Najib’s pledge to respect people’s decision on transition of power, whether federal or state, commendable but it must be backed with deeds and not just empty slogans

The pledge by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak of a peaceful transition of power in the 13th General Elections, whether at the federal or state level, is most commendable.

I had many times in the past four years , both inside and ouside Parliament, asked Najib to make the public commitment that if Umno/Barisan Nasional loses the mandate to form the federal government in Putrajaya, he and UMNO/BN would accept the verdict of the electorate and would assume responsibility to ensure peaceful transition of power from the BN to Pakatan Rakyat government in Putrajaya.

Until today, however, Najib had evaded the subject.

Although Najib’s public commitment is very late in the making, it is better late than never and this is why I commend him for his pledge “to respect democracy” and “to respect the voice of the rakyat”.

Pakatan Rakyat on our part makes a similar commitment to respect the voice of the people in the 13th General Elections and peaceful transition of power, whether at federal or state level.

However, such commitments must be sincere and serious and must be backed up with deeds and not just be empty slogans, and this is why all political parties and leaders must act in conformity with their public commitments and pledges.

There are at least three areas which will put Najib’s commitment to respect the voice of the people and a peaceful transition of power to an immediate test, viz;

1. No political party or political leaders should use during the general election campaign the threat of May 13 riots or the fear of chaos and mayhem if another political party or candidate is elected.
  2. There must be a total halt to the politics of gangsterim which has been rearing their ugly heads in recent days. I witnessed myself the politics of gangsterism at the PKR ceramah in Kampung Melayu Majidee in Johor Baru where Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim announced the parliamentary candidature of a former four-star general, Tan Sri General Hashim Hussein, former army chief, for Johor Baru constituency.

There was a systematic and deplorable attempt by a group of UMNO and Perkasa elements out to cause disturbance and disruption of the PKR ceramah, which must be condemned in the strongest possible terms.

I call on Najib to condemn such politics of gangsterism as all political parties and candidates should be able to hold their ceramahs and public meetings to explain their policies and objectives to the voters without any disruption or sabotage from any quarter.

3. Pledge to conduct clean, honest and fair election campaign, without abuse of publlic resources and funds in keeping with the spirit and conventions of a caretaker government after the dissolution of Parliament.

For a start, the Barisan Nasional control of radio and television facilities should be terminated, and all the state radio and television channels should be run and operated by a caretaker administration to ensure fair and equal radio and television time for all contending parties, 24 hours a day and seven days a week and not just for 10 minutes.

1. #1 by kg on Wednesday, 3 April 2013 - 9:15 pm

Chengho, is Jibby serious?

2. #2 by chengho on Wednesday, 3 April 2013 - 9:27 pm

Najib knew , BN gonna win GE13 with thumping 2/3 majority.
    Pakatan must promise , do not listen to Anwar order , If Pakatan back to long boat to Permatan Pauh , you guy will respect the decision and becoming respectable opposition .
    If Pakatan still rule Penang and Kelantan behave like you are Gov state level eh.

3. #3 by kg on Wednesday, 3 April 2013 - 9:40 pm

No, PR will win Putra Jaya and 8 states. Your boss must do the janji di tepati then.

4. #4 by chengho on Wednesday, 3 April 2013 - 10:38 pm

Pas Taliban grassroot not with you anymore Pakatan , do ur mathematics now

• #5 by assamlaksa on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 11:26 am

Chengho is right this time, the “taliban” is no longer with Pakatan but has joined UMNO and Perkasa. What is left with PR is moderate PAS.

5. #6 by cseng on Wednesday, 3 April 2013 - 11:59 pm

Chengho if bn did not get 2/3 you potong telinga kanan or kiri? If bn get 2/3, I potong telinga kiri.

Deal?

6. #7 by kg on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 12:18 am

cseng, this will scare chengho away, where got fun then?

7. #8 by Noble House on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 3:32 am

Najib’s pledge to respect people’s decision on transition of power is, in my opinion, the first sensible statement he made since becoming the PM. Somehow, he had that worried look on his face which gives the impression that he may be throwing in the towel. Of whether this is just a precautionary statement directed at those to whom it may concern or taken as truth otherwise, it is left to be seen.

8. #9 by boh-liao on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 6:57 am

Most likely all incinerators ordered 2 b in ready mood during GE13 – 2 burn incriminating documents/evidence when GE13 results r announced
    Also, all digital files ready 2 b DELETED or hard disks REFORMATTED
    Of cos, ALL MY BAGS r packed n I’m ready 2 go ………. (this song heard fr d homes of UmnoB/BN kakis)

9. #10 by boh-liao on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 6:58 am

Most likely all incinerators ordered 2 b in ready mood during GE13 – 2 burn incriminating documents/evidence when GE13 results r announced

10. #11 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 8:47 am

We know of the internetwork. The world wide web of network wherefrom we got our news and info.

We also know of an alternative world wide network – the global network of longkangs, the gutter network.

No guessing needed but we all know where chengho got his info from.

• #12 by kg on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 6:12 pm

Cheng Ho is outdated, he is from Ming Dynasty.

11. #13 by PR123 on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 9:49 am

Najib’s role as PM for the last 4/5 years makes one wonder as to how sincere he will commit to his pledge. Remember the Perak ‘grab’ fiasco and Teoh Beng Hock’s case where he promised TBH’s parents “Leave no stone unturned”.

Najib is famous for :-
    You help me, i help you
    Making promises and mostly not fulfilling it (Janji dicapati)
    Lying blatantly, denying and when caught red handed, twist and turn (Saiful’s case)

Decision on the smooth transition of power is under Mahathir’s control and Najib will act according advice.

12. #14 by PR123 on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 9:50 am

Najib’s role as PM for the last 4/5 years makes one wonder as to how sincere he will commit to his pledge. Remember the Perak ‘grab’ fiasco and Teoh Beng Hock’s case where he promised TBH’s parents “Leave no stone unturned”.

Najib is famous for :-
    You help me, i help you
    Making promises and mostly not fulfilling it (Janji dicapati)
    Lying blatantly, denying and when caught red handed, twist and turn (Saiful’s case)

Decision on the smooth transition of power is under Mahathir’s control and Najib will act according to his advice.

13. #15 by on cheng on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 2:48 pm

First kris waver in public in Malaysia, and said kris will drink Chinese blood, year 1987 about ops lallang time, guess who??
    Can Mr Chengho answer?

14. #16 by john on Thursday, 4 April 2013 - 8:52 pm

Hello ! first go through what C4 had said before and checked against what being done – All BullSh*t, To HoodWink, Sandiwara.
    Even he admitted at the end, his ONE this-that All “Fu*ked” .
    Go HOLAN with his words.
    First, do not let him forget Altantuya, TBH, Scorpene, Cowgate,,,longest unelected,,,
    Ask him to account for these first !