96-Day Countdown to 13GE – Honesty and humility must always remain qualities of DAP leaders if DAP is to continue to command trust and confidence of Malaysians

Questions have been raised as to how there could be such a huge “recount” discrepancy and mistake in the DAP Central Executive Committee (CEC) election results where Zairil Khir Johari’s votes for election to the DAP CEC increased by 498 votes from the 305 votes announced on 15th December 2012 to the actual vote of 803 (placing him in the 20th elected position), while Vincent Wu Him Ven could drop 533 votes from the 1,202 votes announced on 15th December 2012 to the actual vote of 669 votes (putting him in the 26th elected position).

The blunder however did not arise from any vote counting, as Zairil and Wu’s votes were properly counted and tabulated as 803 and 669 votes respectively but from a computer error resulting in the votes for the last eight candidates (i.e. No. 61 – 68) also being posted with the same votes as those of Candidates Number 31 to 38, as follows, viz:

No Candidate Votes No Candidate Votes
31 LIM LIP ENG 448 61 WONG SAI HOONG 448
32 LIU TIAN KHIEW (RONNIE) 761 62 WONG SZE PHIN @ JIMMY 761
33 LOKE SIEW FOOK (ANTHONY) 1202 63 WU HIM VEN (VINCENT) 1202
34 M. KULA 984 64 YONG WUI WUI (VIOLET) *
35 MANOGARAN A/L MARIMUTHU 305 65 ZAIRIL KHIR JOHARI 305
36 MANOHARAN MALAYALAM 216 66 ZULKIFLI BIN MOHD NOOR 216
37 NG CHIN TSAI 39 67 ROSELI BIN ABDUL GANI 39
38 NG WEI AIK 407 68 TAN BOON PENG 407

As a result, Wu (No. 63) was posted with the votes of No. 33 (i.e. 1,202 votes) and Zairil’s (No. 65) was posted with the votes of No. 35, (i.e. 305 votes) when the actual tabulation should have been 669 for Wu and 803 for Zairil based on the ballots cast and counted at the DAP National Congress.

There was no element of fraud, manipulation or dishonesty in vote counting and tabulation process.

The blunder in the recent DAP CEC election results is a salutary lesson and reminder to all DAP leaders to always remain honest and humble, guided by the wisdom of the saying “Honesty is the Best Policy” if they are to continue to command the trust and confidence of Malaysians.

Despite the sorrow, I can state with pride that although the DAP Central Working Committee and Central Executive Committee were aware that the blunder is deeply embarrassing and would subject the DAP to a ferocious and merciless political and media onslaught, twisting the distorting the issue with baseless insinuations and allegations, no leader had suggested a cover-up of the blunder and the leadership is united that we should tell the truth to the party and the public and face the negative reactions frontally.

Our political antagonists may see this as a weakness for them to try to exploit and divide the party, but this is in fact a strength where the DAP leadership is prepared to own up to and rectify its mistakes however embarrassing they might be because we believe in humility and “Honesty is the Best Policy”.

1. #1 by monsterball on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 6:02 pm

This issue appears at Star headline today…and UMNO blogger like Rockybru never cease an opportunity to insult DAP.
    As far as I know…..Malaysians are not concern about party’s problems.
    Umno B has plenty …who cares!!
    What Malaysians want is to change the 55 years Govt and give PR the chance to govern….for reasons….no need to keep repeating.
    keDAILan had their problems….PAS too and DAP is no different.
    None of these 3 parties hide their mistakes or weaknesses.
    Have you seen any BN parties come out to the public and admit anything??
    I think millions of voters are focusing on the 13th GE…and have no time to read small matters made it big for political reasons….by none other than Umno b.
    LKS puts out this post to explain again.
    I guess he wants to shut BN’s politician mouths.
    Voters are not interested…not important.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 6:08 pm

I see the picture better now.

Yes, honesty is the best policy.

The people can forgive an honest mistake and you own up.

But the people cannot forgive a lying, cheating, thieving, defrauding BN ..and they are still lying through their teeth.

A computer error is a computer error.
    A computer has no soul, so o need to get upset.
    OK, Joceline Tan and the STAR, don’t appear so stupid and partisan by the foolish way you write.
    You want to score goals, lay the ball frontally, not score behind the goalpost-lah.

3. #3 by monsterball on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 6:10 pm

Honesty is the best policy….says it all by Lim Kit Siang.

4. #4 by chengho on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 6:18 pm

Hi moderator why worry with my comment , freedom of expression eh , human right

5. #5 by john on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 6:33 pm

The way TA and other antagonists harped (and stirred it ) on every issues of other parties ( PR ) is akin to a dog waiting round the corner to pounce on a cat anxiously.
    Imagine, comparing an internal party election to that of Election Commision, the later basically to take charge of the nation’s election matters impartially which clearly is ‘inside UMNO/bn’s pocket’ , by none other than TA ( the real purpose to join DAP in the first place, a plant by ?)

