Perlis Mufti slams NRD for annulling daughter’s citizenship

By Yow Hong Chieh
Dec 23, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 23 — Perlis Mufti Dr Juanda Jaya today lashed out at the civil service and Putrajaya after the National Registration Department (NRD) told him his daughter was not a Malaysian citizen.

The incident occurred earlier today when Juanda, who is Melanau, tried to renew his 12-year-old daughter’s identity card at the NRD office in Kuching.

“My child is stateless! What kind of system is this? Are we in Africa or chaotic Zimbabwe?” he said in a statement.

“At a time when many foreigners are said to have been given citizenship, my daughter who is a Melanau, a Sarawak Bumiputera whose right to citizenship is clearly preserved in the Constitution, is suddenly said not to be a Malaysian national.”

Juanda said that while his wife was an Indonesian citizen, there was no reason his young daughter should be victimised for this, especially since the NRD’s own records identified the child as a Melanau.

He pointed out his daughter had visited relatives in Jakarta earlier this month on her Malaysian passport, and questioned how she could possibly be tagged in the NRD system as a non-citizen in light of this.

“How would you feel if, as a Bumiputera whose people are clearly mentioned in the Constitution as being indigenous… to this country and whose constitutional rights are guaranteed, you are suddenly denied these rights by your beloved country’s system?

“The minimum right is for citizenship. Not the right to get a logging licence or windfall projects. And yet that right is denied by the existing system,” he said.

Juanda, who studied at the prestigious Al-Azhar University in Cairo, also likened his interaction with NRD Kuching to his dealings with Egyptian officials under Hosni Mubarak during his yearly visa applications then, and questioned the government’s claim that the civil service was now more efficient.

He said he was told by an NRD officer there to present a marriage certificate, despite the fact no such requirement was stated on any notice board there, nor was he asked for one when he had applied for his daughter’s identity card previously.

“Why is this? The home minister can grant citizenship to foreign nationals but the child of a Malaysian man is denied her citizenship?

“What has happened to our country’s system? Who will help my daughter get her citizenship?” he said.

1. #1 by Cinapek on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 2:41 pm

Dr Juanda,

1) Your daughter is too young to vote so of no value to BN unlike those illegals who are old enough to vote and so BN gave them citizenship if they vote BN.

2) I read somewhere that the Sabah and Sarawak “bumiputras” are not of the same standing as the Peninsula “Malay bumiputras”. Heck, someone even claimed that the Orang Asli in West Malaysia have lesser rights than the Malays, never mind even if the “malay” is a first generation local born mamak or Indon whose father arrived on our shores from abroad while the Orang Asli’s ancestors have been here more than 20,000 years ago. Ask Toyol. And many babas and nyonyas will tell you that they have been here more than 6 generations yet have someone from the PM’s department calling them “pendatangs” and that their women came here selling their bodies. So your problem is nothing compared to this.

3) Is your daughter very smart? If she is, giving her IC and bumi status will mean one more person to compete with the W.Malaysia bumis for scholarships or other privileges.

4) Taib is Melanau too isn’t he? Ask the NRD civil servant what is the ethnicity difference between Taib and your daughter since they are both Melanaus. Since we have different classes of bumis, maybe we also have different classes of Melanaus? NO?

All those recent pay rise and goodies for civil servants must have gone to their heads and in this heady atmosphere they cannot think straight. As a man of religion, forgive them-lah for they know not what they are doing.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 2:47 pm

if your daugher is a mamak or pure Indonesian or Bangladeshi or Mindanao muslim …or if yr daughter is of voting age and promises to vote UMNO, then maybe…just maybe….

Welcome to Malay-babwe, the new Bolehland for some, tak Bolehland for others.

3. #3 by cseng on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 3:48 pm

Don’t worry En Mufti, MACC raided NFC, Khir found guilty, more unexpected news coming in… It is election time!.

The window time is opened, ask whatever you think is right, santa is coming…

4. #4 by cseng on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 3:52 pm

Sorry Sharizat!, it has nothing to do with MACC, PDRM nor public fund management, the only problem is your timing! you have to go for now until election is done.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 8:13 pm

Civil servants r promised a salary raise
    Some of them regarded themselves as gomen servants n zealous 2 please their UmnoB masters by terminating d citizenship of JJ’s daughter
    Soon they will go after JJ, Melanau or no Melanau

6. #6 by cemerlang on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 9:46 pm

The thing with East Malaysia is really sad, so sad that East Malaysia is not regarded as a real Malaysia. Don’t talk about citizenships. Even the status of Sarawakians and Sabahans being Malaysians is unaccepted to West Malaysia. How can the country hope to achieve its best when basic issues are not solved ? Do we still want to continue on as one country or is it time to call it quits ? Can Sarawak or Sabah survive on its’ own ? Sabah is better off than Sarawak. The salary raise is not much and so don’t expect too much from your UMNO masters. If you want a lot, you will have to go to greener pastures.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 11:12 pm

It is called ‘Transformasi’. Things can change overnight. Are you in the good books?

