The Democratic Institution in Malaysia

Victor
Dec 17, 2011

DEC 17 — Democracy should be a symbiotic relationship between the rule of law, general socio-economic well being of the ruled and the political ruling class.

Perhaps in Malaysia this symbiotic relationship is accentuated by the political realities which manifest themselves in rather unsavoury light. That may be the reason why socio-economic well being is not felt by the general populace and the rule of law is not exercised by appointees with a sense of justice and equity. The necessary independence and objectivity is not present within the components of the various arms of government, I think.

The political class preponderates over the trilogy of democratic institutions which warp the whole of Malaysian societal structures resulting in complete social disequilibrium. If only some of the Malaysian diasporas will return to infuse some fresh blood into the anaemic blood streams which affect every sphere of Malaysian society we may yet have a good future. I have always been proud of the many talents in Malaysia but unfortunately most stay abroad because of the language issue.

I am not a talent in the true sense of the word but I stayed out of Malaysia because my Malay competence falls far below the level which will enable me to function reasonably well in my particular professional area of expertise. So I stayed on in Singapore as the only language which I am most comfortable with English is the professional tool used in Singapore.

I think there are many like me around the four corners of the globe trying to make their living in the most pragmatic manner. What if all of us are back in Malaysia? Would our concerted presence make a difference? I doubt.

The politics of dissension and ethnic differentiation and unfair bias coupled with preferred religious imbalance completely distort social mobility of Malaysian society resulting in brain drain to the detriment of Malaysia within the community of nations.

Sad but true and I am still hoping some semblance of fairness and justice will be maintained long enough for my retirement to a Malaysia which I still love.

* Victor is a Malaysian at heart and reads The Malaysian Insider

1. #1 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 December 2011 - 1:37 pm

To be a true patriotic Malaysian is not good enough.
    You must prove to be a voter for BN.
    You cannot prove that….return…sacrifice and vote BN out.
    UMNO b trust only Indonesians….with thousands holding Malaysians citizenship…as it is safer to trust a Muslim from a Muslim.
    But these are not true Muslims….and the Indonesians migrated into Malaysia are very poor. Will do anything….UMNO b ask them to do.
    Can you be bought….Victor?

2. #2 by cintanegara on Sunday, 18 December 2011 - 5:18 pm

Victor must be very proud staying in a high rise apartment….. with his so called …high income…he still can’t afford to buy a landed property….we also heard about the frequency of MRT train service disruptions along the North-South and East-West (NS-EW) lines, as well as the Circle Line.

BTW… if this country is as bad as you claim…why there are thousands of vehicles entering Malaysia everyday….hmmm hotels are fully booked during the school/[public holidays…. Don’t Exaggerate la to get a little attention…. No one will ever believe you,…

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 18 December 2011 - 9:02 pm

Democratic institutions?

I thought they all perished in the last Ice Age during Tun Mahathir’s emperorship!

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 18 December 2011 - 11:41 pm

New York Times:
    “Egyptians resented the idea that Mubarak would just hand power to his son Gamal as if the Egyptian people “were chickens,” who could be passed by a leader to his son. Last Sunday, a New York Times article from Moscow quoted the popular, imprisoned Russian blogger Aleksei Navalny as saying: “We are not cattle or slaves. We have voices and votes and the power to uphold them.”

I think Malaysians resent the same:
    Tun Razak to Najib.
    Now, from a corner: Tun mahathir to Mukhriz.
    Next time: Pak Lah to Khairy.

Yikes! You think malaysians are cows or what!

5. #5 by Loh on Monday, 19 December 2011 - 5:39 pm

Khairy was stupid enough to make racism a battle cry for UMNO when he should have advised the empty head AAB to go back into history to reform Malaysia. He made AAB lost his PM post and AAB has no ability to pass any political capital over to him.

Khairy considered marriage a convenient stepping stone to political power. But having gained it, he was not able to utilize it for the benefit of the nation. Now that he has lost it, he would not be able to get it back. Even if he did, of what use? He can’t do any better than Najib in enriching the same limited number of Malays, at the expense of the majority of all races in the country.