Question to Najib for June Parliament – “would he give categorical assurance to accept verdict of voters in 13GE, including change of government in Putrajaya”?

Yesterday was the last day for the submission of questions by Members of Parliament for the June meeting of Parliament which is to sit for 12 days from June 11 to 28.

No one can state for sure whether the June meeting of Parliament will be held or whether Parliament will be dissolved before June 11 for the 13th general elections to be held, as this is a decision which the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak is agonizing over, even when abroad.

Be that as it may, if the June meeting of Parliament is held, I have put in a question for the Prime Minister, viz: “To ask the Prime Minister whether he would give categorical assurance that he, UMNO and Barisan Nasional would accept verdict of the voters in 13th General Election including change of government in Putrajaya.”

Earlier this evening, I saw a statement issued by 20 scholars expressing their concern that the 13th general election, which will be held “sometime between now and April 2013”, should be “the most free and fair elections held in the country for several decades” and calling on the government and other major players and stakeholders to scrupulously observe the “priority concerns which we see as key to ensuring an outcome that can have greater legitimacy among Malaysians and outside observers”.

Among their various proposals, the 20 scholars said that “to forestall any attempt at disruption of the election outcome, we propose that all political leaders and political parties agree to a short statement promising that they will respect the will of the people exercised at the polling booth as well as honour a peaceful transition of power”.

The 20 scholars proposed that this declaration, “to be jointly crafted by the ruling and opposition parties”, should be” widely disseminated as a public service to discourage any individuals or groups that may be intent on creating mischief aimed at overturning the outcome of the elections”.

DAP fully endorses the call for all political parties to make a firm commitment to “respect the will of the people” and “honour a peaceful transition of power”.
The question is whether Najib, UMNO and BN are prepared to make such commitments.

Najib has said that he wants Malaysia to be the “best democracy in the world”. If he is sincere and serious about this declaration, then he must demonstrate first that Malaysia qualifies to be a normal democratic country where peaceful transition of power through the ballot box is not only the democratic right of the voters but accepted as a normal and routine practice in the country.

Is he therefore prepared to make a clear-cut and unequivocal declaration that he, UMNO and Barisan Nasional would accept the electoral verdict of the Malaysian voters in the 13th General Elections, including a change of federal power in Putrajaya?

Is he prepared to retract his “crushed bodies, lives lost” declaration to the 2010 UMNO General Assembly to defend UMNO power at all costs in Putrajaya – which is completely against his claim that he wants to make Malaysia “the best democracy in the world”?

(Speech at the DAP Sarawak forum on “Two-Party System – Our Hope” in Kuching on Saturday, 19th May 2012 at 9 pm)

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 1:22 pm

Either Najib is tongue-tied, brain-dead or deaf and dumb.

So far, LKS and others have asked him to state his stand in simple and clear terms.

Najib is silent!

Silence is scary. Silence is suspicious. Silence speaks of bad and foul things in his mind.

Never trust a leader like Najib who has been stonily silent, tongue-tied, brain-dead or playing possum.

I thought he behaved like that when first asked about that Mongolian girl! Was that before or after she was C-4-ed?

Frightening-lah.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 1:27 pm

I saw the caption of a Viewpoint article by Lee Wei Ling on the Singapore Straits Times online website “Respect that cockroach”.

I wonder what she meant?
    I wonder who she meant?
    I wonder if the cockroach C-4-ed anyone or just pissed and pooed on someone’s rice bowl?

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 1:53 pm

Jibby the C4er says: “What categorical assurance lu mau? It is my birthright to be pee am till akhirat! Lu tak suka, boleh balik Tiongsan!”

4. #4 by eh on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 3:31 pm

Not only PM, Umno and BN accept the verdict……Please also ensure the army and forces do not take side and not take matter into own hand….that the Yang Di Pertuan Agong…exercise his power to protect the people of this nation…

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 5:11 pm

Najib has been shaken to the core by Bersih and the hierarchy of UMNO is feeling it. Najib has grabbed at every straw he can to attack Bersih with very mediocre comments. The ‘butt’ and ‘burger’ incidents clearly shows that within UMNO hierarchy they think he is shaken.

Najib is already unsure over his long preparation to stacked the GE in his favour.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 5:14 pm

AhCHEATkor’s reply: WHAT categorical assurance U want fr me?
    I NO WASTE time reply U 1, cos me NO LOSS in GE13, me got all systems working 4 me n UmnoB/BN, SURE WIN 1 what; U n PR keep dreaming lah
    D butt shaking team will go 2 ur house 2 fart fart, dat’s d assurance fr me

7. #7 by yhsiew on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 5:36 pm

The recent spate of political violence, such as a bunch of goons smashing DAP members’ vehicle-windscreens, Nurul and Ambiga being chased by thugs while on their way to give a speech and university students were assaulted while camping out at Dataran Merdeka, shed light to us that there is unlikely to be peaceful transition of federal power should Pakatan wins the 13th GE. In the worst scenario, Najib will probably resort to emergency rule to find a way out.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 6:57 pm

Violence has oredei started 2 intimidate rakyat, U no C meh, REDshirts everywhere
    Veterans too can go 2 d front of 1’s house 2 perform bum shaking n fart fart

9. #9 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 8:34 pm

UMNO’s track records show that it is a bad loser. Look at the aftermath of GEs which they fared badly.

Why did the parliament of whole Malaysia got wiped out just because some murderers ran rampagne in KL? The decision of people in other states, who were peaceful and living as normally like always, had their votes disregarded?

What happen to Sabah, after UMNO lost power? Huge and unreasonable increase of voters there….impact linger until today and foreever

What happen when the judiciary ruled with independence and conscinece? That 1988’s show came

With Bar Council members exercise their votes to officiate their stand, BN administration plan to set up a parriot like alternative council perhaps

Recent political violence, including fire bombing of Teresa Kok’s home, hanging of dead chicken at Teo Nie Ching’s service centre, assault on Anwars’ & the 2 Melaka ADUNs’ care, attack on participants of ABU seminar, himpunan hijau in Penang, successive attacks on Bersih assemblies, Jerit Cyclists, putting YB Ng See Lum in hospital etc the list goes on and on

Can Najib ensure the best democracy? For Utusan and Perkasa, probably it’s better than the best.

10. #10 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 8:37 pm

we rakyat Malaysia must reject violent and gutter politics. Do you want to vote for an administration that avoid proper debate and use divisive methods to scare and confuse?

We want a clean, fair, peaceful, professional and responsible administrative.

This tax payer has decided for himself.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Sunday, 20 May 2012 - 9:51 pm

We rakyat want a friendly, peace-loving government and not one that intimidate its people.

12. #12 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 21 May 2012 - 8:43 am

Following the works of democracy, of course umno would have to bow out and let in the victorious party.

Following the works of best democracy … huh? Oh yeah. So what is supposed to happen under jib’s best democracy? Maybe when umno loses, ros ros cantik would take over or something. No? Oh, that cant be. Then we would be without a first lady. I ni confused sangat lah.

But never, walaupun confused I tetap pilih opposition.

ABU.

13. #13 by good coolie on Monday, 21 May 2012 - 5:54 pm

These are the best times for achieving a corruption-free government. UMNO Baru and its lackeys (no need to mention the names of these insignificant, rakyat-rejected parties) dare not resort to military coups, Special Operations Councils, and similar convenient methods of governing Malaysia. This is the modern world: they can’t fool the world; much less can they fool Malaysians.