MCA’s irrelevance

— Jimmy Chua
Jan 08, 2013

JAN 8 — Really? On a day in which a good number of Malaysians were upset at the decree by the Selangor Sultan prohibiting non-Muslims from using the word “Allah”, the time warp Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) was engaging in nonsense.

Granted, the party is in a fight for its political life against DAP and can’t resist a point-scoring opportunity but surely, speaking up for non-Muslims is an important part of its remit. Surely, you show your relevance to Malaysians by speaking up on important issues.

No. It appears that the MCA of Chua Soi Lek and Liow Tiong Lai is incapable of anything substantial.

So, instead of making its position clear on the Sultan’s decree or at least adding some clarity to the issue, they chose to focus only on the DAP election fiasco.

And even then, they came out sounding incoherent. After chairing a party meeting, Chua said that DAP’s election snafu was a slap in the face of a party which talked about transparency, etc.

It is a fact that DAP didn’t cover itself with glory by fouling up a simple counting process which saw Zairil Khir Johari denied a place on the DAP leadership team.

DAP told the world about its mistake, reversed the mistake and one of the main figures in the fiasco resigned. The party can be accused of amateurish behaviour but surely coming clean, instead of hiding a mistake, is transparency.

In any case, DAP’s election mistake is not the most important news of the day. What has more impact on the lives of Christians and Sikhs is a ruling by the Selangor Sultan that the word “Allah” cannot be used by non-Muslims in the state.

Surely, the MCA has a view on this ruling. Or has it become a party which needs to sing the same tune of Umno or wait for the go-ahead from its Big Brother?

1. #1 by cseng on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 11:41 am

A story of you vs me and they vs us…

First, … malay, non-malaya.
    Then… bumi, non-bumi.
    After…. my 1 Malaysia, your 1 Malaysia.
    Now… My Tuhan, your God.
    Later…. MRT seats with 2 colors… one color for they, the other for us.

MCA thank you very much.

2. #2 by mkchng on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 11:42 am

what can you expect from a bunch of eunuchs? mca reps are only good at looking at longkangs, rubbish dumps, watching DVD and defending the indefensible “land grab” by its “u must not oppose” bloodsucking taikor!

the days of “print is king” is gone. in days past, mca can fool the electorate but not in the internet age where everything and anything can be challenged. if mca reps want to be stupid, the internet will strip them naked and make fools out of them.

as for csl, shut up but speak up on the major issues of the day that are many and varied.

3. #3 by chengho on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 12:13 pm

In democracy the winner is majority , can u digit it

4. #4 by Godfather on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 12:25 pm

We can’t “digit” it. Can you count how many digits you have ?

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 12:53 pm

Well, lets give credit to Chua Soi Lek for projecting a smelly mouth via the media. No one before is that stupid to do it even Perkasa…Who can remember what he says when it stinks so badly?

6. #6 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 2:24 pm

Chua Soi Lek said DAP can sue microsoft for the tabulation mistake. What kind of a sick logic is this? Can people with such cunning devilish & foolish mindset be a good leader? A true con artist he is!

7. #7 by assamlaksa on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 2:27 pm

DAP made a mistake and they admitted, revealed it and corrected it themselves.

CSL made a mistake but kept quiet until somebody decided to show a video.

In UMNO/BN they don’t need digits, they need frogs.

8. #8 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 2:30 pm

Remember one of Chua Soi Lek’s first reactions when his infamous CD appears? He said he shouldn’t have use the same hotel/room. This reflects what an unrepenting, cunning schemer he is.

9. #9 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 2:38 pm

TIMSS exposes all the negative aspects of our educational practices over the past one and a half generation. The deathly silence of the Minister concerned finally buries his free conclusion on the quality of the education policy of this nation. It is pathetic that in spite of Malaysian advantage in education foundation since the 60s, we continue to turn a blind eye to the deterioration of our action. As things stand those already put into the disadvantage have already started the preparation to compete in the international market. It is for sure when the rest of the majority starts to realize this, they may be ill-prepared for this challenge! And by then who whom they had supported to rob the nation could be riding their horses in Argentina! In this aspect, we can wait and see if Chengho/Cintanegara has such opportunity!

10. #10 by Noble House on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 2:48 pm

It’s the end of the line for the MCA, just as it is for the RAHMAN LEGACY. In a democracy, the Rakyat is the Supreme. Let no one forgets that!

11. #11 by Sallang on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 9:36 pm

MCA have been asking, why the Chinese are rejecting the party.
    MCA should accept reality,that the Chinese are aware that if they vote for MCA, they are voting BN, which is UMNO. MCA must forgo any position in the coming election, be in the opposition for one or two term, and hope for better days to come.
    This will also apply to all BN coalition parties, esp. MIC, PPP, Gerakan.
    Don’t be selfish. Think for the country.Save our country.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Friday, 11 January 2013 - 12:07 am

PornoSnake too busy with election, ooops sorry, erection lah 2 hv time 2 say Ala-mak
    Even mattress offspring too busy with tilam or kuih talam
    What else do rakyat expect fr UmnoB’s serfs
    Rakyat should b prepared 2 say BYE2 2 Mati Cara Aktif, ABU