The true colours of Dr M

— Uncle Nick
Jan 20, 2013

JAN 20 — Finally, the true colours of our esteemed Dr M are revealed.
At a recent forum, Dr M was reported to have touted his idea of what a strong government is and is not. He was quoted to have said that a strong government must be brave to use force and that being liberal is a weakness. He attributed the loss of the two thirds majority by the BN government to the lack of confidence the citizens had towards the then BN leadership.

He also lamented the fact that the power of the BN government is being destroyed because of weak leadership. The fact is that the source of power of a government lies with the citizens, not with a political party. No political party has hereditary rights to govern – 55 years in government notwithstanding. When it comes to the power to govern, the citizens giveth and the citizens taketh. The citizens rightly have the expectation that the power so giveth must be exercised for the citizens’ betterment. Most of all, the power must be exercise wisely, or the citizens have every right to taketh it away.

Of course, government leaders have to be daring. But daring to do what is the big question. Surely it is not daring to do things that are unjust, not accountable, fraudulent or downright criminal. When they do that, they no longer deserve the confidence of the citizens and with it, the right to govern.

Dr M seemed to suggest that the current government leadership is afraid of its people. Frankly, I’d rather have a government that is ‘afraid’ of its people than one that rides roughshod over its people. As long as a government has the strength of its conviction to do the right things by its people and be accountable for its action, fear does not come into the equation.

Dr M seemed to also suggest that the current weak leadership has resulted in people challenging government policies like the AES. Weak leadership or not, the people did not challenge the AES per se. They challenged the way the enforcement of the AES is privatized, yet again behind closed doors.

Dr M asked why we are so ashamed of the ISA. We are not ashamed of the ISA. We are ashamed of the way ISA has been used as a tool by the BN government to stifle criticism and to stop the people challenging the unjust actions of the government. A democratic government should be unafraid of criticism. It should encourage feedback from the people, for only with feedback, and taking action in response to the feedback, can a nation can take steps to improve itself.

Dr M’s punch line was that if BN wins GE13 with fewer seats than it did in 2008, it is a hollow victory. To me, a hollow victory is when one wins with unscrupulous means such as cheating or coercion. It is not measured by how many seats one wins.

To call a reduced majority in the Parliament a hollow victory is the height of arrogance. It shows how much Dr M has taken for granted the BN government’s right to govern Malaysia.

I have news for Dr M: Be thankful for any majority, for the right to govern is sacrosanct and cannot be treated as a political plaything for BN.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 7:33 pm

True colours:
    Black = evil
    Green = envy
    Grey = racist
    Brown = confused/muddled-thinking
    Red = stupid

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 7:47 pm

“Summit of top young scientists opens in Singapore”. Addresses by Nobel Prize Winners.

Did Malaysia send our top space taxi passenger there?

After all, Malaysia is still in the top 100 countries in the world, albeit struggling, in Maths and Science, thanks to our Father of Modernization, Tun Mahathir.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 9:31 pm

Not only d treacherous MMK, also many other evil corrupt UmnoB/BN politicians of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, PBS, etc who sold out their own kind (esp Kadazandusun in Sabah)
    Eash M’sians MUST REJECT these evil corrupt UmnoB/BN politicians

4. #4 by john on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 10:15 pm

MMK TOKOK now cos’ he did just that during his 22years regime days. No one was in his way and he ‘governed’ rather plunder, commited treason, hoodwink, lie,,,,,,and all other evil doings freely, in fact till today – sully a defenceless Tunku !
    Now he is looking for just one major event (or, at least diversions) in order to wipe clean all traces, records of his past evil doings ON his own self-interest/survival and thereafter to enjoy the LOOT soundly,openly. He ( n families) just looking for this one break to ‘CABUT’/RIP for good.

5. #5 by chengho on Monday, 21 January 2013 - 2:47 am

Malaysia need decisive and strong Gov , you cannot satisfy everyone , but as long as the majority support you .

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 21 January 2013 - 6:56 am

In the end Dr. M is an ultra-Malay, in fact a key leader, a movement that started post-independence in the 1960s, whose original leaders were Syed Jaafar Albar and Syed Nasir Ismail.

The ultra Malays were known for lying and failures of their projects and ideas – along with corruption. The ultra Malay success came perpetuating lies in politics. Their arguments were based on facts MADE UP.

The thing about the ultras, even from the beginning, every single one of their original ideas ended in failures. Its only when they make compromises, moderated their extremism, that they achieved some success. But if they stuck to their original ideas, it inevitably resulted in failures and always someone else ended up paying for them..

7. #7 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 21 January 2013 - 8:37 am

That monsterO’mamak is fighting hard to defend himelf and all his grave wrongdoings of the last 32yrs (22 yrs as PM and 10yrs as shadow PM). He has no concern for umno or the malays.

8. #8 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 21 January 2013 - 8:48 am

And yes, one more thing. I did not brand him a monster for no reason!

9. #9 by Cinapek on Monday, 21 January 2013 - 10:20 am

When you have a clean and fair election and you are voted in on that basis, then you are a strong government. Not when your “strong” government is achieved through the use of massive electoral fraud through the fraudalent granting of citizenships to illegals in return for votes, abuse of the ISA to stifle truths, manipulation of the EC and judiciary to your own political advantage, misuse of the enforcement agencies to frame opponents and jail them. Beneath the surface there will be a groundswell of simmering resentments amongst the genuine citizens that is waiting to explode. 2008 GE, the Bersih and and Himpunan marches are all manifestations of these resentments.

10. #10 by cseng on Monday, 21 January 2013 - 11:33 am

Thru color of his heart? Black.

11. #11 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 21 January 2013 - 12:55 pm

Chengho, rightly the majority should prevail but not through cheating and swindling! Notwithstanding that Malaysia has gone down the hill slope, we still have characters like you trying to defend all the wrongs that have been done. Why do you refuse to see reality? Is it that you are NOT capable of seeing truth? Or are your so blinded by the easy money that you are being paid to be unable to differentiate truth from lies? You were quiet over the Listen! Listen! listen! incident. Why? No explanation? Or incapable of offering one? What about the case of Azrul, the Chief Econimist of Bank Islam? It is so obvious that the power-that-be is trying very,very, very hard to ensure that the average Malays, ie. those not connected through UMNO shall have NO Opinion in any issue. They just hated Malays who ask too many questions and you support it just to cow your community? while claiming to champion the up-lifting of the Malays?
    You should be REAL a shame of yourself, rather than contributing something positive to up-lift your community, you are lending a helping hand to suppress them through the collusion with half-Malays!

12. #12 by chengho on Tuesday, 22 January 2013 - 1:47 am

Waterfront cookie, nothing to do with skin color , only true realpolitik , anywhere and everywhere the same ,even in Uncle Sam country .that is democracy ,unless you want democracy ala CPC .