UMNO has reduced politics in Malaysia to its lowest depths as illustrated by two disgraceful events yesterday – Perkasa “funeral rite” in front of Lim Guan Eng’s house and invasion of Bersih 2.0 co-chairperson Ambiga’s privacy

UMNO Baru is celebrating its 66th anniversary although it is only 24 years old as it was legally registered in 1988 after the officially-engineered deregistration of the original UMNO and which was why the first and third Prime Ministers, Tunku Abdul Rahman and Tun Hussein Onn refused to be members of UMNO Baru.

Be that as it may, it is indisputable that UMNO today has reduced politics in Malaysia to its lowest depths as illustrated by two disgraceful events yesterday – the Perkasa “funeral rite” in front of Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s house in Penang and the invasion of Bersih 2.0 co-chairperson Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan’s privacy.

In the former case, a group of 30 Perkasa members showed up at about 10.20 am and in a 15-minute demonstration in front of Guan Eng’s house in Pinhorn Road, Penang, threw posters of Guan Eng at his front gate and placed a framed photo of him with a garland of flowers to signify his “death” to the Malay community.

What is most deplorable is the total failure of action by the police authorities.

The Perkasa “funeral rite” is nothing less than a “death threat” to Guan Eng.

Is it conceivable that if such a “funeral rite” or “death threat” demonstration had been staged by protestors outside the residence of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Cabinet Ministers or those of UMNO/Barisan Nasional Mentris Besar/Chief Ministers, the police would have been equally passive and indifferent?

What is equally shocking is not only the tacit support for such disgraceful misconduct by the other Barisan Nasional component parties, but there is even a MCA national operative who could openly endorse on the Internet such “funeral rite” or “death threat” protest outside Guan Eng’s house!

Would the MCA national operative agree if such “funeral rite” or “death threat” protests are staged by protestors outside the residence of MCA Ministers, Deputy Ministers and leaders?

In the latter case, the petty traders group Ikhlas set up a burgher stall outside Ambiga’s house at Bukit Damansara, Kuala Lumpur to protest against loss of income caused by Bersih 3.0 “sit-in” on April 28.

Both these disgraceful incidents, marking a new low in Malaysian politics, would not have happened under the premiership of the first three Prime Ministers Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein or even under the fourth and fifth Prime Ministers, Tun Mahathir and Tun Abdullah.

Why then are they happening under the premiership of the sixth Prime Minister of Malaysia Datuk Seri Najib Razak?

Is this what Najib meant when he said he want Malaysia to become the “best democracy in the world”?

Is Najib and the UMNO/Barisan Nasional leaders aware of the sense of outrage by decent Malaysians, regardless of race, religion, political affiliation, class, gender or age at the degeneration of Malaysian politics to such depths as illustrated by these two disgraceful episodes against Guan Eng and Ambiga yesterday?

1. #1 by monsterball on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 1:40 pm

This is the way of interpretation of the law.
    Yes Siree…this UMNO is Mahathir’s party.
    It has a “b” ..call ” UMNO b” with Mahathir as the first member…..then …slowly removed the “B” …and keep calling it UMNO when the original UMNO is gone…killed by Mahathir….with Tunku died without a political party.
    It’s around 25 years old and they are celebrating 66th year of formation.
    Even with their political party…these UMNO b rouges and thieves can twist and turn with no shame.
    And the two events???…..one to Lim Guan Eng..another to Ambiga…it’s UMNO b trademarks of dirty politics….no more …no less.
    Cow heads…Christian bashing….pig head…all to divert attentions of their massive corruptions issues.
    250,000 walked.
    Those are no fools with millions at home understand and supporting BERSIH 3….and here…BERSIH 3 must be prove dirty…by the dirty crooks.
    Why are they like that?
    Simple….25 years fooling Malaysians…especially the Muslims…is all they can continue and hope Malaysia has more idiots and smart ones.

2. #2 by Sapere Aude on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 2:19 pm

YB Lim

We strongly condemn Perkasa’s “funeral rite” in front of Lim Guan Eng’s house as well as invasion of Ambiga’s privacy.

But, we also strongly condemn DAP’s highhanded rebuff of Tunku Aziz for sharing his PERSONAL view.

DAP’s such drastic measure against someone who voiced out his personal opinion has virtually denuded the party of any integrity and credibility.

We agree with what Tunku Aziz has said, “I always thought that as a democratic party, they would allow for dissent. I have read Kit Siang’s book Right to Dissent. It’s an important book that suggests that dissent is something they embrace as part of their political philosophy but obviously that is not what they practise.”

In this post-meridian of DAP’s first term in Penang, with the horologe of politics ticking away and rakyat’s cynicism quotient of the party fast increasing, DAP’s handling of Tunku Aziz’s case is a clear case of view halloo!

Yes, UMNO has reduced politics in Malaysia to its lowest depths. But, so has DAP!

Tell us why should we continue to root for you and this party of comedy?

P.S. YB, if you are still serious about what DAP is fighting for and stand for then don’t block our view stated here, and let others share it and judge us, as well as you and DAP.

3. #3 by lkt-56 on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 2:52 pm

Reply to Sapere Aude:
    I have my reservation about Tunku Abdul Aziz. We have seen too many opportunistic people around. The honesty and integrity of Tunku Abdul Aziz will be tested by time and we observe his subquent actions. The best way to deal with the situation is to leave him alone.

4. #4 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 2:57 pm

Monyet. No better than that. That is what they are. Monkeys.

5. #5 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 2:59 pm

When the burmese military government saw the pressing and real need to step back and make way for more democracy those monkeys in our ruling party decided to push ahead with ever more silly shows.

If monkeys come. I whack whack with cane!

