MACC should interrogate Shahrizat about the corruption scandals affecting all UMNO leaders

The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) turnabout, announcing that it is investigating allegations surrounding the National Feedlot Corporation (NFC) despite previously saying it would not probe the matter, signifies two things:

• The political heat of the RM300 million cattlegate/cow-condo scandal, involving the Wanita Umno leader and Minister for Women, Family and Community Development, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil is becoming unbearable for the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak; that her days are numbered and it will be a surprise if she could politically survive into the new year although it is only nine days away;

• A big “black eye” to end the third year of operation of the MACC, plunging public confidence in the independence, integrity and professionalism of the MACC to an unplumbed low, after the earlier series of “black eyes” like the MACC deaths of Teoh Beng Hock and Ahmad Sarbaini Mohamed; MACC used as political pawns to persecute Pakatan Rakyat leaders/activists like Teoh Beng Hock, Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim and former Perak Pakatan Rakyat Speaker V Sivakumar; abysmal failure to check “grand corruption” highlighted by Malaysia’s worst Transparency International (TI) Corruption Perception Index 2011 ranking of No. 60 and score of 4.3 in the past 17 years.

The MACC Chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Abu Kassim Mohamed should resign for the disgraceful cop-out of MACC of no investigation into the RM300 million cattlegate/cow-condo scandal, and the about-face six weeks later, ostensibly after getting the “green light” from the political masters who found the escalating “heat” from the scandal increasingly unbearable and intolerable, especially with the coming general elections around the corner.

The Malaysian public have no confidence that the MACC, with its history and record, would get to the bottom of the RM300 million cattlegate/cow-condo scandal.

The MACC said in a statement today that a special team headed by MACC investigations director Datuk Haji Mustafar Ali has been formed to investigate claims of misappropriation of NFC funds.

It claimed that the commission had been collecting evidence and testimony since the issue was reported in the Auditor-General’s 2010 report and “appropriate action has already been taken on issues raised”.

When was this MACC special team formed? When did the MACC start collecting evidence and testimony on the NFC scandal and what were the “appropriate action…already taken on the issues raised”?

Nobody expects the MACC to be able to answer these three simple questions, when it had been so clue-less about the NFC scandal so far because of lack of professionalism and political will rather than the lack of investigative expertise.

Yesterday, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak continued to keep mum on the cattlegate/cow-condo scandal, saying that he will comment further on the matter “in due course”.

Najib will now use the MACC investigations to justify his continued silence – although behind-the-scene Shahrizat will face mounting pressure to stop being a political liability for UMNO and Barisan Nasional.

Najib has a responsibility however to respond to the lack of public confidence in the independence, integrity and professionalism of the MACC to conduct full untrammelled investigations to get to the bottom of the RM300 million cattlegate/cow-condo scandal and whether he would support the establishment of an independent high-level public inquiry instead.

What the MACC should do is to interrogate Shahrizat about the corruption scandals affecting all UMNO leaders in view of her statement “Which UMNO leader does not have problem” in retort to the RM300 million cattlegate/cow-condo scandal.

This has been reported in Sin Chew (18th December 2011) when she attended a function in Ampang last Wednesday relating to activating the Barisan Nasional Wanita general election machinery.

Sin Chew reported that in retort to calls from inside the party for her to resign, she said that every UMNO leader has got problems and she only chose not to create problems for the party.

Sin Chew quoted Shahrizat as asking: “Tell me, which UMNO leader does not have problem?”

MACC should explain why their officers have not interrogated Shahrizat about the corruption scandals affecting all UMNO leaders in view of her statement “Which UMNO leader does not have problem” in retort to the RM300 million cattlegate/cow-condo scandal last Wednesday?

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 4:12 pm

Sin Chew quoted Shahrizat as asking: “Tell me, which UMNO leader does not have problem?”

Shahrizat is right of course as all of them have problem(s).

She should however have clarified that there are ‘good’ problems and there are ‘bad’ problems.

‘Good’ problems are where the fellow does not know how to stash his ‘good fortunes’ and has not yet been caught.

