30-Day Countdown to 13GE – Open Letter to Najib proposing Cabinet decision tomorrow to convene special Parliamentary session within a week on Sabah Sulu crisis

I am today issuing this Open Letter to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak:

“YAB Datuk Seri Najib Razak,
Prime Minister,
Malaysia.

YAB Datuk Seri,

Cabinet decision tomorrow to convene special Parliamentary session within a week on Sabah Sulu crisis to condemn cruel, inhuman and barbaric killing of Malaysian policemen by Sulu terrorists and call to Philippines Government to officially drop all claims to Sabah
———————————————————————————————————

I am still reeling from shock, horror and revulsion from the Chinese media reports yesterday about the cruel, inhuman and barbaric killings of Malaysian policemen by Sulu terrorists in the water village, Kampung Simunul in Semporna on March 2 as revealed by the Defence Minister Datuk Seri Dr. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi in Ipoh on Sunday – sadistic and savage atrocities like cutting off of fingers, ripping of eyes and beheading when our fallen heroes in Semporna were still alive.

To my knowledge, this is the first time there is official confirmation of such unspeakable atrocities committed by the Sulu terrorists against members of our security forces in Semporna although there had been rumours and later confirmation of uncivilized mutilation and beheading of corpses .

I am addressing this Open Letter to you to urge the Cabinet tomorrow to take an decision of great national importance – to convene a special session of Parliament as the eight fallen national heroes from the police forces in Lahad Datu and Semporna, as well as all the security forces personnel who had suffered injury in the Sabah Sulu crisis, deserve no less than a fulsome tribute and recognition from all Ministers and Parliamentarians, regardless of political party, race, religion or region, in a special Parliamentary session.

On 12th January last year, a special Parliamentary session was convened where all MPs condemned in unison the Israeli atrocities on Palestinians in the Gaza.

YAB Prime Minister’s Cabinet and the 12th Parliament will be seriously remiss in their duties if they are not equally prepared to convene a special Parliamentary session to condemn the atrocities on the Malaysian security forces by Sulu terrorists in Lahad Datu and Semporna.

Last Monday, Pakatan Rakyat leaders, namely Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, Datuk Seri Hadi Awang and myself in a joint statement on behalf of PKR, PAS and DAP had called for an emergency meeting of Parliament over the Sabah Sulu crisis.

Although later the day, I had asked the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, when we appeared at the same panel at an international conference, to advise the Prime Minister on the issue as he is also Minister in charge of parliamentary affairs, it is most regrettable that not a single Minister thought the subject important enough to be raised in the Cabinet last Wednesday.

I hope the Ministers will not be equally remiss at the Cabinet tomorrow tomorrow in refusing to discuss and decide on a special Parliamentary session on the Sabah Sulu crisis, or they should explain to the people, especially Sabahans and the security forces who have to bear the brunt of the dastardly and barbaric acts of the Sulu terrorists, why the Cabinet does not think the issue important enough to deserve the convening of a special meeting of Parliament.

The special Parliamentary session should be convened within a week, unless YAB proposes to dissolve Parliament for the holding of the 13th General Elections before 19th March 2013.

The special Parliamentary meeting should adopt an unanimous resolution on the Sabah Sulu crisis on at least six points, viz:

• Give full support to the security forces to take all necessary measures to protect the national sovereignty and the security of the people of Sabah and security personnel ;

• Pay tribute to the eight fallen heroes from the police forces in the shoot-outs with Sulu terrorists in Lahad Datu and Semporna;

• Set up a special foundation to look after the welfare of their surviving family and children, including life-long education to university level for the children of the fallen heroes;

• Condemn in the strongest possible terms the atrocities and the cruel, inhuman, uncivilized and barbaric killing of the fallen heroes in Semporna by Sulu terrorists and to invoke national and international censure of such bestial conduct to bring to justice the inhuman killers;

• Resolve an immediate halt of the annual “cession payment” of RM5,300 to the self-proclaimed heir of the Sulu Sultanate; and

• Call on Philippines Government to demonstrate ASEAN spirit and solidarity by officially dropping all claims to Sabah.

Thank you.
Yours truly,

Lim Kit Siang
(DAP Parliamentary Leader/MP Ipoh Timor)”

1. #1 by john on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 2:11 pm

NOW, ” Will He Or Will He Not ? ” the question.
    IF, YES – For once above Politics / Umno/bn.
    Only Concern Nation’s Interest (Security)
    NO ? – Oooh, GE pending must see how,
    whether, how again,,,if this, then, so,,,
    OR , let me ask Rosmak first ;
    see what move/any sign from MMKutty ;
    heh, see what Kris, Moo, Tim, Cowgirl,,, all;
    no la, better just keep diam-diam;
    heh late already for My Special HOODWINK /
    Go Holan Trip Conversation On TVs !
    Yeh, let Nasi handle Kit, kacang Lucky here
    in BolehLand – everything senang kotim.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 2:16 pm

Going by Najib’s schedule that has been revealed, Sabah is already on the back-burner. Essentially the GE has started and Najib has doubled the campaigning activities. We are in General Election in substantive term whenever the actual one is declared and conducted is immaterial..

My sense is that the official campaign period for GE will be very short – I would not be surprise it won’t even be a week. No way Najib is going to let PR built momentum with a decent campaign period..

3. #3 by monsterball on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 2:21 pm

Military and Police are no celebrating the good news in salaries increment….perhaps…until they see the real thing? Talk is cheap.
    And Govt. servants also get increments in July.
    All these are promised my PR when they take over PutraJaya……and the Malaysia Caretaker simply…copy.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 3:28 pm

For the sake of the country, Najib should rise above political rivalry and engage with the Opposition to see what they have to offer in solving the Sabah Sulu crisis.

5. #5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 4:33 pm

Now Najib has to hire some consultants to evaluate how his chances at the GE will be affected by the Sabah debacle.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 6:18 pm

YB Lim Kit Siang
    (DAP Parliamentary Leader/MP Ipoh Timor)

My dear, dear Mr Lim,

Re: Your Open Letter

Thank you for your Open Letter and your weekly suggestions as to the agenda for my weekly Cabinet Meetings.

I repeat my stance that I am always willing to hear, read, speak, jump and do whatever other bodily functions but I am not obliged to do anything that does not benefit me, my party, my cronies and my government.

I suggest you raise your wishes, desires, rants, suggestions or whatever else you have for me or want me to do (that I won’t) at YOUR daily, weekly, monthly SHADOW Cabinet Meetings so that they can do, if they can, whatever that is necessary.

My colleagues and I will sit and watch you all twitch, twist and squirm.

I am, as usual, always unavailable to assist you as my calender is rather full due to my 1Malaysia, Transformational, Mission Accomplished, Mumbo Jumbo Nation-wide Tour and Cinema Shows.

Rosmah sends her best wishes.

Do have tea with us some time, say December 2020.

Nambikei.

Haji Najib Tun Razak
    Crime Sinister
    1Malaysia

7. #7 by chengho on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 10:27 pm

you need Bush attitude to face the war