Sabah churches demand action against anti-Christian frenzy

— Bob Teoh
Jan 24, 2013

JAN 24 — Sabah churches want the government to act decisively against the latest round of anti-Christian frenzy.

“We see the increasingly provocative attacks against the Malay-language bible — Alkitab — by certain quarters as a direct attack on the rights of Bumiputera Christians in Sabah to religious freedom as enshrined in both the Sabah and the Federal Constitution,” Rev Datuk Jerry Dusing, chairman of the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship Commission of Sabah Affairs (NECF COSA) said.

“We, therefore, urge the authorities to act immediately against such groups and individuals to the full extent of the law before the anti-Christian frenzy gets out of hand,” he said in a statement.

Dusing said it must be remembered that Sabah has always enjoyed complete religious freedom since time immemorial. Sabah was guaranteed certain safeguards known as the 20-points as a condition for the formation of Malaysia. It is no coincidence that the first of these twenty points pertains to religious freedom.

He also said the majority of Christians in Malaysia are Malay speaking Bumiputeras mainly in Sabah and Sarawak whose use the Alkitab as their Bible for their liturgy and devotional reading.

As many East Malaysians are working or studying Peninsular Malaysia, the Alkitab is also extensively used by them over there. Any attack on the Alkitab is an affront to their faith and religious liberty.

“We now see our religious freedom yet again under threat as the anti-Christian frenzy threatens to get out of hand. A right wing Malay group has even called for bibles, including the Alkitab, to be seized and burned. This is irresponsible and incendiary hate speech,” said.

Although he did not name the group, he was referring to Perkasa which made the threat three days ago.

The statement also said another Muslim group (Pembela) has also called for the halt to the printing of the Alkitab. It added that indeed, it was the Cabinet itself that decided in 2011 to allow for the continued printing and distribution of the Alkitab as part of its so-called 10-point solution to the Allah controversy.

“This is another attempt to deprive Bumiputera Christians of their Holy Scriptures,” the statement said.

NECF COSA also highlighted the call for a ban on the distribution of the Alkitab in public universities and said it must be remembered there are many Bumiputera Christians from East Malaysia studying and teaching in such universities.

“They use the Alkitab as their personal Bibles. This Alkitab ban only serves to deprive Bumiputera Christians their right to their Holy Scriptures. This very right is fundamental to religious freedom,” it said.

The statement said if such unwarranted provocation against Bumiputera Christians are left unchecked it militates against the very concept of 1 Malaysia of putting people first.

“It is time for such promises to be fulfilled. Otherwise, we may to turn out to be a nation divided by religious hatred perpetrated by irresponsible elements. There is no place for such extremists in our beloved homeland,” it added. — mysinchew.com

1. #1 by yhsiew on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 8:05 am

I am not at all surprised if BN loses Sabah (safe deposit) in GE13.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 8:24 am

Its not about religion. Its about LUNACY and LUNATICS.

Think about it. Why suddenly they have upped the ante? Because, some people including a very hated one by them, responded to Najib’s Christmas message.

ONLY SCHIZOPHRENIC LUNATICS WOULD REACT VIOLENTLY TO SOMETHING THAT STARTED WITH ONE OF THEIR OWN IN THE FIRST PLACE. And even now, after they find themselves understanding the idiotic consequences of what they do, they can’t even come up with a good lie or excuse.

The Church’s concern is not one of religion, its simply public lunacy..

3. #3 by sotong on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 9:11 am

This is the direct consequences of decades of narrow, divisive and damaging politic of religion….there is not quick fix.

Politicians must take full responsibilities.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 9:18 am

Let me make a suggestion – Those who knows of anyone in Sabah and Sarawak – just sent an SMS to ANYONE and EVERYONE YOU KNOW IN SABAH & SARAWAK – UMNO-supported Perkasa TRIED TO BURN THEIR BIBLE and THEY THINK foreigners are more deserving of citizenships and this country than they are…

5. #5 by boh-liao on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 9:46 am

Demand ACTION – simple lah, just spread d mesej 2 all Bumiputera Christians and non-Bumiputera Christians: ABU, reject UmnoB/BN in GE13, JUST DO IT

6. #6 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 10:44 am

Go on umno. Just burn them – those Alkitab. Yeah, all of them. And then see what happens.

You think that would incite a similar reaction? You are stupid and idiotic. That does not mean we all are equally stupid and idiotic. Yes. Of course, we would react. Not in a similar fashion, cowheads. But though the ballot box in GE13. Get it??

7. #7 by john on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 10:59 am

(after when some rascals threaten to burn your house)
    THE REV FINALLY SPEAK OUT !
    WE FINALLY HEARD SOME NOISE FROM SABAH !
    But where are those who before seems very vocal, leaders ? now so dumb, dumb and so tikus.

MMK, Sons & Co.(MSC) & Machai is just looking for ONE KA-BOOM to divert whatever attention so that MSC can slip quietly away with their LOOT ( already somewhere or nominees or,,) to enjoy forever onwards without worries.

8. #8 by chengho on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 11:01 am

No Perkasa in Sabah , but Dapters in Sabah , can you dig it

9. #9 by Winston on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 12:47 pm

Looks like everyone in this country is being threatened by the scums in one way or another!
    Even the churches are not left untouched!
    These scoundrels have stirred the hatred of all right-minded Malaysians against them as never before!
    That’s a very good sign.
    And a very good omen.
    Their action will galvanise all Malaysians to kick them out.
    The churches must let their flocks know that that they must make the next GE the last one for UMNO/BN!
    One cannot go on pleading for help from these scums!!!
    AMEN!!!!