‘Bad’ problems are where the fellow gets caught with his ‘good fortunes’ before he could figure out how to hide it without everyone knowing about it, but too late.

There are amateurs of course who turn their ‘good’ problems into ‘bad problems’ like the Deputy Minister who is so stupid (!) to have his ‘good fortune’ banked in cash into his personal account on a monthly basis, and he was a senior central bank regulator in his previous life, or the person who used her ‘good’ fortune to buy a few cowdominiums instead of cows, she must have got mixed up between ‘cash’ cow and plain moo-moo-cow.

But all said, in this 1Land, all of them feel they are privileged and protected because ‘legally and technically’ no one will find them guilty under any of our laws because everyone has problems (Shahrizat, 2011), good or bad.

2. #2 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 4:15 pm

Shahrizat is absolutely right – which UMNO bigwig does not have any scandal connected to him ? Witness what has happened to the Scorpene submarine scandal, and who was the minister responsible at the time ?

The Feed-a-Lot scandal envelopes not just Shahrizat’s family – the investigation should be widened to include the previous and present agriculture ministers, the role of the 4th floor boys during Badawi’s time, and the role of the MB of Negeri Sembilan.

If Shahrizat is the only casualty of this scandal, then UMNO will heave a sigh of relief, which is the likely scenario.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 4:15 pm

Kit,

I agree with you that MACC should interrogate Shahrizat as she was the “source” through which the scandal originated.

4. #4 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 4:18 pm

Please, please Shahrizat, please resign to save UMNO. We will charge your husband, but we will make sure we lose the case, and you can still keep your Meatworks empire.

5. #5 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 4:23 pm

And Cintanegara better watch out…..Shahrizat is going to blow the whistle on your rambutan scandal….

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 4:52 pm

macc INTERROGATE Shahrizat?

Forget about Shahrizat…she wont talk. Just like Tun M at the judicial inquiry…selective amnesia. Now Tun M remembers everything about 1999 loans from WOrld bank… he has never asked for loan; only the committee he chaired-lah asked. U see how some tongue-twisters talk!

MACC dont know how to interview anyway…even their lawyers dont know how to hang himself, remember?

MACC can interview the cows instead….they will talk better than shahrizat would. All we need is ask Moo-yidin to be the interpreter.

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 5:05 pm

http://www.malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/letterssurat/45970-mahathir-is-cause-of-1997-financial-crisis-thru-mismanagement

Read what Dr Robert Chan wrote. I would have written that myself if I had the facts. Thanks Robert.

I agree. Tun M is the worst thing that ever happened to Malaysia. And the worst PM Malaysa ever had….save for, maybe, najib if he doesnt stop messing things up.

Maybe najib thinks he hasn’t lost as much as Mahathir & so would like to play the roulette longer while Malaysia suffers.

8. #8 by Cinapek on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 5:43 pm

This turnaround by MACC has about as much credibility as Najib saying he will launch a fullscale investigation of a certain C4ed Mongolian lady.

After defending so vehemently for weeks coming to months why they turned the investigation over the police, they suddenly “..claimed that the commission had been collecting evidence and testimony since the issue was reported in the Auditor-General’s 2010 report and “appropriate action has already been taken on issues raised.” What do they take us for? 5 year old kindergarten kids? Like always, this UMNO dominated Govt has a propensity to shoot themselves in the foot. First they tried to defend the indefensible, then they tried to attack the whistleblowers. And when that failed and more evidence are coming to light, they pretend to “investigate” – not for wrong doing but to figure out how to help the culprits escape. Otherwise, as Sharizat said “…which UMNO leader does not have problem?” and they are scared she will spill the beans if they don’t help her.

9. #9 by sotong on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 5:57 pm

It’s not just the Minister’s family….many are involved and benefited.

The ordinary people, properly informed, will not tolerate this nonsense damaging to the country anymore.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 6:01 pm

Man arrested in bribery bid, believed linked to NFC

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/man-arrested-in-bribery-bid-believed-linked-to-nfc/
    ————————————————–
    Would the man be made a scapegoat to absolve Shahrizat from her guilt?