6. #6 by Jong on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 7:01 pm

Still so full of bitterness, that ‘satu-kupang’ Tunku wasted no time frothing through his mouth, at slightest opportunity to mow down DAP. That sickening specie is making himself useful to umno now!

7. #7 by cintanegara on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 7:03 pm

Its either their maths skills is deteriorating or they ‘re using a faulty calculator… Take my productive advice … Kindly refresh your maths skills. Pity on them… It is just a simple calculation yet they unable to count it right!!!.. How to rule the country?

8. #8 by chengho on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 7:15 pm

Wrong formatting of spreadsheet eh

9. #9 by cseng on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 8:04 pm

无心之错为过,有心之错为恶!

10. #10 by cseng on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 8:11 pm

《左傳.宣公二年》曰:「人誰無過?過而能改,善莫大焉。」

孔子曰:「過而不改,是謂過矣。」

古人申居鄖曰:「小人全是飾非,君子惟能改過。」

由此可見,中國古代哲賢認為如何對待過錯,是君子與小人的重要區別。

11. #11 by monsterball on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 8:54 pm

hehehehe ….chengho got moderated?
    And…..cintanegara said to DAP….”Take my advice…” HAHAHAHAHAHA
    Najib needs alot of advices right now.
    Two clowns…double the joy.

12. #12 by monsterball on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 9:01 pm

I never heard chengho been moderated before.
    He must have seen cintanegra and got inspired.
    PS:..I think chengho is trying to lure my support…as I got moderated many times.
    Me support a BN supporter??..no way mate.

13. #13 by cseng on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 9:23 pm

Chengho;

You can’t read chinese, so I translate for you, hope you can grow up.

In simple english it says:

1. Mistake without intention is mere genuine mistake, mistake with intention is actually evils.

2. Do mistake is human, rectify after a mistake is an act of gentlemen. Covered up with excuses after a mistake is an act of petty-men.

3. From the act after mistakes, you can differentiate a gentleman from a petty-man.

Btw, petty-man literally means small man, a coward, who try to pretend huge, covered himself with big things, like big car, big building and talk very big…

14. #14 by cseng on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 9:24 pm

and big wife…..

15. #15 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 10:07 pm

DAP Malaysia…you will still get my vote…

16. #16 by gofortruth on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 12:12 am

DAP has taken the right & honorable action to rectify their finding.
    The most frightening thing is how Altantuya’s entry records to Malaysia was deleted under the BN government and ZERO action taken to find out the truth.

17. #17 by Ray9393 on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 7:21 am

At least, I must admit, I am impressed with the courage to correct it and do the right thing. This is the highest wisdom for a progressive society. Face the music and move on. There are many battles ahead. Always do the right things. Why bother to even defense?

18. #18 by tak tahan on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 10:24 am

Hahahaha…chengho might got the answer to it.

19. #19 by monsterball on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 10:59 am

and big ego…with big dreams….all shattered….by Black Rose.

20. #20 by chengho on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 11:10 am

Re election is the answer , everything was done in the name of spreadsheet error , just admitted , some forces designed it that way .

21. #21 by monsterball on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 11:40 pm

chengho …re study… after failing …in USA is the answer.

22. #22 by chengho on Monday, 7 January 2013 - 8:02 am

Cseng , there is LKS mandarin blog , just in case u don’t know

23. #23 by monsterball on Monday, 7 January 2013 - 6:01 pm

The know all chengho has spoken wisely for once.

24. #24 by Loh on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 9:58 am

///Mahathir claimed that DAP’s strategy of changing the results three weeks after the CEC election was just to hoodwink the Malays “It was not an error. The election was real but when the party found that no Malay was elected to the CEC they blamed it on technical error in the tabulation of votes “Don’t tell me they are that stupid to be unable to count the votes If they can’t even do this then they are incapable of governing the country “It amending the results is just a political ploy It’s all so ridiculous Actually all the Malay candidates were not elected to the CEC at all ” added Dr Mahathir when asked to comment on the matter.///–MalaysianInsider

The number of votes entered against candidates number 31 to 38, for eight persons is identical to that of candidates 61 to 68. This cannot happen without mistake. The probability that the number of votes, if it is on a random basis, recorded for two persons to be the same can happen half the time, either the same or not the same. For eight persons in a row having the same number against another eight in a row, the probability is 1/2 to the eight power, or 0.4%. Further since the results were tabulated in descending order of the number of votes obtained, the number given against candidate 31 can never be the same as that for candidate number 61. There is definitely human errors involved in the tabulation; the computer cannot initiate errors, and DAP certainly did not tailor-make the computer program to shot itself. Mamakthir is either stupid, or he lied. It is most probable that he was stupid. How then did he get his medical degree?