6. #6 by SENGLANG on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 3:22 pm

THE POLICE HAS BECOME BYSTANDERS BUT NO ACTION. THEY ARE ANOTHER ARM OF UMNO. IT SEEM THEY ARE THERE TO PROTECT THE PERKASA MEMBERS THUS THEY ARE SO DARING.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 3:26 pm

Reply to Sapere Aude:
    I am not here to take sides. I do not know whether one is required to declare his loyalty to DAP when he signs up to be a DAP member. If Tunku Aziz had agreed to such statements as, I will adhere to the party’s aims and struggles, I will not do harm to the party, etc, when he signed up to be a DAP member, then, DAP’s treatment to Tunku Aziz for sharing his personal view was not highhanded. It is because at the time of joining the party, Tunku Aziz had been “pre-warned” that he had to abide by the party’s rules if wanted to become a DAP member.

8. #8 by Dap man on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 3:52 pm

Sapere Aude,
    Whoever you are, you don’t seem to be able to differentiate between the two issues. You sound more like an MCA operative.
    If one decides to join a political party is has to submit to party discipline. If one’s action is detrimental to the well being of the party, then I would advice that person to just quit the party and shut up OR bring up the issue behind closed doors.
    I fully support DAP’s response to Tunku Aziz outburst.
    Conducting funeral rites for the CM is the lowest level any human being can go to. In all my years I have never seen Malays behaving in such a barbaric and uncivilized manner.
    They were once referred to as ‘nature’s gentleman’.
    These men must curse the day they were born.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 3:54 pm

I suggest Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan to ask DBKL why it did not take action against those hawkers in front of her house, then we will know the mastermind behind all this madness.

10. #10 by Winston on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 4:45 pm

There are still naive (stupid?) people out there in this country who don’t seem to know that many so-called respectable persons can be and have been turned into frogs by the UMNO/BN government.
    And with the tide turning against it, anything goes and with money being no problem, since it’s taxpayers’ money, even so-called “clean” people can become unclean.
    That’s the reality of politics in this country.

11. #11 by drngsc on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 4:46 pm

Yes, politics in Malaysia has gone to gutter level, sam seng level politics. It is all about shit, funeral rites, sex videos, and when all else fail, sam seng behaviour. That is exactly why we are working so hard to change them After 55 years, that is where we have reached. We cannot allow another year of these blokes.
    Hi DAP men, we must allow Aude his say. He as a public has a right to have his say.
    Unfortunately Aude, Tungku Aziz does not have that freedom. He decided to take up Politics and he decided to join DAP of his own volition. That is why he is bound by party discipline, because what he says affects the party. He has every right to air his views in the Party meetings. All society have party discipline. UMNO / BN / MCA / MIC all have that. In fact they often enforce the whip to keep their MPs in line. Personal views are no longer important in Politics. Party views are. There is a difference Aude. I am sure that you can see that. I am sure that Tungku knows that.
    Senatorship in this Senate appointment is also a party nominee. So it was all done properly by YB LGE / DAP. I only wish that UMNO / BN will also do things properly, and not have 3 parties in one UMNO, and 3 MCA in one MCA.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. No more gutter Politics. GE 13 is coming. Let us work very very hard to change the tenant. 55 years is enough, more than enough. Let us save Malaysia from UMNO / BN

Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

12. #12 by jus legitimum on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 4:53 pm

Tunku Abdul Aziz should have toed the party line to support the unanimous decision on the 428 sit in at Dataran Merdeka.As a national leader of DAP,he must always bear in mind what he says publicly.Regarding the two ugly and shameless incidents,PR will gain more votes and popularity in the coming GE brought about by the backlash caused by these two dastardly and abhorrent acts.

13. #13 by sotong on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 5:16 pm

It’s Tunku personal view full stop.

His party has a responsibility to other parties in PR in this matter.

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 6:35 pm

Wayne Rooney cannot go on the pitch and say ‘I don’t agree with the coach’s tactics and instructions to the team. I want to play my own game during the match. I have the right to my own opinion and do my own thing and play as I please’.

If the coaches subsequently drop him from the team for not being a team player, can he complain?

15. #15 by negarawan on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 10:35 pm

I believe Ambiga is a Hindu by religion which forbids the consumption of beef. UMNO purposely made beef burgers in front of her house and attempted to serve her beef burgers. This is a disgusting violation and disrespect of her religious belief! Where is the police despite police report being made? What would happen if we set up a char siew pau stall in front of Najip’s house and throw him a char siew pau? Will the police react differently? What has happened to the integrity and professionalism of the police force?

16. #16 by negarawan on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 10:37 pm

I have heard some calls for the boycott of mamak restaurants and shops but I think we should not act rashly. It’s only a minority of mamaks who are acting as UMNO thugs. The real culprit is UMNO and we should not stereotype the entire mamak community.

17. #17 by Sapere Aude on Saturday, 12 May 2012 - 3:44 am

Appended below is what we’ve found in DAP’s party constitution. For the benefits of those who who think they know.

Joining a political party should not equate to selling one’s soul.

We rest our case.

————————————-

OBJECTS:

6. To establish integrity, ethics, compassion as core moral values to promote transparency as well as a liberal approach, mutual respect and understanding of our diverse cultural traditions and religious beliefs;

9. To promote, expand and enlarge democracy at all levels, particularly restoring local government elections, to give form and substance to people empowerment and participation in decision-making based on the principles of equality, free, fair and independent electoral process as well as freedom of the press;

CLAUSE IV
    CONDITIONS OF MEMBERSHIP

1. Every member shall be loyal to the cause of an independent Malaysia.

2. Every member must accept and conform to the
    constitution, programmes, principles and policies of the Party.