Standing up against political gangsterism

By Othman Wahab | February 29, 2012

FEB 29 — What would you do if a group of individuals constantly threatened you, used thuggish language and behaviour to intimidate you and your family, friends and neighbours?

How would you react if your legitimate right to express your opinion or gather as a peaceful assembly to express an opinion on a matter close to your heart, is challenged by gangsters and politicians behaving in such manner?

What would you say if your brother or sister attending a political gathering was assaulted by thugs who are acting with the support of the government?

Would it be acceptable to you if your elected representatives are being threatened with bodily harm, abused with racist epithets and prevented from speaking to Felda settlers by thugs?

Is it alright that journalists or social activists are being threatened by these gangsters and that the police watch like uninterested spectators?

What do we make of police inaction after 10 men were arrested for putting up posters defaming Ambiga Sreenivasan and A. Samad Said of Bersih?

I believe that these are questions we need to answer, because in recent weeks, Mohamed Sabu, Nurul Izzah Anwar, Lim Guan Eng, Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad and other Opposition members have been threatened by Perkasa and Umno Youth members. Two Chinese newspaper journalists were assaulted.

Mind you, we are not talking about “kongsi gelap” (triads) but state-sponsored intimidation and violence.

One last question: Would you stand idly and give in to this gangsterism by Umno/Perkasa?

1. #1 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 1:40 pm

The change agents are the people themselves. When many Malaysians say no to whatever that is bad, then that is the start of change. As long as Malaysians still play by the same rules of the same game, there will be no change or just change on the outside but no change on the inside.

2. #2 by Loh on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 1:42 pm

///PUTRAJAYA Feb 29 — Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad defended again his 22-year administration’s implementation of the New Economic Policy NEP stating that Chinese businessmen also benefitted when Malays were given contracts.///–MalaysianInsider

Mamakthir named three Chinese tycoons said to be his cronies and gained from NEP. Two million Chinese have left Malaysia because of NEP. Two million is clearly larger than three or three thousands.

Mamakthir said that other Chinese got jobs when Malays got their contracts. He can’t be so stupid as to believe that Chinese would prefer a subcontract to getting direct contract and be main contractor.

Chinese hate NEP and they stay because they have no choice but waiting to vote UMNO out of power.

3. #3 by Taikohtai on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 1:49 pm

In Queensland alone, there are already two ex-Malaysians who are billionaires by Malaysian standards. One is a coal miner and the other a property developer. I am sure there are many others elsewhere but their governments do not gloat like TDM. They dont have to.

4. #4 by Loh on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 1:51 pm

///PUTRAJAYA Feb 29 — Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad challenged PAS today to appoint DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang as its president after a lawmaker from the Islamist party said it was ready to accept Christian leaders.///–MalaysianInsider

PAS considered it appropriate that non-Muslims might be appointed to senior position of the since the party is involved in politics that affect non-Muslims.

UMNO fights only for Malays and it was really stupid to have appointed a Mamak to be president. That Mamak not only call Malays all kinds of names including that they forget easily just by pretending to be Malay, he also insulted the rulers, the institution dear to the heart of Malays. Malays are Muslims but not all Muslims are Malays. We now have Muslim criticizing Malays and he enjoyed the power reserved for Malay. Where are the Malays who care for the pride and future of its race?

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 1:51 pm

People should not even bat and eye-lid to what has been happening. By all means criticize it but truth be told, its only a pre-amble many times worst behaviour should the GE result cause UMNO-Perkasa/BN to lose power.

6. #6 by cseng on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 2:15 pm

Again, PDRM is a problem, the problem is BN.

These are the facts;

1) The penang CPO said “police were not notified of the event… no permit is required, but at least police were informed..”. It is expected the organiser foresee 50 thugs in Umno’s hat will be there to create problem.

2) The incident lasted, like hour or so, where is the red hat FRU? or the blue shirt police? beyond acceptable waiting time.

3) Days after this, what have police done?

4) Days after this, Umno and Perkasa said, they are not their member. Ironically, those thugs with Umno’s hat were present when they say this. Did not they shouted ‘hidup umno, that day?

Racism and gasterism are problem everwhere, but we are talking institutional rasism, we are suspecting gasterism that being compromised by the authority.

7. #7 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 2:20 pm

If an unmo leader had been threatened the way the Penang CM had been, Ahjib would had declared a nationwide emergency, impose martial law and postpone the 13GE to the year 3012!

8. #8 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 2:37 pm

Gangsterism is a new way to frighten voters.
    Be calm …be cool.
    We have seen it all…religion confrontation…provoking with pig heads….gas bombs…and many more.
    Keep smiling….relax and Najib will go mad.

9. #9 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 2:54 pm

The BN supporters are restless now. They can not lost their gold mine in politic that what they will resort to all means to threaten the opposition. They have been feed with all political corrupted money so much so that they can not let go now. By all mean they will fight with all dirty tactic.

10. #10 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 3:09 pm

Wonder why Chua SL is keeping so quiet over this transgression of democracy? He is thinking, “Next time you dap fellas kacau me, I shall call those unmo thugs to hentam you…”

11. #11 by sotong on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 4:14 pm

There is a strong culture of intimidation and violence.

Gangsters bordering criminals.

12. #12 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 4:35 pm

Of course umno set the standard for gangsterism. And that standard was definitively laid down by umno through macc in Teoh Beng Hock’s case. So you see, assault is only a small issue. Manyak cakap nanti kena benghock baru tahu. Ingat ya, umno pantang dicabar. Hak ketuanan umno tu supreme.

13. #13 by monsterball on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 4:41 pm

Chua SL can only talk big infront of his members .firing DAP… and quiet as a mouse …when he should be yelling on top of his head over gangsterism.
    This is current MCA party and president policy.

14. #14 by Winston on Wednesday, 29 February 2012 - 9:45 pm

Well, well, well!
    They are trying to protect their turf!!
    There’s no difference between them and the gangsters.
    This should galvanise us to go all out to ensure the demise of
    such political parties.
    And ensure that they’ll never ever surface again!!!