Of regime change and democracy in Malaysia

By Dr Mustafa K Anuar, Aliran Hon Secretary
16 February 2012

Aliran is troubled by the ex-premier Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s recent prediction in warning Prime Minister Najib Razak that Israel and the United States were “conspiring to cause a regime change in Malaysia through ‘a puppet government’ to be led by Anwar (Ibrahim)”.

This political ‘forecast’ has serious implications and repercussions for the country. If there is any grain of truth to this international conspiracy, then our sovereignty, and political independence and security would indeed be in jeopardy.

The gravity and severity of this matter, therefore, demand that Mahathir presents incontrovertible evidence to support his allegation. This will enable Malaysia to safeguard itself and remain as an independent nation in the world community, without fear that it would be transformed into a “client state” of the US or any other world powers for that matter.

Mahathir’s honest response would enable Malaysians, particularly their leaders, to take the necessary steps available in order to safeguard the country’s independence and sovereignty.

Mahathir’s allegation has implications for those voting in the forthcoming general election. They need to make an informed choice based on all available information, including his allegation, so that they can vote into power a group of politicians who really have the interests and concerns of the people and the nation close to their hearts. When such information is available, it would prevent them from voting in political leaders who would eventually colonise their minds and shackle their freedom of expression, assembly and association.

But if the former prime minister fails to convince ordinary Malaysians – with evidence – of this supposedly impending political catastrophe, then his cautionary call can only be interpreted as a desperate attempt to derail the democratic process of Malaysian citizens to vote for any political party of their preference, and for a meaningful change in their collective life.

Worse, it can also be seen as a calculated and mischievous attempt to equate the federal opposition with things that are evil. In short, to demonise the Pakatan Rakyat alliance – the members of which are legal entities – with baseless allegation is a despicable act that must be condemned without reservation.

We call upon Mahathir in all fairness to furnish Malaysians with some evidence pertaining to this serious matter. Otherwise, his prediction is as reliable as crystal ball-gazing.

1. #1 by cskok8 on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 11:58 am

Israel has always put in bad light but it is one of the few (if not only) country in the Middle East where rule of law prevails. Even Presidents and Prime Ministers have been charged and JAILED.

2. #2 by monsterball on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 12:12 pm

When there is a clean up for the better..you can always expect Mahathir to be the first to speak out….twist and turn like a snake.
    His sons have too much to loose and being the ring leader ..encouraging corruptions and double standards….citizen’s policy…to divide and rule….he is afraid…..very afraid…of Arab Spring.

3. #3 by Godfather on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 12:18 pm

During the 1998 financial crisis, Mirzan Mahathir was going to drown under the weight of too much debt, and his logistics company needed to be bailed out. Mamakthir called Petronas, but Hasan Marican was reluctant, and a hopping mad Mamakthir swore at the Petronas President. Finally, a compromise was reached with the help of then Finance Minister Anwar where Petronas hired Chase Manhattan bank to do an independent valuation, and Petronas abided by that valuation.

If there was no such bailout, Mirzan Mamakthir would not have survived that crisis.

The old fox is a liar extraordinaire. All@h keeps him alive to see the damage he was wrought on Bolehland.

4. #4 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 1:14 pm

Oh that old fart said a lot of other things as well. Well like the msc was a gift to the world. Like 911 was the works of CIA not unlike the creation of AVATAR the movie. And yes didnt he too once declare his conviction that anwar was guilty of sodomy I when subsequently the sodomy i charge was thrown out by the federal court? When still a PM, he also said many things to condemn the malays (actually umnoputras) and their clutch mentality / dependency But since 308 he has been arguing in favour of continuing the clutch culture.

This fella is totally inconsistent and unreliable. Before you know it he is going to claim that (wot?) guan eng is working with some decepticons from cyberton to overthrown ketuanan umnoputra!

5. #5 by k1980 on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 1:33 pm

Never in its history did Israel ever have a pm who ruled roughshod for 22 years. So who’s calling who black?

6. #6 by cseng on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 1:43 pm

I am a Malaysian, I felt what he s aid insulated my intelligence and many fellow Malaysians but not Umno members.

7. #7 by sotong on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 5:01 pm

He will say and do anything to confused…but it’s harder now with internet to show his failure unfolding.

8. #8 by mr mower on Friday, 17 February 2012 - 5:07 pm

Mamakthir is indirectly saying that there is going to be an emergency if BN falls. That’s all. I can imaging the future… When PKR takes over, there will many many jails and prisons to be built for all those who raped this country thru and thru… To all contractors who knows how to build prisons, get ready…!!!

9. #9 by Kampong Orang on Saturday, 18 February 2012 - 10:47 am

He will be judged by the Most High and by people of Malaysia for all those things he has done and said.

He marginalised sultans and let Taib to be super rich. He uses Official Secret Act to protect and cover up all he has done.

Is he a true Malay? No! Malays have been fooled by him for decades.

Siapakah Melayu Who are the Malays? : posted by a thoughtful Malay – http://steadyaku-steadyaku-husseinhamid.blogspot.com/2012/01/who-are-malays.html

10. #10 by Kampong Orang on Saturday, 18 February 2012 - 11:33 am

In Malaysia, you could not charge prime minister who blowed up a Mongolian mother using C4.

In Malaysia, all you have to do is to be elected and in UMNO and you are on your way to be super rich like Taib.

In Malaysia, you could murdered others even you are Anti Corruption Officers.

In Malaysia, you could give out mega tenders without open tenders (favours by Mathir) and don’t care about national debts.

I guess Israel is better managed their economies than Malaysia. If you say this more, they would tell you “move to Israel lah!”

11. #11 by Kampong Orang on Saturday, 18 February 2012 - 11:38 am

Mahatir Mohamed is not a doctor anymore. He has never practices it since 30 years ago.

Why still call him Dr?

When he applied to enter Singapore University, he wrote and applied as an “Indian”.

So, Indian could also be a Prime Minister of Malaysia. It doesn’t matter if he is capable. Like Obama could be president.

If our Prime Minister is an Indian, I guess our Malaysia’s supply of beef would be solved because our Indian friends manage well dairy farms and feedlot in Malaysia! haha..

We now must have an Indian deputy prime minister and Chinese deputy prime minister. Why?

The reason could be found in Penang. Bersih, Cekap dan Amanah.