Putrajaya waffles on Lynas

— Ali Kadir
Mar 17, 2012

MARCH 17 — Somebody in the government thinks he is pretty smart by announcing the setting-up of a parliamentary select committee on Lynas’s rare earth plant in Gebeng.

This is a familiar tactic by the Najib government. When they are caught in a pickle, they scramble for a way out. And what is really shocking is how quickly they change their tone from steadfast defence of a stance, policy or project to building consensus, all in the name of votes.

Last year, Najib Razak and his colleagues ridiculed and demonised Bersih 2.0 and the calls for free and fair elections. Then, when they realised that the rakyat were with Ambiga Sreenevasan and friends and that they were onto a hiding, they set up a parliamentary select committee.

Now, after months of defending the Lynas project and even taking over the role of spokesman and defenders of the Australian company, they are once again buckling. No less than Najib vouched for Lynas, saying that the project was scientifically and factually safe.

I have no problem with a government that can stand up for its principles and defend unpopular policies, but how do Malaysians respect leaders who shiver and wilt at the slightest hint that they could lose some votes?

If the government did not have the resolve in the first place, why give Lynas a temporary operating licence even though the company has not put in place a system of waste management?

There is nothing more frustrating than a wishy-washy government. Not that Malaysians believe that much will come of this parliamentary committee; it is a public relations exercise since its findings will come out in three months while Lynas has a licence for a two-year trial run.

I stand corrected. There is something worse than a wishy-washy government: A wishy-washy government that is also devious.

1. #1 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 12:07 am

Hello, the Prime Minister just said PSC will not decide the fate of Lynas. Without the power to decide, the engagement with the public is just a public relation exercise to get the people to accept this project irrespective of whether the project is safe or otherwise? Why not just get APCO to do some spinning – that would have been more effective.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 5:46 am

Truly blardi USELESS n wasting time n $$$ going throu’ dis WAYANG
    Just SAY NO n pack d factory back 2 Ozi: JUST DO IT mah
    Still busy going round places 2 OFFER BRIBES here n there: gua tolong U, U tolong gua
    Enuf lah, ah CHEAT boy, U’ll hv 2 GO

3. #3 by sotong on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 7:20 am

Ali, our ordinary people lives are cheap….compare to the orang putih.

We don’t need this in our backyard to make a lot of money for a selected few.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 7:43 am

Money is already taken, how can they change their mind?

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 7:54 am

In America, they call this the ‘slip & slide’, in Singapore they called it ‘siam'(i.e., avoid in Hokkien). Together with making excuses, Like it or not, its a true and tried way in politics to contain your troubles even do well. We have plenty of businessmen and bosses in this country whose main skills are just these and have done very well. Our culture of conforming makes these skills particularly effective and useful to the opportunistic with power.

You want to beat these things effectively, its going to take culture change or they do it so often, even the most pathetic won’t put up with it.

• #6 by Winston on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 3:00 pm

The only way to stop all these nonsense is to be more determined than they.

6. #7 by yhsiew on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 8:18 am

If they keep waffling and foot-dragging, one cannot rule out angry Malaysians will go for Bersih 3.0 and Lynas 2.0 in one-shot before GE13.

7. #8 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 8:30 am

This is their nature.
    First denying and insulting…always protecting all the wrongs they have done…always saying no proof this and that.
    An when all the chips are down…out come the so call “democratic” nature to do what the people demands…and try new tricks again….always keep fooling Malaysians with their cunning..deceitful natures.
    You can never change them.
    Corruptions and dirty politics..too deeply rooted.
    Now few top ranking police offers .ex and present ones….are out to expose corruptions too.
    We are heading for the better with a change in govt. stronger and stronger each day..in spite of their never ceasing efforts to keep fooling Malaysians.

8. #9 by SENGLANG on Sunday, 18 March 2012 - 9:38 am

Out of no where we suddenly come to know this Lynas and the plant has been there. All the stakeholders are not aware of anything. But only with all the buildings and plant ready they are talking of seeking the people opinion. This is simply lies and they keep treating people like a fool. Even if they agreed to stop the project there will come to blame the opposition for the Hugh compensation to be paid to Lynas, they will also blame the people that since you all oppose the project you must bear the compensation.

This government is simply robbers. They will not seek the stakeholders and public opinion for all projects.

It is all lies all the way. They have to be punish in the next GE.

9. #10 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 8:46 am

Ok Ok Ok. So now umno wants to hv psc. Right. What if. Yeah just what if. I know umno will ensure that this what if never happens. So the psc is only a wayang. We all know that. But what if the psc condemns the project and recommends its immediate closure? What financial impact would that have? Would the people be compelled to compensate the project owners hundreds and hundreds of millions?