THEIRS NOT TO REASON WHY, THEIRS BUT TO DO AND DIE

An ode to the brave police at Sabah
by Dr. Chen Man Hin

(In memory of the eight policemen who died in the line of duty on the beach at Sabah)

INTO THE LONELY SHORE AT SABAH
CAME THE SULU RAIDERS
WHO WERE ALLOWED TO ESCAPE INTO THE DARKNESS.
THEN CAME THE POLICE BRIGADE
INTO THE SCENE OF DEATH.
FORWARD THE POLICE BRIGADE
INTO LONELY VILLAGES.
FORWARD THE POLICE BRIGADE
THEIRS NOT TO MAKE REPLY
THEIRS NOT TO REASON WHY
THEIRS BUT TO DO AND DIE
WITHIN THE VILLAGES OF DEATH.
DID NOT EIGHT POLICE DIE?

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 1:16 pm

The Charge of the Light Brigade – Lord Tennyson

‘…..

“Forward, the Light Brigade!”
    Was there a man dismay’d?
    Not tho’ the soldier knew
    Someone had blunder’d:
    Theirs not to make reply,
    Theirs not to reason why,
    Theirs but to do and die:
    Into the valley of Death
    Rode the six hundred.

Cannon to right of them,
    Cannon to left of them,
    Cannon in front of them
    Volley’d and thunder’d;
    Storm’d at with shot and shell,
    Boldly they rode and well,
    Into the jaws of Death,
    Into the mouth of Hell
    Rode the six hundred.

…’

Any similarities with Lahad Datu ?

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 2:46 pm

We are better. We have kerismuddin bin lembuddin – “the lahad datu tourist in binoculars”.

3. #3 by 1citizen on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 2:46 pm

Poem similar to Lord Tennyson – The Charge of the Light Brigade” which coincidentally just finished watching an old classic movie starring Errol Flynn -“Charge of the Light Brigade”… :)

4. #4 by cseng on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 6:43 pm

Wow!

From long winded article (LKS style), into 1 page pictorial messages (Martin style), now into poem… what next?

If Najib stays for another 5 yrs… LKS blog is more than political blog, way to go!

5. #5 by Loh on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 7:36 pm

For reading pleasure:

///A “Tribute” to Dr M
    By Andrew Cheng
    A Doctor In The House wry and sly,
    The Malay Dilemma you feign to cry,
    Soon after the tragedy in May 69,
    Rising from the ashes you became mighty and high,
    A good 22 years you reign in style,
    Shedding crocodile tears when time to say good bye.
    A crooked man with a crooked mind,
    Wanted a crooked bridge, the rationale hard to find,
    Billions vanished without any trace or sign,
    Plundering the country is never a crime,
    Corruption, cronyism and racialism, all are fine,
    Leaving this beloved Bolehland way far behind.
    Ketuanan Melayu, Hidup Melayu is your battle cry,
    You scream all these to cover your deception and lie(s),
    Many saw these but pretend to be blind,
    Mercy upon those who do not toe your line,
    Know not why you lose your memory when in a bind,
    Another intelligent devil like you we hope not to find.///

6. #6 by chengho on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 8:20 pm

Dapter talk only , go to front line dude , throw your dvd and cigar come to Lahat Datu.

7. #7 by monsterball on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 9:34 pm

ABCD

8. #8 by monsterball on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 9:37 pm

Has Chengho ever been to Lahat Datu?
    I think he will pee in his pants…when he hears gun shots.

9. #9 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Thursday, 14 March 2013 - 9:49 pm

umnoputra tokok, join the front line, leave your money, keris, perempuan and go to lahat datu

10. #10 by john on Saturday, 16 March 2013 - 5:33 pm

Hey DumbHo you first have to climb out of the Dumpster, don’t come near LD to pollute.
    Our men in arms can act appropriately if not for ONE C4 , a MMKutty celup and ONE MaMak Kutty – scr*wed up and Tokok only.