Efforts by the state to make the minorities halal

CPI Introduction

One of our readers sent this lament from an anonymous source of the way in which the racial factor works in this country and has been exploited by those that wield power. Although it may be read as an alarmist, biased and exaggerated analysis of how racial and religious dynamics are pushing the country towards a downward spiral, it does provide food for thought.

We have left out its most contentious parts lest we be accused of attempting to stoke racial sentiments and intolerance. It is an article which, however unpleasant to read, reflects many of the feelings at the ground level of the country’s marginalized communities, and which politics and policies have disappointed to a dangerously pessimistic degree.

Even if our body politic is not afflicted by a life-threatening cancerous growth as alleged by our anonymous writer, the cure for the country’s numerous boils and abscesses is to lance them, drain the contaminated pus and clean the wound. The country desperately awaits leaders who can heal rather than compound the damage to our citizenry.

Citizens to Pendatangs – Frogs on a slow boil
By Ice Cream Seller | Tuesday, 12 February 2013 09:13

I am no science buff but remember reading about putting frogs in cold water and then slowly putting the water to boil. The frogs (unlike the Perak species) will die as they will be unaware of the change in temperature that will ultimately prove fatal.

Dear Malaysian brethren of whatever ilk, we will suffer the same fate as the innocent frogs if we let the country spiral to another Iran or Pakistan.

I am – in today’s parlance – a 3rd generation pendatang. Let’s call it Genpentiga (Generasi Pendatang Tiga). I suppose it can’t be that bad when a Genpendua became PM for 22 years. But then he metamorphosed into a Malay and cut his Indian roots only to go back to Kerala recently to see if there were any offshoots, I suppose, or perhaps some trait of mortality dictated that he visit his roots in his autumn days.

I look at my children Genpenempat and wonder what place they have left under our sun. Should I leave them in the water where they are comfortable or kick them out of their ‘comfort water’? Old frogs like me might as well die in the Malaysian water anyway; we are fast reaching our sell-by date.

I would like to share, if I may, some developments and events that have brought me to this juncture and by doing so, hope that the Genpenempat open their eyes wider and see beyond what meets the eye. These are in no order of priority but illustrate the point to me nonetheless.

Fuad Stephens

I am no East Malaysian but I remember how he perished in a plane crash with a few others. What if his plane was sabotaged? What would have been if this did not happen? Would Sabah be the same as it is today, with millions of new Malaysians? Would he have stood up to the shenanigans in KL? Would Sabah be 1/4 partner in Malaysia together with the Malaya, Singapore and Sarawak instead of being colonised into 1/13 and be submissive to Putrajaya? Would Malaysia be the same today?

Perak heist

What played out in the ‘transfer’ back to BN control opened my eyes as to what could happen on a Federal level. If the elected Speaker can be literally dragged out of his seat, what is there to suggest they can’t drag you out of your house? Remember, you are a PENDATANG. Of course, his replacement could not be a Malay so they had to get another pendatang to be the puppet to try and even the score. The new Menteri Besar is also a pendatang but he has the right qualification as PM Genpendua if you get my drift.

Selangor

The goings on currently in Selangor mirror Perak to some degree. The previous Menteri Besar, also a Genpendua but with the deemed suitable qualifications, ran the administration like a bandit in Java but still has not been brought to the 14th floor in Shah Alam to coerce some information from him about how he managed to have such a successful dental practice to be able to own a palace bigger than what he could have seen in Java.

Teoh Beng Hock

Pendatangs beware. If your children are getting married soon, even the next day, keep them under house arrest for their own safety. Every time my kids go out, we worry till they are back safe. If you work for the ‘wrong’ boss, it could cost you your life. But then, if you work for the ‘right’ boss, you may save your life and yet lose your soul. So pendatangs, choose between your life and your soul.

Kugan

I ask myself if the same fate would have been met if it was someone with a fairer complexion or at least the same ‘qualification’ as the ex-MB of the same state in which he died. Kugan and his type are today seen as an inconvenience, pests, scroungers and lately even christened “pariahs”. I suspect Kugan had deeper roots in Malaysia than the ex-MB. Whatever wrong he may have done, the video clips of his relatives barging into the mortuary and the outpouring of anguish left a lasting impression.

In the same vein, when one of my staff was killed in a motor accident, the records at the mortuary showed that the cause of death was “mabuk”. He was a teetotaller. On my insistence and with the timely arrival of the foreign pathologist who was employed there, the records were corrected. Just because he was of Indian origin, it was felt apt to put in “mabuk”!

