Two M’sians among 12 killed in Lahad Datu

From fb

Tweets:

1. Most shocking at death of 2 police cammandoes n 2 injured. http://goo.gl/YMnkq 2 M’sians among 12 killed in Lahad Datu (Mkini)

2. Death of two police commandoes unacceptable as Msian police enjoy superior security strength/logistics. Hisham also told press conference today “no deaths”

(From Malaysiakini) A spokesperson of the sultanate of Sulu claimed that 10 people were killed and four others wounded in a exchange of fire between Malaysian security forces and the Sulu sultanate intruders in Lahad Datu this morning.

Meanwhile, Bernama reported that two Malaysian police commandoes were killed in a mortar attack, and that another two injured soldiers have since been airlifted to a hospital.

ABS-CBNnews reported that Sulu sultanate spokesperson Abraham Idjirani said he had just talked to the self-proclaimed Sulu sultan Jamalul Kiram’s (left) brother Azzimudie Kiram, who heads the armed group in Lahad Datu.

Azzimudie confirmed that 10 of his men were killed and four others wounded in the shooting incident.

“He saw the bodies himself,” Idjirani told a press conference in Manila.

“The fatalities included one woman.”

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 4:01 pm

Say Bye-Bye to Sabah, Barisan Nasional

2. #2 by Dap man on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 4:20 pm

BN has messed up Sabah. Wonder how many insurgents are masquerading as citizens in the state.
    Is this a prelude to more violence during the GE in Sabah? Hope not.

• #3 by cemerlang on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 11:44 pm

They do not just masquerade. They are allowed to come in and out as they please. In fact, not just in Malaysia. If you keep quiet, who knows if you are a Malaysian, a Singaporean, an Indonesian, a Filipino, a Bruneian, a Thai; in fact, all Asians look similar. And if a pirate looks like a Malaysian, sounds like a Malaysian, talks like a Malaysian, you wouldn’t know he is a pirate. With this incident, the Home security ministry should work even harder. All the historical treaties; the ones that are hanging, the ones with no clear cut decisions; somebody must take those up and clear all the uncertainties once and for all. This Sulu Sultan actually believes that it is his rightful gift.

3. #4 by SENGLANG on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 4:52 pm

If NAjib handle the current Sabah incident well that will hand in handsome of votes come the next GE. It is much much better engaging PSY. The ball is on Najib and it is a penalty kick. It is up to Najib to kick it softly and with full force.

4. #5 by rjbeee on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 4:56 pm

2 died, what type of police we have, can even fight unprofessionals, Hishammuddin looks your time is up…..

5. #6 by monsterball on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 5:28 pm

What kind of a PM is Najib?
    2 Malaysians killed…not one word spoken.
    I guess he is suffering from “killing” phobia.
    He is only interested in fooling voters.

6. #7 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 5:52 pm

My condolence to the two who sacrificed themselves in protecting the king, the people and the sovereignty of the nation.

Jib, even a single death is considered one too many!

7. #8 by rjbeee on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 5:52 pm

Sabahans think now what this rats can do for you..Can”t even fight have baked intruders..
    To much money has being made …

8. #9 by Loh on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 5:56 pm

This is a crisis. In a crisis there is opportunity. Najib may just declare a state of emergency for Malaysia and GE 13 indefinitely postponed even if it is automatically dissolved on 28 April 2013

9. #10 by monsterball on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 6:14 pm

Najib is hoping to declare Emergency Rule for months….but the stand off at Sabah with 2 Malaysians killed in a combat..not good reasons.
    It must be cars…houses…burnt…fights at streets….man-in the streets get hurt or killed..and for that …he can go on dreaming.
    His frogs have done their worst….with no results.

10. #11 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 6:42 pm

The only emergency i can now see is squarely upon jib & gang + umno & crooks.

The incident is far too localised for jib to declare a nationwide emergency.

Yet, since sabah is one mighty important state to umno, jib would surely stand to lose a great deal if election is called now. Sabahans will react adversely. Peninsular ppl is likely to react adversely as well.

So umno, you are in a real mess. You are fried chicken man!

11. #12 by Dap man on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 6:57 pm

How easily insurgent walk into our territory and kill our policemen. Compare the way police treat these intruders and the Bersih participants.

12. #13 by Cinapek on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 7:36 pm

The question on everyone’s mind is:

1) How did 200 armed men arrive in Lahad Datu without being detected. Is our coastline so porous and our security so lax?
    2) Why would the armed intruders fired first (according to our Home Minister). Surely they are not that stupid not to realise the vastly superiority of the Malaysian security units in terms of arms and manpower? Are they on a suicide mission with women and children?

