Dirty tricks of the BN media

— Fikry Osman
Dec 09, 2012

DEC 9 — There is a good reason not to buy newspapers owned by Barisan Nasional (BN) parties. They lie, twist and misinterpret news against opposition parties.

Look what The Star has done with Kelantan this week, reporting that four non-Muslims were caught for khalwat by local council officers. The officers had also apparently asked for bribes.

Isn’t this just another trick by the MCA-owned newspaper to make PAS look bad? To make people fear PAS and raise the spectre of an intolerant and punitive Islamic state?

On the other side, the NST does the same, except it is against DAP where it says our way of life is in danger because DAP is secular, communist or Christian in outlook.

These newspapers should make up their mind. It is one or the other and not all. It just shows how they will lie for their political masters.

Is this the best way to win votes for BN then? By lying and making up all kinds of accusations, by dividing people according to race and religion? What ever happened to nation building?

Is it any wonder that these newspapers are facing a shrinking circulation with the kind of half-baked lies that they perpetuate? I hope people vote with their wallet and boycott these filthy rags that masquerade as newspapers.

They’re trash and should be treated as such for the kind of tricks they pull off to smear the opposition parties.

We need better journalism and the BN media isn’t it.

1. #1 by drngsc on Monday, 10 December 2012 - 9:20 am

Yes, we all know that the BN presses are working overtime, particularly this GE 13. They are surely working overtime to put as bad a light as possible on the PR coalition.
    BUT, PR is also partly to blame. PR sometimes talk too much to the media about controversial issues, giving the hostile press extra fodder. I would strongly urge the PR leadership to speak with once voice in public. All controversies must be discussed behind closed doors and resolved amicably. Please make our work easier in our personal campaigning by controlling those loose cannons. Please do not add to our problems. Bad, hostile press with loose cannons makes bringing about change more difficult.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming. We must all work very very hard. One to one campaigning, to convince the young and old to save Malaysia from UMNO. First to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.
    Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

2. #2 by Winston on Monday, 10 December 2012 - 10:36 am

They are in a frenzy to save their own hide.
    Even if the PR parties don’t give them
    any excuse to cause trouble, they will
    go out of their way to do so.
    The lies, deceits and anything goes
    tactics belie their extreme anxiety about
    the high possibility of their losing the
    coming GE.
    What send them into a maelstrom is
    that they have plenty to answer for to
    Malaysians!!!
    We can always make ourselves immune
    to their tactics by skipping any articles
    that are critical or detrimental to the
    PR as these are all lies, damned lies.
    Between the PR and UMNO/BN, we will
    always accept the word of the former
    as the truth, the whole truth and nothing
    but the truth.
    And those of the latter?
    As lies, all lies and nothing but lies!!!!
    That’s the way to go!!!!!!

3. #3 by SENGLANG on Monday, 10 December 2012 - 4:55 pm

MCA and esp CLS has nothing to offer now. He can only play Hudud and scary tactic on the fence sitters.

Anyone who has a friend living in Kelantan will know that, Chinese has no complaint at all on the PAS government. Chinese can eat what they want. MAny are doing good business. No issue at all.

I have been there for many times and my friends in KB brought me to eat what you wish to eat. and drinking is not a problem. Only MCA has problem.

4. #4 by cseng on Monday, 10 December 2012 - 6:39 pm

If those medias are BN’s media, then call it as BN’s press.

Why call it as MSM?

There is no press in m’sia, only political media… So what press freedom are we talking about? none.