Undermining 1 Malaysia

— The Malaysian Insider
Jun 05, 2012

JUNE 5 — If there is any reason why Malaysians can’t seem to warm up to the 1 Malaysia concept, look no further than Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim’s comments today.

The Information, Communications and Culture Minister spoke at the 1 Malaysia Social Media Convention in Selangor that Malays must unite for a Barisan Nasional (BN) win in the upcoming general election to ensure their rights are not taken away by the opposition.

Fine. He is from Umno. He can say that and it is well within his right. But at a 1 Malaysia event? Really?

Where are the fine words to push a concept that promotes national unity? When Datuk Seri Najib Razak took office, he launched the 1 Malaysia concept because the country seemed divided along racial lines. Much to his credit, 1 Malaysia became the byword that even his political foes grudgingly accepted in a backhanded way.

But not many of Najib’s Cabinet colleagues have warmed up to the idea, well not at public events anyway. Or events supported with public funds.

Today, Rais said Malays “must understand who they are” and “know their rights”.

“The reason we lost so many seats in the 2008 election is because the Malays have forgotten themselves,” he said.

“For a community to stay in power, they must understand politics of numbers, which states when many come together, we can determine something,” he added.

Of course, Rais can say all that. At an Umno event, where its leaders appear to want to drive a wedge between the Malays and those not from the dominant community. How long more before we get leaders who want to promote everything Malaysian, rather than narrow racial lines?

Or do we wait for gems from leaders like Rais who also told the Malays today not to worry over the latest survey by independent pollster Merdeka Center which found support for BN among the Chinese was waning.

“Though recent polls show that Chinese support is low, don’t worry. As long as Malays practise politics of numbers, we will benefit,” he added.

Rais is a well-respected minister with years of experience and that is why it is disappointing that such talk should come from him. Especially when his boss is criss-crossing the country with a slew of 1 Malaysia-stickered initiatives to get the people together and be 1 Malaysia.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 6:47 pm

Najib’s 1Malaysia is a complete failure because even his own Cabinet colleagues, such as Muhyiddin and Rais, do not support his idea.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 7:02 pm

It is unbecoming of a minister to play the race card at the launch of the 1 Malaysia Social Media Convention in Selangor. Rais’ comment readily revealed the agenda behind Najib’s 1Malaysia, which is to fish non-Malay votes.

3. #3 by Loh on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 7:14 pm

///Cooperatives minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob says his used his ministerial powers to exempt Isa Samad from KPF’s by-laws.///–Malaysiakini

So the Minister is above the law!

4. #4 by PoliticoKat on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 7:56 pm

1Malaysia has been and always was nothing more than a sound bite to win non-malay votes. There was no substance to it even at the start.

So why even write about it? Why even the surprise when our ministers play the race card? I am sure Najib too will place the race card when it suits him.

Can we stop talking about why 1Malaysia? The whole PR thing cost malaysia 77 millions in fees to APCO per year. And what about the 1Malaysia emaill accounts that was suppose to cost RM50 million. Or the 1Malaysia store that sold poor quality goods.

The whole 1Malaysia is and like all things Malaysians a PR stunt that cost Malaysians alot of money, good only as a way for politicians to siphon off cash to their private accounts.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 8:22 pm

And For Your Information, isn’t only RAIS.

The whole mob gang of UMNO ministers fromjib (the way he panders to Perkasa and his record of speeches since UMNO Youth days; a leopard doe not change its stripes!), Muhyidin, Nazri, Zahid, Kinabatangan bloke, Aziz- big-mouth from JB, Kerismudin, and the list goes on. Rais is a Chameeleon – imagine he was once Ku Li’s deputy in Semangat 46; how the bloke has changed!

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 9:09 pm

Honestly, given that I expected GE still in July, I expected a lot worst by now..If during the GE, I don’t hear speeches to like ‘blood of Chinese and Keling’ and a good amount of swearing and foul words on Chinese, Indians, foreigners, jew, gays etc. I would be really surprise.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 9:14 pm

Truly racist, lice ! But no surprise, rakyat knew dat UmnoB is a RACIST party
    What say U, MCA, Gerakan, n other slaves of UmnoB

8. #8 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 - 9:25 pm

Hypocrite minister!

9. #9 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 6 June 2012 - 2:03 am

MCA minister: Who cares? What me worry? As long as I got my free WWW plate, OK 1 lah

10. #10 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 6 June 2012 - 2:05 am

CSL: Who cares? What me worry? As long as $$$ moved fr left pocket to right pocket; guess whose right pocket is it? Ho, ho, ho

11. #11 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 6 June 2012 - 10:24 am

I have been voting BN and UMNO for decade. I vote BN not because of MCA was in BN and thus represent Chinese. I do not care who the parties and what the race are. Race is not the issue. I will vote any party that are democratic and anti corruption. I have abandon BN since last GE and I am voting PAS now. I will continue voting PAS as I believe PAS is sincere. i also pay high respect to Tok Guru and I believe PAS together its alliance of PR, will replace UMNO very soon.

12. #12 by sotong on Wednesday, 6 June 2012 - 11:42 am

“For a community to stay in power, they must understand politics of numbers, which states when many come together, we can determine something,”

This explains the Project IC and other policies and practises to increase numbers at all cost.

Ordinary people are not concerned about people coming together for greater good of the country…but not covering up and accepting bad leadership, gross mismanagement, corruption, incompetent and etc..

13. #13 by Ray on Wednesday, 6 June 2012 - 12:21 pm

If 1 Malaysia = Malays Only …absolutely BIGOTRY

All Rakyats Malaysia comes this 13 GE “”We All Must Unite Together and Ensure PR Victory and Vote out UMNO BN Bloke MPs as much as possible in all constituencies.

14. #14 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 6 June 2012 - 8:02 pm

LIOW TENDER FOR 15K BUT LATER WAS TOLD HE CAN GET IT FREE? HOW THE SYSTEM? YOU SCRATCH MY BACK AND I SCRATCH BACK?

THE TRANSPORT MINISTRY HAS CLEARLY MISUSED THE POWER BY NOT COLLECTING A DEBTS THAT HAS BEEN PROVIDED IN THE TENDER.

15. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 8 June 2012 - 8:05 am

What can a BANKRUPT politician offer?