Now, DAP unveils its own election war truck

By Nigel Aw | 11:02AM Oct 29, 2012

DAP has launched its very own war truck ahead of what pundits expect to be the most competitive general election ever, with fierce campaigning everywhere.

The red trailer launched in Seremban yesterday by party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng is wrapped with a giant image of DAP’s hornbill mascot Ubah, with the words ‘Ubah! Bersihkan Malaysia’.

“Basically, the truck will be a mobile ceramah stage that is equipped with a big back drop and some lighting,” Negeri Sembilan DAP chairperson Anthony Loke said when contacted.

Loke who is also DAP Youth chief, said the truck, dubbed “Dream Machine” is also aimed at grabbing attention whenever it hits the roads, particularly during the election campaigning period.

Asked about the significance of the truck’s name, Loke replied: “The name was coined by our secretary-general. It means that the truck brings us hope and will help to realise the dreams of Malaysians for a change of government.”

The move comes almost two months after PKR launched its very own campaign trailer and bus.

PKR’s campaign bus, plastered with the face of opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim, has been the target of political violence since its launch.

‘Mobile shop and office’

However, for DAP, the Dream Machine will not be lonely as it will be accompanied by two smaller trucks.

“One of the small trucks will be used to sell merchandises, such as Ubah toys. It’s mobile so it is useful and we don’t need to set up a stall to display our merchandise.

“The other is a multi-purpose truck, that will serve as a mobile office and can also be used for purposes such as a press conference,” said Loke.

The trucks, he said, was loaned and refurbished by DAP supporters and will serve the party until the next general election.

“We do not own the trucks, we did not invest anything. There is a group of supporters loaned the vehicles to us and modified them according to our needs,” said Loke, the Rasah MP and Lobak state assemblyperson.

The trucks are expected to make their debut at a Pakatan Rakyat rally in Seremban Jaya on Nov 3.

1. #1 by cseng on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 12:49 pm

Umno will have the helicopter campaigning machine, soon.

2. #2 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 2:39 pm

Way to go, DAP!

But be prepared for Tuan Rempit McBullys and their no-brainer wayward tactics.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 2:47 pm

Wah! Looks like ‘Transformer’ truck.

Got dressing room for the ge-tai singers and dancers?

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 3:23 pm

In 2008, DAP had to makeshift with low end old flat-bed lorries in some of the places which they had to rent. The quantum change is a reflection of support for DAP and its deep and solid…

Still the challenge is not in DAP strongholds, the challenge is to move beyond..Its not enough to take majority non-Malay seats, its necessary to really move into KDM seats and Malay majority seats for DAP.

5. #5 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 5:16 pm

Should have kept it under wraps until election day so that they cannot respond in time. Now, UMNO is going to order100 of these trucks…..

6. #6 by monsterball on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 7:09 pm

hahahahahaha….I tell you….DAP can put MCA in their pockets….and make a fool of Najib…with such great ideas.

7. #7 by monsterball on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 7:12 pm

I hope that is the longest truck with trailer available.
    If not….that sex man…may do the same with a longer one.
    You know….open a night-club…and to beat it a woo customers away from that club…one needs to open a bigger night club.

8. #8 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 30 October 2012 - 7:41 am

I really love the phrase, “Bersihkan Malaysia!”.

Well done Kit! Take care that BN vandals do not damage the truck.

9. #9 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 30 October 2012 - 10:12 am

Please make sure you guard this truck 24/7. Anwar’s bus was splashed with paint and attacked by thugs (which the PDRM can never catch) you can expect the same people that attacked Anwar’s bus to try to do the same to this truck. Their backers will make sure the police will turn a blind eye.

10. #10 by the reds on Tuesday, 30 October 2012 - 10:16 pm

Well done! Very innovative! I don’t think Barisan folks can come out with this idea……. Shame on them! We need creative/innovative leaders from Pakatan to lead our country to greater heights!

11. #11 by Henry on Wednesday, 31 October 2012 - 2:04 am

Well done. Beware of BN own Polis, JPJ and etcs department to find ways to declare your truck is illegal …!!!