History syllabus

In the school that I went to (Victoria Institution), we were taught history only till Form 3 unless you did Arts in Forms 4 and 5. My children were both Science stream students till Form 5 but they had to do History. I had a peek at their textbooks; seems like History has changed a fair bit.

They are fed rubbish, to put it mildly. It is His Story as told and imagined by a few bigots. My daughter’s book had an image of a Sikh with a turban but with the description Orang Bengali! Don’t they know that Bengalis are from Bengal and Sikhs are Punjabis from Punjab ?

I suppose this is to be expected when many wear the mantle of ‘Malay’ despite coming from all corners of Asia. They have tried to lose trace of where they originate. Turks, Arabs, Chinese, Indians, Pakistanis, Bangladeshis, Cambodians, Thais are all re-badged Malays. We now await the Africans, Caucasians and Eskimos to join ranks and be members of Umno Baru. A relative of Obama might yet lead Malaysia .

SPM answer scripts (I laugh so loud on this…)

When my children sat for their SPM examinations a few years ago, they had to tick a box to indicate if they were Muslim or not. Was it because they were in need of divine intervention in the event they are not Muslim? Or were the scripts marked according to whether they were halal or not?

Matriculation courses

It is widely accepted that the successor to the HSC, the STPM, is a tough examination. But stroll into an STPM class and you will observe that the Bumi students are conspicuously less. They are doing matriculation which we are led to believe is on par with STPM for entry to local universities.

Genpempat are likewise conspicuously less in matriculation courses. The intakes to universities are then claimed to be on merit despite being based on different examinations. With all this, how does one unify a nation?

Allah

The very fact that there is an attempt to copyright this word shows acute insecurity. In Pakistan, I was greeted withAssalammulaikum during my work visits there. To them, it was just being polite and civil. Here, it becomes “confusing” and threatening. The fact that the Catholic Church won a High Court case in this matter only to have it appealed with no hearing date in sight illustrates the insecurity and illuminates the deceit of the authorities.

Sabah

When they joined to form Malaysia, little did they realise that this majority Christian state was going to be swamped by aliens to the extent that the aliens outnumber the natives. The flushing in of these aliens over a concentrated period of time had a very sinister motive. Pendatangs should always be conscious of this. In Malay I call it niat jahat. The parallel that comes to mind for me is Ali Jinnah and his actions in carving out Pakistan (history as I learned many, many years after leaving school) from pre-independence India. Till today, Pakistan knows no peace for a sustained time.

Judiciary

The man in the street seeks justice on earth in the courts. Our judicial system simply fails the test on perception alone. Our history books as they stand are not going to record how this institution degenerated into the sewers by the actions of one man principally. The Attorney General has an image problem (and I am not referring to his face). The Chief Justice is supposed to be on record as having admitted to bribing clerks or junior staff to get things moving during his time as a lawyer. Add to that he was an Umno member. Pendatang, do you see the writing on the wall?

Scaling Mt Everest

Two of the mountaineers who reached the summit were of Indian origin. Rumour has it that the premier at the time was dismayed that the expedition leader couldn’t be there instead due to blisters on his feet. The injured leader however, never begrudged them and shared in the joy of the conquest.

One of the two mountaineers has since died and his widow is still bewildered over the snatching of his body on claims that her husband had masuk Islam. Pendatang, when you die, your wife may be subject to so many hassles you wonder if it was worth conquering Everest. Your carcass is more important than your conquest.
(I use the term “carcass” deliberately.)

Jail for Lim Guan Eng

This Pendatang is now a Chief Minister and doing a damn good job in between ducking attacks from Utusan and Umno and their stooges. But remember he went to jail for speaking up for a victim of rape. From a perverse point of view, was it because he was a Pendatang and the alleged perpetrator was not? Pity there wasn’t Wikileaks then.

Cow head incident

Blatant, flagrant, insulting. But not as dangerous as a candlelight vigil with women taking part. Whilst the cow’s head went on display in Shah Alam, the Home Minister went on display to show the cow brains over television. That the police allowed them to bring it all the way to the MB’s office gate shows their partiality as far as I am concerned. Mark this episode, Pendatangs.

Rela

Malaysia’s own fifth column. Just observe how they move about like uniformed thug especially when raiding foreign workers’ quarters. They are just insecure bullies garbed in state sponsored uniforms. Many are not in it for love of country. More for love of money from extortions. Close parallel to what exists in Iran. Ideal source for extra judicial activities, so Pendatangs, be wary. Also progressive/liberal/moderate Muslims need to be aware. Again, just like what happened over the years in Iran and Pakistan.

