Jaclyn Victor’s ‘Harapan’ is my ‘Harapan’ too

— Terence Martin
October 27, 2012

OCT 27 — Jaclyn Victor sang “Harapan Bangsa”.

Jaclyn Victor’s a Christian.

It’s a Christian song of praise and worship.

No one ever pretended it was not.

Perkasa is now out with pitchforks and torches to lynch somebody, anybody; but preferably Jaclyn Victor.

Whatever is next?

No worship services for Christians in Malay in this country?

Or perhaps a government official will make audio, video and photographic recordings of each and every service in Malay in this country? Just to find evidence of conversion, conspiracy and the like?

Or maybe set up an anti-Christian panel comprising people like Ibrahim Ali, Helen Ang, Syed Akbar Ali and the like to put the Christians “in their rightful place”?

The serenity prayer thus reads:

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

“The courage to change the things I can,

“And the wisdom to know the difference.”

I know what I cannot change and what I can.

The wimpy leaders and politicians who allow all this to happen unchecked, that I can change.

And change we will.

Change we must.

For I have as much a right to co-exist peacefully in Malaysia to practise my religious beliefs.

As does Jaclyn Victor.

That hope she sang in the song. That hope I sing in my heart.

* Terence Martin was born into a Christian family, baptised a Christian and will die a Christian. And he loves Malaysia wholeheartedly even with the racists and bigots running wild sowing seeds of division and hatred unchecked.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 27 October 2012 - 5:04 pm

KJ said Perkasa is the equivalent of the Tea Party in the Republican Party in the US – UMNO/BN leaders go against them at their death-wish. That what they don’t get is why they have to respect LKY because LKY faced the same conumdrum in Singapore with the Communist.

But now its too late. There is no way UMNO/BN will have the opportunity to ever tame the Perkasa in their party and so they must sink into oblivion with them. The issue really is will the rest of us sink with them before we claim out rights – and we will claim our rights – its just a matter of a heavier price later or a lower price now..

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 October 2012 - 5:08 pm

it is clear that PAS’ brand of Islam is more tolerant than BN’s brand of Islam. If voters think that they can have more religious freedom by voting BN, then they are all wrong.

3. #3 by monsterball on Saturday, 27 October 2012 - 5:37 pm

To me….it is not about fighting to protect a religion by Perkasa..or by Ibrahim Ali.
    From the start…Perkasa appointed Mahathir his most valued member….sort of a gangster chief…which mamak accepted with pride.
    It is an Organization….out to stir hatreds and trouble.
    We had few years of the dancing monkies performances. They are boring and foolish.
    It is nice to note…Malaysians like Jaclyn Victor and Terence Martin will never sell their religion and souls to the devils.

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 27 October 2012 - 8:54 pm

If Jacklyn Victor cannot sing “Harapan Bangsa”, then soon all Christians in Malaysia won’t be able to singhymns and choruses in churches and chapels.

Hey, Malaysian Christains, be prepared to go underground if Barisan Nasional(BN) wins the GE13.

Soon, BN will say, all Malaysians must submit their thoughts for official approval before you are allowed to think.

Hello, Ah Jib Kor and Moo-yi-din, this is 2012, not George Orwell’s 1984-lah, bro.

5. #5 by yellowkingdom on Saturday, 27 October 2012 - 9:49 pm

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 28 October 2012 - 7:55 am

It was recorded in 2007. Why now make so much out of it. Everyone including Victor should make their statement and just stare them down..

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 28 October 2012 - 9:24 am

Tanya Najib, mengapa tidak debat Anwar,
    Jawan Najib, nanti Putrajaya di bawanya..

8. #8 by drngsc on Sunday, 28 October 2012 - 4:59 pm

Jaclyn’s Harapan, is my Harapan too.
    If some in Malaysia cannot accept that, it is just too bad. They can sing whatever song they wish, to whoever they wish. They can boycott whatever they wish. That is their right.
    Another test for a jib-gor’s 1Malaysia. Lets see if he can pass the test.

We need to change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming soon. Failure is not an option. We must win Putrajaya.
    Change we must, Change we can. Change we will.

9. #9 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 28 October 2012 - 8:43 pm

What? A song recorded in 2007 is resurrected now just to bash the Christians. And it has to be by the brain dead Perkosa guys! No wonder when their patron and adviser is none other than the great satan aka Mahathir Mohamad Kutty. Evil in this country will only die when this senile scum of a man kicks the bucket. Hope that day is very, very near.

10. #10 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 28 October 2012 - 11:39 pm

I think a pig would have more intelligence than this idiot.

11. #11 by ChinNA on Monday, 29 October 2012 - 6:25 pm

That song is obviously bias. It practically claimed that every knee shall bow and every tongue confess that confess that Jesus is Lord.

This is one Christian confession without which, there can be no Christian. What else can a Christian do? Easy answer is: Do what Peter did 3 times.