Don’t cry for me Argentina: Shahrizat resigns!

— Sakmongkol AK47
Mar 15, 2012

MARCH 15 — The other night as I was surfing the Astro channels, I came upon an interview with a crying woman. She was crying because Shahrizat Abdul Jalil had announced she would resign her Cabinet post. The poor crying woman was also saying — if Shahrizat resigns, then Nik Aziz must also resign. I suppose she was alluding to the case involving Nik Aziz’s son in law. The SIL was cleared.

The woman need not worry. If it’s a case involving opposition politicians and those related to them in question, the government machinery will leave no stones unturned to get to the bottom of the case.

Let me share with you the thoughts of a frequent visitor to my blog. This person shows he is a concerned Malaysian, mindful of the future of our country. He comments under the penname of OneMalaysian.

Here is a woman, whose husband clearly got RM250 million in very soft loans from the government to rear cows to meet 40 per cent of beef demand, but who instead took that money, spent a little bit on the actual project, and used the rest to invest in properties in Kuala Lumpur and Singapore, and to pay astronomical and undeserved salaries to her family.

Her husband has no background in rearing cows or producing meat. So why give him RM250 million when FELDA actually has a subsidiary that does? Why does the government give RM250 million to a well-to-do Bumiputera family when there are thousands of Malays living in rural Malaysia who clearly deserve just such a loan?

It is obvious, therefore, that Salleh, the husband, would not have got the loan if not for his wife’s position in the Cabinet and in Umno. Did she have no knowledge that that loan was given to her husband? Do we believe that she did not lobby for it? If it is true that she had nothing to do with the NFC project, are we to assume that the Cabinet and Muhyiddin drew lots from a big hat containing about 10 million Malay names and out popped Salleh’s name. He was the lucky Malay who got the loan. It could well have been Ariff Sabri, but sorry, Sakmongkol.

This is outright abuse of power by those who gave her family the loan. It is corruption because she had abused her position in the Cabinet. It is morally wrong because RM250 million could have been used to help the poor Malays, who deserve such help more than Shahrizat and her wealthy family.

And now, listen to what the PM and DPM say when she finally “resigns”. It was a sacrifice! Give me a RM250 million soft loan that may never be repaid and I will resign from any position! “Magnanimous”, that’s the word Muhyiddin used to describe her resignation. Hah? You abuse RM250 million of public money, resign reluctantly, and that is magnanimous?

And look how weak and immoral the PM is. Cabinet members serve at his pleasure. And if they don’t resign when they should, he has absolute power to sack them. But Najib seems powerless. He has to wait for her senatorship to expire, and then leave, that is, at her pleasure, not his. We cannot have such a weak, powerless, immoral PM governing this country. It is not good for the ordinary Malays, and not good for anyone else, except the Shahrizats of Malaysia.

If this sad NFC episode does not shake the ordinary Malays out of their stupor and see their leaders as thieves and not their benefactors and protectors, then nothing else would.

Res ipsa loquitur? — sakmongkol.blogspot.com

* Sakmongkol AK47 is the nom de plume of Datuk Mohd Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz. He was Pulau Manis assemblyman (2004-2008).

1. #1 by yhsiew on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 7:00 pm

Wonder who will foot the losses (Shahrizat’s family or the taxpayers?) after United Engineers of Singapore refused to lease out space for her family’s Farmhouse Supermarket. United Engineers revoked the agreement after Farmhouse Supermarket failed to open for business in time.

2. #2 by Winston on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 7:30 pm

The problem is how will the rural folks know just what sort of government this country is having and how to show them the light at the end of the tunnel?

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 7:40 pm

The kampung folks know what is going on. Many I spoke to are really distressed by this inequality after supporting UMNO for so long. We need to keep exposing these in the rural areas, and the wheel will turn against this bunch of crooks.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 9:08 pm

/// (1) This is outright abuse of power by those who gave her family the loan. (Her husband has no background in rearing cows or producing meat. So why give him RM250 million when FELDA actually has a subsidiary that does?) (2) It is corruption because she had abused her position in the Cabinet///. — Sakmongkol AK47. Does Statement (1) lead necessarily to conclusion in (2)? Yes it is clear tht she abused her position if she has a hand in approving the loan. However was she in the committee approving the Loan? If no, how did she abuse power? By accepting the Loan? If Sakmonkol AK47 were given the Loan would he reject it??? It is true that if she were not minister and UMNo, her family’s business (without track record in cattle feeding) would not even be considered. So if they were considered because of favoritism who bears the greater blame for abuse of power – the one gives the Loan comprising public funds frivolously or the one who receives and benefits from such a Loan? Even if one thinks that the beneficiary is somewhat tainted under the general idea of abuse of power wouldn’t it be the case that the giver is greater abuser than the taker/recipient? If so why is only the latter getting the brunt of the public blame and thrown the criminal charge?

5. #5 by cseng on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 10:24 pm

Is this NFC also part of NEP program or ETP program?

So whatever the name used, it is an excuse of developing local bumiputra talent, to enrich certain elites of Umnoputra/putri.

Year-in-year-out, how many such program with similar obejective, any success story to share?

Simply put, if you can make money out of properties investment, why depend on cow breeding?, if you can get ATM the money as you like, why need you invest in properties?

You can’t develop human by throwing money without much regulation and monitoring. You only can develop human telent by letting them to compete.

6. #6 by tak tahan on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 11:37 pm

Well said++

7. #7 by tak tahan on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 11:38 pm

This is good for thought-http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.com/2012/03/arab-spring-next-wave-to-hit-southeast.html

8. #8 by tak tahan on Thursday, 15 March 2012 - 11:42 pm

9. #9 by k1980 on Friday, 16 March 2012 - 1:49 am

When she finally “resigns”, it was labelled a sacrifice!

Consolation coming soon for her. For her ultimate sacrifice, she will be made a Tun….a multimillionaire Tun

10. #10 by k1980 on Friday, 16 March 2012 - 1:50 am

But she still cannot compare herself to Ah Long Sick, the multiBillionaire Tun

11. #11 by k1980 on Friday, 16 March 2012 - 8:20 am

Let me introduce to you all the new united mamak nasional organization wanita chief……

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-M2y1sB9bWhU/TytUvTA0r_I/AAAAAAAAECQ/XQ3bhRJ5wYI/s1600/Optimized-rafidah_shahrizat.jpg