11. #11 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 6:22 pm

Macc should interrogate this mamak cowgirl on the 20th floor. We like to see her strangle herself and jump off the building.

Then again what is Macc? MACC=Make Another Cinematographic Coverups for umno corrupted goons.

We see people got murdered by macc for a lot less. 250million still no interrogation?porrah!!!!

12. #12 by cemerlang on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 7:32 pm

You feel great to have a powerful person to act as your shield. You can pray once a week, five times a day or even every second saying your prayers. You can put up a religious show in front of tens of thousands or even in front of God or even to yourself. God is great. He knows our secrets. Because if the powerful people are like that, all the people under their feet will also be like that. Monkeys see. Monkeys do. If you catch one monkey, be sure to catch many others. Don’t bother playing a scheming game. It’s a game. It’s a show. If nothing is honest, then all things are dishonest.

13. #13 by Loh on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 8:25 pm

MACC will soon say that since NFC is responsible for managing funds given tot he company, it is at liberty to buy condos for cows to live, to buy Mercedes for the CEO to enjoy, and condo in Singapore to earn rental income and capital gain. The way government funds given to NFC were utilized raises the real issue as to why government funds were given as free money based on the so-called projects without any competitive tenders being called. A RCI into how government awards projects without tender actually turns government funds into private wealth. That should stop.

14. #14 by Loh on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 8:35 pm

///Sin Chew reported that in retort to calls from inside the party for her to resign, she said that every UMNO leader has got problems and she only chose not to create problems for the party.///–Kit

It is now a fact that all UMNO leaders, that should mean everybody who are in the UMNO supreme council and downwards are targets for MACC investigation. If MACC does not investigate, it only shows that MACC fails in its function. But the leaders are not absolved of the blame. They can only be free from suspicion if Sharizat cannot prove her charge. To clear themselves they should now sue Shahrizat.

15. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 10:01 pm

She is RIGHT! It is part of the agreed share among them. So what is the problem? She is still holding to the rope, though we all thought it is a straw, and when indeed she has concluded it was a straw, wait for her to explode! She will name names! I hope she does it before the 13GE! This must be the most interesting GE ever gonna take place in this Bolehland!

16. #16 by rockdaboat on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 10:03 pm

Integrity problem?
    Capability problem?

Yes, both the above and plus many more.

17. #17 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 10:53 pm

According to the cow lady,every Umno leader has problem.Does she mean these people all face problem like what she is facing now? We clearly remember that saying ‘I help you,you help me’.Her inference should propel MACC to open investigation files on all of them.

18. #18 by cemerlang on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 11:19 pm

Everyone has a problem or two or more. Not just the politicians. The problem with money is either you have too much or you have too little. This means that you have to be wise in managing your money. If you do not know how to manage, you will always have no money. When you have too much money, your problem is you think you have no problem and you spend your money like money drop down from the sky every second. When you have too little money, you keep thinking how to get more money. Just imagine holding the nation’s wealth by billions, by trillions, by zillions; how do you keep track ? Definitely along the way, somebody will be up to some fishy business. This is a problem.

19. #19 by boh-liao on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 11:35 pm

She CONFIRMED what rakyat suspected! Y no sound fr MCA, Gerakan n MIC?

20. #20 by Ordinary on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 11:36 pm

Why care about MACC should interrogate criminal and those gang of criminals?

A Malay wrote:

I am ashamed of being Malay. Ashamed because of the deeds and actions taken by UMNO in the name of the Malays. How can I not be ashamed that a Malay Minister of Defense have seen it fit to allow a good friend of his to profit RM$500 million merely by arranging for the Malaysian government to buy French Submarines?

How can I not be ashamed of these Malay leaders when a Malay Prime Minister – well almost a Malay Prime Minister! – saw it fit to use the people’s money – to the tune of RM$1 billion – to bail out the shipping company of his son!

http://steadyaku-steadyaku-husseinhamid.blogspot.com/2011/12/takkan-melayu-hilang-di-dunia-dream-on.html?showComment=1323804454346

21. #21 by Ordinary on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 11:37 pm

Why care about MACC should interrogate criminal and those gang of criminals?

