Do you trust them?

— Ali Kadir
June 19, 2012

JUNE 19 — Everything begins and ends with this question: Do you trust them?

Do you trust Khaled Nordin to look after the interest of Malaysians or do you believe that the Parliamentary Select Committee was set up to regurgitate information provided by Lynas and merely rubber stamp an investment already banked in by the Barisan Nasional government?

Please bear in mind that Khaled is also the minister who believed he was doing the right thing when he froze federal loans to students at Unisel in a show a political gamesmanship that he lost.

Do you trust Rais Yatim when he tells all and sundry that only 22,000 Malaysians attended Bersih 3.0?

Do you trust M. Kayveas when he says that urban Malaysians are navel-gazers and an ungrateful bunch who only know how to whine?

Do you trust Muhyiddin Yassin when he says that the BN government has forged national unity in Malaysia?

This coming from the man who is the darling of the party’s right-wing movement, the politician ensconced with Perkasa and Pekida, and the man who really believes that Malay unity is the same as national unity.

Do you trust Idris Jala when he talks about statistics, whether it is crime stats or a prosperity index?

Should you trust anyone who supposedly transformed Malaysia Airlines and basked in the glory of “success”, only for Malaysians to be told now that the national icon is on the verge of collapse?

Trust. This is what it boils down to. I dare say that no one in the Malaysian Cabinet can command that important ingredient today when their lips move

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 19 June 2012 - 11:34 pm

Their ineptitude has led to people’s distrust in them.

2. #2 by Loh on Tuesday, 19 June 2012 - 11:42 pm

///If a Chinese Malaysian can pursue his entire education in Chinese, from primary to university level, how much exposure would he have to Malaysian students and teachers from other communities? How would this affect his attitude towards, and outlook on, the other? What would be his notion of a Malaysian identity?///–Chandra Muzaffar, Malaysiakini

The questions raised above seem to suggest that Chinese education in the country has not contributed to the progress of the nation. Chinese schools have existed before independence and ever since. Have these Chinese students been bad citizens and not law abiding before of their education background? Have they acted counter to national interest that the government tolerated them?

Their attitude in life of students going through Chinese schools is in practicing Confucius philosophy which teaches one not do onto others what one does not want others to do to him. It might not be teaching one to be full of love, but it certainly teachers one not to be a nuisance. They consider people around the world are brothers and sisters, and they are at peace with mankind.

The exposure to other students and teachers does not depend on contact in the confine of classrooms. With modern communication it is not difficult to know how other thinks. There are many UMNOputra children who had their education overseas from tender age, and Najib is an example. Najib did not mix with children and teachers of other communities in Malaysia when young. Does it make him unsuitable to be Prime Minister of Malaysia comprising many communities? If Najib is not suitable, the fault cannot lie in where he studied!

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 1:24 am

Do you trust a 55 or 56 year old government who says it is the ‘Messiah’ and no one else is capable of doing the job ?

Isn’t 56 or thereabouts the Retirement Age ?

4. #4 by Jong on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 5:29 am

What? ….trust those UMNO/BN sewer politicians? We’ve been had for 55 years of lies, time to send them down the chute of DOOM!

Btw Ali Kadir, you left out one from MCA – Liar Tiong Lie with his grandfather’s WWW15 story!

5. #5 by monsterball on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 8:54 am

If they are so sure to be trusted….the 13th GE would have been held long ago.
    7 out of 10 say they do not trust Najib at all.
    You don’t trust the leader of BN…..how to trust BN politicians?

6. #6 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 9:26 am

They are not telling lies but they are just bullies and simply regard the common Malaysian people are able to think and analyse what happening both locally and internationally.

All those ministers are arrogance so to say. It is no the matter they are telling the truth or lies, as they know what they are talking but simply because they all act like ancient emperors who will say a donkey is a horse and all his adviser will not say other wise but have to say YES. We are not living in the ancients time and only those minister still believe that they act like an emperor.

7. #7 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 10:12 am

Khaled is another new joker joining many among the BN minister. Worst still he is the who is in charge of education. He know about revenge but not offer solution to the miserable education standard in Malaysia and many problem facing the students to day.

The way he try to use the PTPTN issue to threaten the government of Selangor, thus hoping to gain his political mileage is foolish, un professional, simply unfit as an Minister. He is just act worst than a school boy.

Rais is another joker who tell lies with face change. His estimation of the no. simply wasting time to add anything further…. just let him dreamed on…..