If Taib Mahmud has a child with his Arab wife, maybe the child will also be a non-citizen? But Taib is Taib. Juanda is Juanda.

Why is it difficult for you to produce your legit marriage cert? Is there a problem? You can always f@@k them later and you can always complain to PEMANDU, PEMUDAH, Complains Bureau, Michael Chong or even to PERKASA, ANGKASA or MOMBASA or Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.

8. #8 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 1:47 am

It’s all about votes.
    Parents can’t vote…child can’t vote….so these idiots expose who they are….real idiots….never think..never read.
    I wonder do they know… where Melayu came from…..the jungle people from Indonesia with mixed Chinese ..Thai and some Indian blood from Medan….whose closet relative…is the Minangkebau.

9. #9 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 3:03 am

No forgiving.
    These are UMNO b government servants.. die hard voters….feeling no shame…not knowing where their salaries came from.
    All think UMNO b pays their salaries as if ……UMNO b owns the country..and they are forever indebted to UMNO b.
    These kind of mentalities…no forgiving.
    Just vote BN out and hope they learn the real truth later.
    Meanwhile…it is a battle FOR or AGAINST.
    Najib has declared it. Why should we forgive?
    To forgive is to keep voting for BN.
    Is that it?

10. #10 by boh-liao on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 8:35 am

Dis is 1M’sia, ie, UmnoB/BN want all 2 bcome UmnoB Malays, nevermind mamak, mixed, nonMelayu origin – as long as all b UmnoB Malays, corrupt, warts n all, OK 1

11. #11 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 9:14 am

Great country we have.
    Ex MB of Selangor….Hurun Idris was sentenced to 6 years jail for RM1 million cheating case.
    Ex MB of Selangor….the famous dentist…Toyo sentenced to 1 year jail….and will be out …within 7 months..for cheating much much more.
    Under Najib…cheating is encouraged.

12. #12 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 9:26 am

Yip…Give all poor Malaysians RM24 million and all are willing to go to jail for 1 year…come out 7 months later….filthy rich.
    I wonder how many years will one have to go jail for cheating more than RM700 million…plus killing one to shut the mouth?

13. #13 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 9:30 am

What about an old man exposed cheating more than RM100 billion in 22 years?
    I guess…3 years jail is enough.
    Sure to die in jail.
    However…it should be at least 22 years…to show justice favours no one….not even a cowherd woman.

14. #14 by cemerlang on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 1:20 pm

Malaya already got a legit wife. Now run away to Thailand to marry Sarawak. Of course there is no cert to show. Then run away to mainland China and marry Sabah. Transformasi what ? Oh ya. Malaya can have four wives. Which means you have to legit it. Complain to youknowyouknow and you will know it is all fishy business. I help you. You help me. Secret society help boss. Boss help secret society.

15. #15 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 1:43 pm

So many stateless Malaysians who deserve not to be stateless at all…but they are.
    They will stay stateless as their votes are unreliable to support UMNO b..wholeheartedly.
    Thousands Indonesians became Malaysians overnight…because UMNO b got their solemn vows to vote for them…as all are given jobs in govt. sectors…be it farmers…drivers…laborers…and even in the police and bodyguard positions.
    Such has been UMNO b ways to keep on winning elections with so call Malaysian votes plus down right cheating…with phantom votes….for decades…so much so…there is not less than one million Indonesians made Malaysians…right now,
    If you take all that away….UMNO b would have been thrown out long ago…especially when Anwar was jailed by Mahathir….and his Operation Lallang…openly showed he was a Dictator.
    The time has arrived with the power of the Force…in the name as PR parties.
    Still plenty of ideas how to cheat and win…by Najib…but all will not work this time.
    Only option is to declare a Police State..create fear for Emergency Rule…which got Mahathir saying….Najib is on the right track.
    These two biggest crooks must win at all cost…as both has so much to loose…if PR takes over.
    Old man may slip away….to avoid investigations…and court cases.

16. #16 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 1:47 pm

Malaysians must vote for new government or deserves the label as the biggest idiots and selfish fools in the developed world…enjoying such insults and criticisms from foreigners.

17. #17 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 3:42 pm

Hasan Ali apologized to PAS and start all over again.
    This is an art applied by pro UMNO b mole to upset PAS..and promote race and religion politics to favor the government and UMNO b leaders.
    I hope PAS is smart enough not to fall into his traps.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 3:44 pm

It’s Christmas eve n I’ve made a resolution 2 carry out some social programmes in 2012 2 help fellow M’sians
    Like 1 UmnoB deputy minister, I am appealing 4 DONATIONS to fund d social programmes (Plz note: I too don’t accept any contribution with vested interest)
    Watch out 4 my PERSONAL bank account number 2 transfer your fund in2, TQ
    Merry Christmas n God Bless!!

