Umno and the captive Malay mind

By Sakmongkol AK47 | May 21, 2012

MAY 21 — When you travel along the Seremban highway you will see so many large posters of Najib exhorting the people with his usual sloganeering — Sejuta Impian, Seribu Keriangan. For slogans he got an A++ from Tun Daim. Translated loosely it says, “A Million Dreams, A Thousand Happiness”.

Where do these dreams and happiness come from? Look at the posters closer. The posters tell of the basic building block on how Umno sees itself. Umno sees itself as the omnipotent being from where all providence spring from. Hence Umno wants to be deified to whom the people, rakyat, owe complete loyalty and allegiance to. It therefore doesn’t understand why people, most notably Malays find Umno revolting.

This is what Najib doesn’t understand. People no longer accept ascriptive stature without demanding more than just your name and position. Beyond your name and position, people want to know what can be achieved. People look out for achieving qualities. What have you achieved and what policies can you offer to achieve the greater good. Otherwise, you can put all the behemoth-sized posters along highways, people will just regard them as another way the government spends money like it’s theirs.

The posters show they (dreams and happiness) emanate from the office of the PM. Everything comes from the government and Najib. His portraits make him look more and more like the Korean Kims by the day. He has certainly shown his dark side by unleashing the repressive forces during the recent Bersih 3.0. How can a leader of his country allow the police to fire tear gas and water cannons on his own people? What kind of PM can describe people as accursed bastards?

That is why Najib goes around saying “lu tolong gua, gua tolong lu” and “give me your nambikei”. This is the fundamental flaw which Najib commits every time he relates to people. He is pictured as the larger-than-life figure, the office of the PM is in the background hovering and towering over the mass of people depicted as the rakyat with the dreams and the hope for happiness. The rakyat, people, my fellow citizens, my fellow Malays are always depicted as smallish entities, numberless digits.

Najib is a leader of the government that sees the rakyat as digits to be manipulated and shaped at will. He might as well say “my fellow slaves, ask not we your masters can do for you, but ask what you can do to enrich and make us more powerful”. Najib’s government is that collection of individuals who exercise the rule of the government over its constituents. Who is that collection of individuals? They are that collective of the elite and powerful. What do they do, every day and time of their waking life? We can call Umno by any name now — kleptocracy, oligarchy, plutarchy.

Najib preys on the susceptibilities and gullibility of the rakyat. The rulers claim a compassionate kindred with the common workers (aka slaves) and simultaneously enjoy the fruits of the labour of these menial serfs, also known as “my fellow citizens, rakyat, people” etc. So Najib goes around claiming, it is people first, achievement this and that.

But the posters tell you a different thing. People are always second. Achievement is a distant objective. The immediate objective is to secure unquestioning loyalty because the leaders are who they are and not what they can do.

So when you look closer at the posters next time, you will see them coming alive and saying ask not what your country can do for you — ask what you can do for your country. You will see that Najib is really saying — ask not what the elite and powerful can do for you, ask what you can do for the elite and powerful. — sakmongkol.blogspot.com

* Sakmongkol AK47 is the nom de plume of Datuk Mohd Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz. He was Pulau Manis assemblyman (2004-2008).

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 21 May 2012 - 10:56 am

I keep thinking that UMNO has completely lost the plot with Bersih. They are continually attacking Ambiga with actions and labels and its all ONLY ADDING TO HER LEGEND.

No one in their right mind can think of anything she did was wrong and yet SHE is the main focus of attack. It only confirms to the undecided that UMNO-Perkasa/BN is more afraid of the real truth then they are of actual lies told by their opposition (Why wouldn’t the opposition do it then you wonder???).

I tell you they have all lost their freaking perspective of the problem – they are simply afraid of the truth and reality and can’t reconcile with it..

2. #2 by Godfather on Monday, 21 May 2012 - 11:06 am

When Badawi was proven to be sleeping on the job, the phrase “cakap tak serupa bikin” was coined. In truth, it wasn’t that Badawi didn’t do as what he promised. He simply forgot that he had made promises, or he simply signed letters supporting multiple parties on one contract.

With Najib, the phrase “cakap tak serupa bikin” has sinister connotations. Najib doesn’t have the degree of dementia that his predecessor had. Najib makes promises in the full knowledge that he may not implement them. He makes promises based on the premise of buying time to fight another day or that the people he made promises to would forget fairly quickly. He uses acronyms so liberally because (a) he wants to impress the hell out of the rural folks and (b) people would forget what these acronyms meant anyway. NKRA, KPI, ETP, RAMBO, whatever. He pays heavily for publicity with taxpayers’ money, and surrounds himself with those sycophants who lie prostrate at his feet.

The educated Malays I know all laugh at him, but he doesn’t know it. He can’t tell that UMNO is going over the cliff. He’ll find out the hard way at the next GE.