MCA President and the MCA-owned daily Star allow themselves to be trampled so shabbily by UMNO leaders and operatives?

I am tickled by Chua’s declaration that he will not contest against me in Gelang Patah parliamentary seat as “I’m no dictator to take on Kit Siang on a whim” (Malaysiakini April 2, 2013).

In the first place, I had never challenged Chua to contest against me in Gelang Patah. It was his own MCA stalwart, Pasir Gudang MCA division leader Tan Cher Puk who had instigated him to take me on in Gelang Patah to “raise the MCA’s morale”.

Secondly, Chua does not seem to know MCA history, for there were at least four MCA Presidents had “parachuted” into other constituencies to contest.

If he will just visit the MCA website, he will easily discover the shifting of constituencies of former MCA Presidents like Tan Sri Lee San Choon from Segamat Utara (1969), Segamat (1974/78) to Seremban (1982); Tan Koon Swan from Raub (1978) to Damansara (1982) and Gopeng (1986); Tan Sri Dr. Ling Liong Sik from Mata Kuching (1974/78) to Labis (1982- 1999); and Tan Sri Ong Ka Ting from Pontian (1990/94/99) to Tanjong Piai (2004) to Kulai (2008).

Or is Chua scolding Lee San Choon, Tan Koon Swan, Ling Liong Sik and Ong Ka Ting as a quartet of dictator-MCA Presidents?

However, Chua has undoubtedly created history for a MCA President in the 64-year history of the MCA – the first MCA President who has lost the power to decide whether he could stand as a candidate the the national general elections, as Najib must be convinced about his “winnability” and give his nod and approval before Chua could stand as a parliamentary candidate in the nation’s general elections.

Imagine a MCA President who the UMNO President dismisses as a candidate because of the lack or “winnability” – what a shame and humiliation!

This deplorable state of affairs would be totally unthinkable and unacceptable in the first 60 years of history of the MCA whether the party was headed by a President or Acting President –Tan Cheng Lock, Dr. Lim Chong Eu, Dr. Cheah Toon Lok (Acting Tan Siew Sin, Lee San Choon, Dr. Neo Yee Pan (Acting), Tan Koon Swan, Ling Liong Sik, Ong Ka Ting and Ong Tee Keat.

1. #1 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 2:06 pm

syok or sore?

Too much of syok-ness will turn into a feeling of numbness and finally sore-ness.

You know what i mean, soilek.

2. #2 by Loh on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 3:36 pm

///The Hindraf splinter under P Uthayakumar says they will field candidates in eight Selangor seats that are Pakatan strongholds.///–Malaysiakini

That may be part of Hindraf’s bargain with Najib. They will make sure that Indian votes will not go to Pakatan Rakyat though Indians will not vote BN. For that Hindraf leaders can become successful to bring pride to Indians just like UMNOputras bring pride to Malays by becoming fabulously rich.

3. #3 by Loh on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 3:38 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR, April 4 — Hit by graft allegations, Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud said today he will not co-operate with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) as he believes the government body to be “naughty” and “dishonest” in its investigations.///–MalaysianInsider

MACC should show Taib Mahmud that MACC does not serve during the pleasure of Taib. Taib cannot be above the law, and he should be brought to the building where TBH was to help in the investigation.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 3:43 pm

One could imagine the kind of cold relationship between MCA and UMNO when even Najib refused to reveal to Chua Soi Lek the timing for dissolving parliament.

5. #5 by Loh on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 3:53 pm

///“I’ll never dream of leaving Pekan,” Najib told reporters after the Umno and Barisan Nasional (BN) supreme council meetings at the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC) here.

“Politically speaking, I’ll live and die in Pekan. If he can leave Permatang Pauh, what is there to speak of his principles and loyalty?” added the Pekan MP.///–MalaysianInsider

We can understand why Najib stays put in Pekan. He cannot win elsewhere!

As PM Anwar can serve Permatang Pauh even if he is not a MP there. You should talk about service to Malaysians when you become PM. It is not you help me I help you mentality through vote buying, which is what loyalty meant to Najib.

• #6 by kg on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 6:57 pm

Check out Jibby’s ceramah attendance in Pekan chengho, Pas and Musidin are working hard to topple him in Pekan, Go tell your boss quick, Jibby will loose in Pekan, better change to new place la.

Work harder chengho, I won’t tell you next time.

6. #7 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 4:59 pm

This embarassment is not going to even come close when Najib out Ong Tee Keat as candidate in Pandan. It will be Sodomy III live staring CSL and Najib…

7. #8 by Loh on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 5:24 pm

Chua Soi Lek said that if MCA performs less well than in the 2008 GE, meaning if MCA has less than 15 MPs in GE 13, it will not be part of the government even if BN retains PutraJaya. Would CSL repeat those words or has he eaten them?

