Kit Siang wants Cabinet, EC to implement polls reforms by Jan 1

By Shannon Teoh
Dec 01, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 1 — Lim Kit Siang called today for Parliament to compel the government to implement the 10 recommendations put forward by the parliamentary select committee on electoral reforms by January 1.

Polls panel chief Datuk Seri Maximus Ongkili filed a motion today for Parliament to adopt the reforms which include the use of indelible ink, allowing overseas Malaysians to vote and forming a royal commission to look into foreigners being given the right to vote in Sabah.

But DAP parliamentary leader Lim asked to amend the motion to compel “the Cabinet, Election Commission and related government agencies” to implement the recommendations effective January 1.

“The question is whether there is any guarantee they will be implemented by the 13th general election.

“This will ensure our debate will have meaning and action will be taken,” the Ipoh Timor MP said in Parliament.

But Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia rejected the amendments as they concerned matters outside the Dewan Rakyat.

“Even though I agree to the point raised, I cannot act outside of my powers,” he said.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak pledged to set up the bipartisan select committee following the July 9 Bersih 2.0 rally, which saw tens of thousands pouring into the streets of Kuala Lumpur to call for free and fair elections.

The opposition has called for Bersih’s eight demands to be implemented before a general election expected soon.

1. #1 by drngsc on Thursday, 1 December 2011 - 7:09 pm

Hi Kit,

I understand that the PSC interim report had recommended the removal of serial number on the ballot paper. May I suggest that this should not be. That ballot paper must have serial number so that we can know which is real, and which is phantom. PLEASE, PLEASE.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is our best chance. Failure is not an option. We must work very very hard as the present system is heavily against us.

2. #2 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 1 December 2011 - 7:47 pm

Umno will continue its arrogant stance : Aku ada kuasa, aku mahu buat apa pun. So what ?

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 1 December 2011 - 8:26 pm

Is it possible for forewarned UMNO/BN – if UMNO/BN win only by a small margin, the opposition will not accept it – the electoral roll must be cleaned up and election reheld. If must, take to the streets.

4. #4 by monsterball on Thursday, 1 December 2011 - 9:06 pm

It’s all talk.. no actions to keep fishing for votes.
    We have seen and observe so many so call good news …put into actions…and suddenly vanished into thin air.
    EC to reform?
    Najib will sack EC chairman.