Proton

A car I have vowed never to buy for what it represents. Aggregate all the money to protect this deity, we could have used the same to fund a decent public transport system in the country. Like others taken for a ride, I beamed with ‘pride’ when the first car was launched. Now, it has become a mirror of the NEP implementation –

overpriced, under-performing, waste of resources. I suspect the hidden agenda behind this project was to have a halal car.

Buka puasa

My Muslim friends tell me that buka puasa is a time to have a simple meal to break the fast. What we are having on display is an orgy of gluttony. Tables in hotels overflow onto passageways and corridors for this time of year. And many a time, the host of a table is a Pendatang. The guests come sometimes shamelessly comparing the offerings at different hotels in front of their paying hosts. Is there any meaning left in this supposedly holy month?

Ivory Coast

The person clinging to power in the Ivory Coast – at great cost to his country – is giving us a taste of what can happen in Malaysia. Please pay attention to what Laurent Gbagbo does. The same ingredients are here. Umno will take heart from him, from the Burmese Junta, from Mahinda Rajapaksa in Sri Lanka, from Robert Mugabe in Zimbabwe.

For Ibrahim Ali, these are angels sent from heaven and will be given honorary Perkasa membership.

Legacy of Mahathir

There is no denying his intellect. Unfortunately, I will remember him as the person who singularly destroyed what Malaysia was to me. No need to elucidate – it is there for all to see.

The Malaysia as I knew and loved is no more. It died a slow death after battling cancer for 22 years but is there hope for resurrection in the horizon not for me but for Genpempat?

* The write-up above had earlier appeared in Malaysia Today on 10 Jan 2011.*

1. #1 by Evenmind on Thursday, 14 February 2013 - 3:05 pm

Nicely said, well summed up . Country has been run by tyrants, well equipped with dirty money, C 4s , the only goal is to enrich themselves and the cronies. Worst than any living or dead parasites. All I have heard from young days has been bumi bukan bumi, Islam bukan Islam, and now Allah saya punya. Stone Age living would have been much better. We don’t have a choice, get rid of BN so that we can once again live humanely as undivided people, not segregated according to BNs racial profiling. Right now satu Malaysia is just a farce, fairy tale just to score votes

2. #2 by Loh on Thursday, 14 February 2013 - 5:40 pm

///CLegacy of Mahathir

There is no denying his intellect. Unfortunately, I will remember him as the person who singularly destroyed what Malaysia was to me. No need to elucidate – it is there for all to see.///–the author

Except on the assessment of Mamakthir’s intellect, well said.

Mamakthir is cunning but his cannot be more intelligent than King Ghaz of his time, or even Tengku Razaleigh. But Mamakthir cunningly cut off those more decent persons in UMNO and eventually, became the one-eye king in the kingdom of the blind.

Tun Razak made two fatal mistakes, one as a racist, and the more serious one in readmitting Mamakthir into UMNO. Najib followed his father in making another fatal mistake in admitting Mamak’s son as a deputy minister, despite him losing the UMNO youth position when the elected Chief was left out in the cold. That makes Mamakthir think that he might still live to see his son taking over from Najib, and thus avoiding Anwar. Father and son make the same mistake for the benefit of another pair of father and son; does stupidity run in the family? Why should Malaysians pay for the stupidity of one family?

3. #3 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 14 February 2013 - 6:08 pm

MonsterO’mamak!

4. #4 by good coolie on Thursday, 14 February 2013 - 6:22 pm

What about the race whose women folk came to Malaysia to prostitute themselves? What about the kaki-botol who is only good at climbing up and down steps (at a cave presumably).
    Sir/Madam Ice Cream Seller, have you forgotten the other two B’s – Bible and Baby snatching?
    The Chosen One was wont to say, “Melayu mudah lupa”. I say that with all the pre-election goodies and foodies thrown at Malaysians, “Malaysia mudah lupa” pun, Tun.

5. #5 by rjbeee on Thursday, 14 February 2013 - 8:53 pm

Well said Mr Ice cream, Mamak Tongkang days are numbered, hoping for a publicx holiday…hehehehe

6. #6 by Noble House on Friday, 15 February 2013 - 3:47 am

So much have been said by so many of the evils that one man could have done to the country he ruled for 22 years; that he has so much become a curse to the nation which he continues to helm by proxy even still today. There is only one way for Malaysians to stop this country from self-destruction……..Get rid of UMNO Baru!