19. #19 by boh-liao on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 3:52 pm

If U r not UmnoB/BN kaki, U steal an XXL underwear, U get 5 years jail
    But UmnoB/BN kaki korek millions, only 12 months jail, pending appeal n may not even set foot into jail; UmnoB/BN’s justice!

20. #20 by sotong on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 4:38 pm

They don’t care…as long as they win GE!

21. #21 by Loh on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 5:05 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR Dec 24 — Datuk Hasan Ali has defended his numerous appearances in Umno-linked media as the best way to reach out to a wide audience regardless of their political loyalty.The PAS central committee member said it was appropriate to make use of media like TV1 TV2 and TV3 as they had the greatest reach and were keen on giving space to “people like him” “Whoever can best spread the news can reach the most people that’s the media we will choose ” he told reporters at his residence here today “If I only use PAS media I can only reach PAS supporters Umno supporters and others won’t be able to read it because of limited circulation ”.///—Malaysiakini
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/nothing-wrong-with-using-mainstream-media-says-hasan-ali/

Hasan Ali proves that he is useful to UMNO, or else how would he be given the opportunity to appear in government media to cause confusion among PAS members and also supporters of Pakatan Rakyat? He cannot claim that UMNO was stupid to allow him the opportunity. Hasan Ali can’t even convince anybody that because he is a Malay that UMNO does him a special favour. If it was true, then Anwar Ibrahim should not have to face trump up charges. UMNO kills anybody who are on its way to more power, and they would make use of anybody to advance its interest. The three ex-PKR members were said to be involved in corruption and we don’t hear about the case any more now that they have jumped like frogs to make BN the ruling party in Perak. UMNO eyes the big frog in the Selangor assembly. UMNO wants the lead frog in PAS to do what the ex-PKR frogs did in Perak.

22. #22 by Loh on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 5:16 pm

///The Selangor state executive councillor also said he was willing to meet the party leadership anytime to explain his comments carried by Umno-linked newspapers On Tuesday the outspoken PAS leader had accused the party of straying from its original struggle for an Islamic state by pushing for a welfare state as the latter could be championed by anyone and did not have to be based on the Qur’an But Hasan picture said today he now understood the welfare state proposal adopted at the PAS general assembly in June and approved by the Ulama Syura Council to be the same as the Islamic state PAS has fought for since the 1970s.///– Malaysia Insider
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/hasan-ali-regrets-criticising-pas-welfare-state-idea/–

That man obviously does not appreciate that roses by any name smell as sweet. To him anything must be named after Islam. He knows not the virtue of anything not already spelled out in the name of Islam. PAS would be wasting on the opportunity to have this man represented in any body, much worse as a representative of the people, in any constituency. His statement confirms his qualification as a BTO trainer in the racist UMNO civil servant racism brainwashing programme.

23. #23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 5:31 pm

Now Home Ministry blames untrained NRD staff for Juanda’s daughter’s i/c application bungle.

Everytime BN government screews up, they blame on untrained staff.

Now we should ask untrained Home Minister to resign.

Kerismuddin, resign, resign, resign.

24. #24 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 5:38 pm

Obama returned USD$70,000 donation from Corzine. Anything smacking of corruptuion, return!

Hello, Adek Awang, pls call a press conference And return all those monthly depositis; anything stinking or smells anywherenear it, return!

UMNO, pls return all contributions by NFC, Dr Ismail (Shahrizat’s husband) or children or Shahrizat herself. Also, Minister of Agriculture, past and present, plese pay for all favours given by Shahrixzat’s family. Call a press conference & come clean. The puiblic must be informed.

All other Ministers, even Ag or Judges, if u have accpeted free ridwes or flights of fancy, pay up. Return, return, return. Chinese tradition, all debts mnust be settled before New Yr; only 1 week to go.

Wow. lots of press conferences coming up & confessions too. NST, BH, Utusan – enjoy yr scoops of sh…iitt.

25. #25 by cemerlang on Sunday, 25 December 2011 - 1:05 am

untrained…anybody train you to be a politician ?

26. #26 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 December 2011 - 5:25 am

Yes, even a police dog needs training….

….the least that is needed is a real education, followed by some down-to-earth training,
    not UMNO-like orgies and parties!

27. #27 by boh-liao on Sunday, 25 December 2011 - 3:30 pm

So NOW JJ’s daughter can collect her MyKad; JJ n daughter eternally grateful 2 UmnoB/BN, kow tow lor n don’t forget 2 vote U know what mah