The latest joker joining rank is Kayves let him believe in that urbanist

8. #8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 10:37 am

Yeah, I trust them alright. I trust them to drive Malaysia off the cliff pretty soon.

9. #9 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 10:40 am

Now the highest warning has been shot. The Chinese wealth will decline and even evaporate if BN lost control. Do you trust or believe in it any more. Not sure will evaporate or not but with out BN am sure PKFZ and NFC will evaporate… all those involve and have a hand in PKFZ and NFC will be evaporate with out BN THAT FOR SURE…

all wealth will be preserve and enhance no doubt too

10. #10 by Jong on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 11:13 am

Naijb’s scare tactics has begun! Chinese Malaysian business community warned fortune at risk without his ‘stable’ government! The more Chinese Malaysian MUST now openly reject UMNO and deprive the bunch of rent-collectors of stable income.

11. #11 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 11:42 am

For decade the Chinese have the mentality that big issue turn to small issues and small issues make them no issues. So these are the typical believe of the common Chinese. They work hard and accumulate their wealth. For the common Chinese most of their hard money was spent on their children and big chunk go to education. As far as the government do not disturb them too much such as chasing too harsh for the taxes and too much regulations on doing their business. Generally the Chinese are happy lot. They never have the attitude that the government will care for them but they will work their way. So do will see most hard wares shop owners will open their shop 8 am and end 8pm 7 days a week except may 1,2 days for CNY break. Many are as hard as most of those in business or other wise.

That was decades ago and those who work as hard as those olden days Chinese are disappearing. Most of their children will never follow their hard working fathers. They are more on I pads thing like that.

So do you believe the new generation Chinese will care what their father generation believe that vote for BN other wise you better store up rice and mee maggic lah.

No generation to day is different. That the biggest mistake that BN make and they refuse to admit. Just like last GE they under estimate the force of on line media. Until now they have yet to read the new generation minds.. that is way PM still shouting at the old slogan..

12. #12 by megaman on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 2:24 pm

Our elders, the previous generations especially the non-bumiputras have never trusted them before but merely tolerated them.

But when the righteous were silent, evil prevails.

Therefore, things become worse and worse still simply because nobody dare to stand up to stand for the truth.

Now, when things are no longer tolerable, and why is it untolerable ?

When you are saddled with huge debts upon graduation but unable to secure a good job with decent pay simply because the education you paid for with the huge debts is basically useless, it becomes untolerable.

When your children education is at stake with rising costs and constant flip-flop in policies, it becomes untolerable.

When you can’t walk on the streets at night without fearing for the safety of your lives and properties, it becomes untolerable.

When you work so hard for your pay and so much of it goes to taxes and yet billions of it are lost due to incompetiences by the government, it becomes untolerable.

All these are happening now because the previous generations did not took any action to prevent it and now we are burdened with the consequences of their inaction or misactions.

Do we do nothing as well, and let our future generations suffer ?

Maybe you can’t, but I can’t stomach it when I look at my 2 month old baby.

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 10:45 pm

Do you trust Najib when he says he has never met Altantuya?

Do you?

Do you trust Najib when he says BN can be trusted?

DO you?

The records speak for themselves.

14. #14 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 - 11:18 pm

I don’t trust khaled nordin because he can’t think properly and talks like a small boy. I don’t trust rice because he did something very, very bad. I don’t trust kayveas because he is bolaless. He calls himself to be leader of the indians but when indiand were short-changed by govt; indians forced out of estates ( under the guise of relocation to make way for development ) without compensation whatsoever, kayveas was so very ‘obedient’ and quiet. All useless, stupid, pakeiro fools!!

15. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 22 June 2012 - 8:08 am

Khaled forgot this is 2012! Language has its pride only in our heart, practicability of any language will decide its usage anywhere. I would send my children to any school which can provide more than one language to them. UMNO has only one agenda: TO COW THE MIND OF THE MALAYS! SO THAT THEY CAN BE LED BY SUCH TALKS LIKE “Bahasa and Bangsa Kita” Just ask the Africans in the Sub-Sahara region the meaning of such sloganeering! Their short term objective is to wipe out all that Petronas can ooze! and then call it a day! The rest of their agenda is just to keep the blinkered voters to support their cause with rm$500. for the next election!

16. #16 by Kampong Orang on Sunday, 24 June 2012 - 2:16 pm

Najis said: dont worry, science proves rare earth is safe. But we read China expert warned Malaysia about high price to pay for processing rare earth:
    專家:造成環境水源污染及輻射‧中國發展稀土業代價大
    http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/251710?tid=1