22. #22 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 22 December 2011 - 11:58 pm

All these bastards can lay their hands so easily on billions of tax payers’ money and treat the money as their own.You and I have to fasten our belts because of their insatiable greed.Bank robbers risk being shot dead but these heinous criminals can walk away scottfree and can still sit on high government posts.

23. #23 by jus legitimum on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 12:04 am

“You and I have to tighten our belts because of their insatiable greed.”

24. #24 by SENGLANG on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 10:22 am

her comment summarised exactly what the public perception or rather their strong belief that all UMNO politician have a problem. she is telling the truth on those who lead this country

25. #25 by Comrade on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 10:38 am

Only way to bring down the problem makers
    To save Malaysia our beloved country
    Is awakening of especially the rural voters
    To give PR coalition a resounding victory

26. #26 by monsterball on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 7:14 pm

Toyo cheated few millions and got 1 year jail sentence…which really mean…out by 7 months time.
    That took one year to conclude.
    Shahrizat …if ever found guilty….will be after 13th GE.

27. #27 by Loh on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 7:48 pm

monsterball :
    Toyo cheated few millions and got 1 year jail sentence…which really mean…out by 7 months time.
    That took one year to conclude.
    Shahrizat …if ever found guilty….will be after 13th GE.

Toyol would certainly appeal, and depending on whether he is favoured by UMNO powers-that-be, the case would be accordingly decided.

28. #28 by Loh on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 8:03 pm

How is it that MACC could be satisfied with collecting only documents without calling for the CEO of NFC to assist in the investigation as witness? We like to see MACC demonstrate its keenness to get to the bottom of the 250 million ringgit project as they did investigating a RM 2,000 inquiry. As to whether body would fall again from high-rise MACC building is keenly watched.

29. #29 by Loh on Friday, 23 December 2011 - 8:08 pm

///Ibrahim Ali invites Hasan to join Perkasa
    7:46PM Dec 23
    The Independent MP says he recently made the offer to the PAS leader after he was sidelined but he has yet to get an answer.///–Malaysiakini

Hasan Ali is Perkasa mole has long been suspected. It is clearly stupid of Ibrahim Ali to officially declare that Hasan is welcomed into Perkasa as if to hide the relationship.

30. #30 by Jong on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 3:18 pm

What blardy sandiwara!
    MACC supposedly raided NFC Office and took away some envelopes and ONE desktop computer?

The last time PDRM raided office of news portal Malaysiakini, they carted away 15 PCUs and files! And it was not about cheating the government and misuse of public funds to tune of RM250 million!

MACC/police should also raid Shahrizat’s house and condo – under her bed, in her WC! Why not, is she above the law? Or are they under instruction not to be tough on her, least she’ll expose the rest?

31. #31 by Loh on Saturday, 24 December 2011 - 11:14 pm

Jong :
    What blardy sandiwara!
    MACC supposedly raided NFC Office and took away some envelopes and ONE desktop computer?
    The last time PDRM raided office of news portal Malaysiakini, they carted away 15 PCUs and files! And it was not about cheating the government and misuse of public funds to tune of RM250 million!
    MACC/police should also raid Shahrizat’s house and condo – under her bed, in her WC! Why not, is she above the law? Or are they under instruction not to be tough on her, least she’ll expose the rest?

For all intent and purposes, Shahrizat has already exposed the whole UMNO team with her statement that which UMNO leaders has no problems in the need to answer how they could live beyond their means. UMNO could not have stayed in power for so long if they had not the ability to ignore facts of corrupt practices. UMNO has to show that the senior members of the party are like senior members of gang who would be protected until the party suffered more damage if the persons who were careless to cause problems for the party are not sacrificed. UMNO does not object to its members stealing; they are only unhappy about those who did not know how to cover their tracks. It is easy trail for people to trace buying condo with cow funds; that funds smell of cows.