I think their arrival in Lahad Datu were not detected is because they have been here all along as part of the Project IC arrivals. They are “sleepers” ready to be activated once the signal is given. As for firing first perhaps that was a signal for the other “sleepers” to arise and launch a simultaneous attack?

13. #14 by good coolie on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 10:52 pm

Time for all Malaysians to support our armed forces . It was a storm in a tea-cup until the Sulu fellows killed our people. Now things are different. Could we stop politicising this whole thing?

14. #15 by Cinapek on Friday, 1 March 2013 - 11:19 pm

Just read a Bernama report of a press statement by Sabah Police Commssioner on what really happened i.e. that the 12 Sulu intruders killed were in a small group trying to break out of a police cordon and in doing so ran into a police patrol . The intruders opened fire on the police first and in the ensuing gun battle 12 Sulu men and three policemen were killed.

To the policemen killed, my deepest condolences to their families. But to the others still on duty there, please be very careful because the standoff is not over yet as many have made it out to be. There are still more than a hundred of the intruders who are still in the standoff and anything could still happen. The Govt should not let the intruders take the initiative as happened in this skirmish which caused the lives of three of our security forces. We should take the initiative to end this firmly before more lives are lost unnecessarily.

As for the report that the Philipines Govt has a ship on standby to take these people home, that should not be allowed to happen. These people came to our country and killed our security forces and hence must be dealt with according to our laws. If we can charge Somali pirates for murder when they fired on our sailors on Malaysian registered ships, we should take equally firm action against these intruders in order to send a strong message to future copycats.

15. #16 by Noble House on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 3:06 am

Whatever it is the government plans to do, it is my hope that the lives of our security forces are not being compromised. Considering that we have all the strategic as well as the logistic advantages, the death of our men were most unfortunate. I see this as a wrong tactical move. My deepest condolences to the families of our fallen heroes.

16. #17 by yhsiew on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 3:58 am

Sabah stand-off ‘turns deadly’ as clashes break out

@@http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-21628758

17. #18 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 8:35 am

Now d old crook who invited foreigners 2 Sabah 2 receive blue IC is crying “Border security must b tightened”
    Cukup lah, MMK, U know, we know, OK

18. #19 by digard on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 9:09 am

Loss of life is always a sad moment. My condolences go to the families of all killed people, including the killed Philippines.

Nobody has deserved to die on March 1st in Lahad Datu. Now my comment not written yesterday is late. I was disgusted to read that 2 groups of three Malaysian troopers each had actually been running from some of the intruders (the precise formulation has slipped my mind since then). So yesterday it looked like some of the intruders had taken up their arms and started to shoot at the Malaysians; and those, in turn, had been running for cover??!!??
    To me, that was a very bad omen for things to come. Not that I was for the use of arms on either side; but I was sure that the Malaysians would know how to protect themselves, and react on a possible start of shootings in a well-prepared manner. OMG, after those days if not weeks they had had plenty of time to prepare for the worst; defensive as well as offensive strategies.
    And the best that they could muster yesterday was cowardly running for cover?? No wonder, should the news of today be correct that the intruders started the shoot-out! One is tempted to ask, why the intruders should not start today, after the Malaysians demonstrated so vividly yesterday their lack of any preparedness to counter any use of arms immediately and decisively.
    Sad, sad, sad. It is only a rag-tag army of 200 people, with rusty shotguns and on Malaysian soil. And the Royal Army Corps (or whatever it is called) cannot simply prevent them from shooting, hitting, injuring and even killing Malaysians?
    What a perspective … :(
    First, the Malaysian border patrol cannot prevent 200 rag-tag soldiers from entering Malaysian ground; and then the Malaysian army cannot control the activities and protect the Malaysian soldiers and hit back hard?

19. #20 by Winston on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 9:45 am

Well, well, well.
    First thing first!!!
    Before proceding, have someone on the ground to check the veracity of the whole story.
    Given the shaky grounds of UMNO/BN in the coming GE13, there’s nothing in this world that they wouldn’t do.
    Confirm the whole thing is not a hoax and could be used as an excuse to change the course of the coming GE.

20. #21 by St Peter on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 1:06 pm

Too bad! Our police are trained to counter demonstrators only, Kerismuddin didn’t train them to counter terrorists!

21. #22 by sotong on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 5:25 pm

It all started with Project ICs.

Millions of illegal are already in the state/country, some are terrorists and extremists, making this matter complex affecting long term national security for generations to come.

Meanwhile….traitors of the Project ICs are free.

22. #23 by Winston on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 10:20 pm

Manila probes Malaysian Opposition hand in instigating Sulu heirs – End of quote

So, this is what it all boils down to?

• #24 by cemerlang on Saturday, 2 March 2013 - 11:29 pm

At the expense of human lives. Using human lives to achive one’s goals. Their souls will be turning and tossing now that they know the real reason why they died.