10. #10 by john on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 1:37 pm

,,,beware the ” good cop – bad cop ” game plan / sandiwara ,,,,,
    ,,,basically present ‘PM’ ,Ah-C-4 is a lame duck with old, new baggages of Altantuya, Scorpene Sub, ,,
    Already proven for all to see, the most he can, fool you again one more time or tokok -if one desperate enough, “hook” but to no avail at the end !
    Or, play the “good cop” and offer a deal (temporary) and YOUR (brothers) VOTES !
    ,,,,so no such deal at back,,,,,,
    STAND BY YOUR WORDS / CONSTITUTION AND YOUR RIGHTS !!!
    (DO NOT BE HOODWINK LIKE BEFORE BY MMK ! Take you all to ‘HOLAN’ )
    MMK will see to it that UMNO/bn to march on in it’s plundering ways. As he knows, otherwise the day of rekonning will come ie. the day the new ‘MACC’ guy comes knocking, looking for MMK, Sons & Co.

11. #11 by gofortruth on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 2:42 pm

If you Perkasa Ali provoked/instigated the muslims to carry out violant act like burning the Christian Holy Bibles (whatever translation), you are fully responsible no matter what intention you may have (did not mean to offend Christians, meant to prevent violence etc etc)
    Our Home Minister is too busy with tiny & settled DAP party election result error or is he sleeping on the job ah?

12. #12 by bumiborn on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 3:20 pm

I think Ibrahim Ali is driving Sabah Sarawak toward independent and to form a new country to resolve sekelip mata all these Malaya’s inherent problems.

13. #13 by john on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 4:02 pm

,,, is MMK’s favourite approach the ‘sodomised’ play at the back approach , the hidden hand – silhouette , black/white in constrast,,,,
    Divide and Plunder, for ONE !

,,, another where MMK able to keep on plundering, in his hegemony ways,,,
    cos’ some will take a back seat for others to fight their battle and ,,, at the back cut a deal , albeit temporary or worst, forsaken / to bite off the helping hand,,,or keep at arm’s length later,,,
    the pathetic ‘kiasu/selfish’ group,,,

,,,MMK,,,UMNO/bn will like or chose group / character eg. KSKoon(‘lembiak’ kaki) , CSL (tainted, own-survival), LLSik(back stabbed, $$$), OTK,LiowTL,OKWee,,etc.(after in, SEMUA OK,OK,,,TOKOK, back stabbed+$$$),,,
    OVER THE PAST 55YEARS THERE ARE APLENTY !

ABU ONLY WAY NOW !!!

14. #14 by Godfather on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 4:09 pm

The real problem is that there is no consistency in the approach taken by the Church. Some are up in arms, some are trying the soft approach and some are still kissing the hands of UMNO politicians. Last week, the Archbishop commended Musa Aman and said that Musa has been fair and supportive of the Church – but then why didn’t Musa come out openly to denounce Perkasa ? So you give the signal that all is well, that it is ok to slap the face of the Christian leadership, because they would simply turn the other cheek.

Honestly, those who are spineless are the ones that give the Church a bad name.

15. #15 by Godfather on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 4:13 pm

You want to demand action, but you give the signal that you can live with inaction. What sort of approach is this ? You want action, you get your leaders to have a press conference where you announce to Najib that unless action is taken – and taken swiftly – the Christians will vote against BN. Openly. No ifs and buts. Just call it as it is. Boycott all official functions.

16. #16 by sotong on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 5:52 pm

The extremists know that when come to religion their fellow Muslims will not step forward to speak or defend the truth/fairness on behalf of non Muslims or the so-called ‘kafir’.

Muslims speaking or defending the truth are accused of being ‘ traitors’ to their religion.

They have no hesitation to take advantage of this situation for narrow and divisive political gain at all costs……it’s happening all around the world, even in countries where they are very small minority.

17. #17 by tuahpekkong on Thursday, 24 January 2013 - 11:13 pm

Malay is the only language these Bumiputra Christians in Sabah understand and if they can’t have access to Malay language bible, what do you expect them to do? Convert to Islam or be an atheist? Perhaps this is what katak Ali wants to see. I hope this idiot would lose his deposit in the coming GE.

18. #18 by Noble House on Friday, 25 January 2013 - 3:42 am

Perhaps, we should not attempt to shoot down this IbrahimsonofAli too fast and too soon. After all, he is only a bag carrier proxy for the greater but more vicious serpent Heil Mahathir. Just give them enough rope that they may hang themselves. Whether he realized it or not, he is actually doing PR a very big favor making it even stronger. The more he comes out with his idiotic displays, the more they reflect the degeneracy of Umno and its brand of politics.

So IbrahimsonofAli, go burn all the bibles, burn all the churches, or even burn the Christians if you like. The only thing you could not burn is the faith of the Christians. You will be doing Malaysia a great favor.

19. #19 by Godfather on Friday, 25 January 2013 - 10:14 am

Now another Church leader has gone on record as calling the Perkasa threat an “unfortunate proposal”. He also said that there are Christians who call for the burning of the Koran, so let’s not be too hard on the Perkasa call to burn the Malay version of the Bible. Let’s be more understanding.

20. #20 by good coolie on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 11:31 am

Some fellows protest by burning flags, others by burning sacred texts. You know what sort of people these are: they are the dregs of society.