8. #9 by PR123 on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 6:31 pm

Both CSL & WCW are hypocrites.
    One whose reputation is tainted with sex video and the other an illogical writer.
    CSL only knows how to attack opposition, especially Penang CM, Lim Guan Eng with mordant criticism cos he is jealous.
    WCW is just a slave editor of Star. His job is to pen scurrilous remarks about opposition.

9. #10 by boh-liao on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 7:01 pm

PornoSnake kena snaked by Najis
    As expected, MCA goes back to its corrupt DNA n what it knows best: BUYING VOTES, paying out RM100 2 >60 years old 2 beg them 2 vote 4 MCA
    Now, surprise, surprise, semi value with his tipu synthetic hair offers himself as a sure-win MIC candidate

10. #11 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 7:08 pm

Even an ordinary UNMO B member see him no up ( think lowly of him). Not too long ago and during one UNMO B General Assembly, the UNMO B member shouted at CLS ” Ini bukan u punya hal. U jangan campur, Duduk dan diam diam ” Nobody spoke up for CLS, not even a meek protest by any of the Ma Hwa Kong Huey members.

11. #12 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 7:53 pm

Chua Syok Lek, see Angela yum yum lately? This general election we sure Syok see you go eat turd together with your eunuch generals.

12. #13 by Winston on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 8:15 pm

The coming GE will be another debacle for UMNO/BN.
    In fact, their highly paid public relations firms have a significant part to play in their defeat.
    These so-call experts in pr don’t seem to realise that the world today is a different place altogether.
    What with electronic news and connectivity readily available?
    So, when they keep bad-mouthing the opposition, everything just backfired on their client!!
    Because Malaysians have an alternative version to their misinformation.
    What’s even worse is their attempt to rehash their past crimes and try to hang them onto the PR!!!!!
    This act alone caused may previously staunch BN supporters to gravitate to the PR, thanks in no small part of their pr advisers!!!
    All in all, they are pulling the trigger on themselves!!!!
    Serves them right!!!!

13. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 8:38 pm

MCA needed the thickest skin ….slyest man with a malicious character..to be their President…and Chua Soi Lek fits in perfectly….since feeling no shame whatsoever being caught as a porn star….where the whole world saw him playing his tool.
    MCA already 3/4 dead after 12th GE.
    Chua Soi Lek is the most shameless puppet and shoe shine boy to Umno B in MCA history.
    Imagine him asking Malaysian Chinese not to be fooled by DAP.

14. #15 by cseng on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 9:38 pm

Only one way left for MCA, get some umno member to joint MCA, then sent them as MCA candidates. That is very winnable for selected seats. Porn actor does not know shame, does he?

How can stick your gun to whole m’sian, then you proclaimed to be the head of the commumity, it is very malu, malu, malu!

• #16 by kg on Friday, 5 April 2013 - 7:46 pm

chengho won’t agree UMNO member joining MCA, he believes in racist. Time to change chengho, still not to late.

15. #17 by good coolie on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 10:51 pm

Hah! Barisan fooled you din’t they? You Pakatan fellows thought there was “still a lot of time.” This shows that the PM and Dr. Chua have tricked you guys. Now they will hope for Pakatan to disintegrate.
    Already, Hindraf has cast a sinister shadow. I must tell Malaysians of Indian descent to reject them this elections because of their ambivalent attitude.

16. #18 by chengho on Friday, 5 April 2013 - 2:18 am

Vote for BN

17. #19 by Noble House on Friday, 5 April 2013 - 3:12 am

Loh ~ For Hindraf to contest in eight Pakatan seats in Selangor looks too ambitious to me. Where is the money coming from? Hindraf knew all along their best bets lie in PR alone to push their agenda through but for reasons of self-interests and pride, the leaders got carried away with their demands. UMNO is just a bargaining chip to save the day, nowhere any of those demands will be considered. When the chips are down it’s time to play the final card, which is, to drag everyone of us down with them. This is the real motive. Not the winning. Nevermind if the Indians get screwed for another 50 years. UMNO has got nothing to lose for they know there are not the ones to hit the bottom first. What can we speak of the Hindraf’s leaders?

18. #20 by Noble House on Friday, 5 April 2013 - 3:44 am

Err………CSL again? The less spoken the better. MCA is going nowhere but down.

19. #21 by gofortruth on Friday, 5 April 2013 - 4:42 am

UMNO treats MCA exactly like what they think it should be – their running DOGS. CSL is the lead dog waiting & begging for crumbs from his UMNO master. No more no less!